Reviews - Alma Lodge Guest House


125 Alma Road, ,, Plymouth, PL3 4HQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (43)

98% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • T Hall

  • September 2015

The best in the west ?

This is probably the best B&B around.

The hosts are welcoming, helpful and always ready to help. The rooms are spacious clean and well equipped and the beds are very comfy. All I believe are en-suite with all the little extras for your stay. Tea and coffee is well stocked and you even get a free chocolate biscuit. Breakfast is cooked to order and there is a good selection of cereals and drinks . From the minute we started our journey (hosts phone us warning of road works and gave an alternative route) to meeting on the door step and finally leaving I can only state that I could not find any fault (without being a complete whinge bag and looking through a magnifying glass) with any aspect of our stay, the host is a true professional and takes immense pride in their B&B which shows.

  • simon b

  • June 2015

Friendly and comfortable

I spent the one night here on my road trip, to revisit my earlier life, being ex RN, it was good to catch up.

Kathleen offered the use of her garage for my motorbike, but it was fine outside. A wander up the road to the Britannia for a meal and drinks took 10 minutes. The town centre isn't far away either and the main road outside was quiet, too. A Full English to start my day was perfect.

  • A Pope

  • June 2015


We were made very welcome on our arrival,given all the information we could possibly want for our stay in Plymouth, and were shown great kindness.

  • Paul H

  • June 2015

Best B & B in Plymouth

We were arriving late, in the very early hours, and the landlady made sure we could get in by calling me to make sure there were arrangements for access to the keys.

But she was still up when we got there, talked through the facilities and gave us info on where we could go locally to eat/drink. Fantastic cooked English breakfast the next day and allowed us to stay the day in the restaurant while I used the free Wi-Fi and worked on my laptop to prepare for a late meeting. Stream of complementary teas/coffees all day which made us feel really welcome. Great place, fantastic service and this will be my first choice the next time I stay in Plymouth.

  • David B

  • March 2015

Friendly welcome excellent breakfast

Friendly very informative welcome, well presented room and comfortable beds.

Very good full English breakfast.

  • K Barrett

  • February 2015

Just right

The room was very clean & comfortable just right for our one night stay.

  • Keith Ian W

  • February 2015

Very comfortable B&B, Good breakfast, Conveniently placed

Hi, my wife and I stayed at this B&B one night in February 2015.

We were greeted when we arrived, given the relevant information about the room and breakfast, the room was clean and facilities good for the price. The cooked breakfast was good. We did feel slightly rushed as they were busy so we had to be out of the breakfast room quickly but we did not mind as we had to be away quickly anyway. Very comfortable room, good price and very convenient for Plymouth and facilities.

  • Clare I

  • February 2015

Great value

We were most impressed by standard & comfort of our room .It met all our requirements and were made to feel most at home.

Our breakfasts were excellent and we would highly recommend a stay to family & friends .

  • e power

  • December 2014

family visit to hms raleigh

on arrival we where shown our room by the owners daughter who was friendly and informative, the room was a family room double and 3 single beds so plenty of choice, the room was clean and nicely decorated , bathroom good sized shower, toilet & wash basin.

tea , coffee & buiscuits. we where visiting hms raleigh which is 4 miles away & easy to get to via ferry, close to the city centre only £1 by bus, breakfast was excellent and plenty of choice well worth staying here

  • B Stuart

  • October 2014

Fantastic stay

Everything was simply perfect, would stay again