No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Alma Lodge Guest House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
125 Alma Road, , , Plymouth, PL3 4HQ
Located overlooking the small golf course at Central Park, Alma Lodge Guest House is nearest b&b to Life Centre. Five mins walk to Brittania Inn (Weatherspoon's pub) therefore ideal if you are tired after a long car journey and also near Argyle FC. If you need to hire a car, Hertz Car Hire is 3 mins walk away from us. We are only 10 mins walk from train station and 15 minutes walk into City Centre and University (and also on a regular bus route into the City Centre/University). We are only 3 miles from HMS RALEIGH. On direct bus route to Raleigh. Ideally situated for Dockyard and also on bus route to Derriford Hospital. Central Park has a picnic area and lovely play area for children. Facilities at the new Life Centre consist of a family leisure pool with flumes, also a 10 lane, 50m swimming pool, a diving pool, (where you might be lucky to see Tom Daley training). Also indoor bowls centre, 12 court sports hall and squash courts, innovative climbing zone, dance, soft play and creche and a gym (150 stations) and group exercise classes. Plymouth is historical, with its Mayflower Steps in the Barbican (where the first American settlers set sail from England). Scott of the Antartic, Sir Francis Drake and the famous Hoe. We are only 10 mins drive from the historical Hoe (sea front) and Barbican areas, which make for a great day out. Also, by car, you could be at the bridge between Devon & Cornwall within 5/10 minutes from the Alma Lodge Guest House. Ferry Ports to France & Spain are only 10 mins drive away.l For the convenience of our guests, we would like to explain that Alma Lodge is not 24 hour manned therefore check in time is after 4 pm. Please note we are unable to take payment via credit or debit card AT THE GUEST HOUSE, however, you can use card on our secured booking site at almalodge.plymouth.co.uk
Picture of Alma Lodge Guest House, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 60 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

family visit to hms raleigh
on arrival we where shown our room by the owners daughter who was friendly and informative, the room was a family room double and 3 single beds so plenty of choice, the room was clean and nicely decorated , bathroom good sized shower, toilet & wash basin. tea , coffee & buiscuits. we where visiting hms raleigh which is 4 miles away & easy to get to via ferry, close to the city centre only £1 by bus, breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice well worth staying here

Reviewed by
e power

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
Everything was simply perfect, would stay again

Reviewed by
B Stuart

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Thank you
Thank you for being so kind. You waited up for us and then got up early. We would definitely stay with you again if we were in the Plymouth area. The room was lovely and the bed was the most comfortable bed ever.

Reviewed by
Debbie W

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant customer care
A lovely little place to go and stay, very friendly owners.

Reviewed by
C Mantle

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal location.
Stopped for one night after holidaying in Brittany and though we arrived late off the ferry, we received a warm welcome.
It is easy to find, you can park on the premises and the place and room were very clean and comfortable.
If we re visit Plymouth we would stay again.
Many Thanks.

Reviewed by
R Whittington

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

warm and friendly!
we were terribly delayed with out travels, so didn't make it to our overnight stay at this guest house until almost midnight. i called ahead and warned them, and they seemed shocked and grateful that i'd even think to do so! anyway, we turned up so tired and worn out from travel, and told the house-lady we'd be leaving at around 6am to get a coach back up north to where we live. she said she couldn't do us cooked breakfast, but would leave all cereals and some milk in the fridge for us to help ourselves before we left! i honestly can't stress how kind, warm and welcoming these people were. i felt at home and had an incredible nights sleep. it was like home.

Reviewed by
chloe b

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really Nice B&B
We had a great time at this B&B, just right value and service

Reviewed by
Adam Paginton

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best fried egg I have ever eaten.
Host very welcoming and provided all the information we need. Well located for city centre and ferry terminal.

Reviewed by
Alison A

From Shipley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one of the best B&B I have stay in and in a good area for the park for the kids will go back again

Reviewed by
C breed

From Clevedon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Alma Lodge Guest House review (WTH)
Having to respond to a family matter in Plymouth, I booked this accommodation at very short notice for an overnight stay. I was welcomed by the attentive and cheerful proprietress, and given the use of a very comfortable family room with a clever use of space in accommodating the wardrobe and en-suite bathroom. With the exception of the parking arrangements, and having to park in a side road, the Guest House provided all the basic amenities, with some nice touches reminiscent of a decent hotel, and I consider it very good value for money and would highly recommend it for short stays, at least.

Reviewed by
William Thomas H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next