No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mary Tavy Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Lane Head , Mary Tavy, , Tavistock, PL19 9PN
Kim & Garry offer you a warm welcome to The Mary Tavy Inn. Located on the edge of Dartmoor approx 4 miles from the historic town of Tavistock which has been awarded World Heritage Status as part of the eastern Gateway to the Cornish Mining World. With its Pannier Market, Swimming Pool, Music Festivals, Golf Course and annual Goose Fair it has much to offer. We are on located on Route 27 of the national cycle route, and in the heart of good walking country. Our bar has a large wood burning fire & Real Ales which offers a very warm welcome after a day out walking, cycling, horse riding, Fishing or sight seeing at the many attractions in the area. You can eat a good traditional locally sourced food in both the Bar or Restaurant. *Bar *Lounge *Restaurant *4 En Suite Letting Rooms *Family Friendly * Dog Friendly *Functions/Parties * Large Car Park * Beer Garden with Stunning Views
Picture of Mary Tavy Inn, Tavistock at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 9 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent resting stop following a long haul
We were given a five-star welcome by the busy Friday-night barmaid (who also served some sumptuous pints of real ale). Both the service and the ale were very refreshing. Nothing special about the pizzas, though, which was the only let-down of our visit. However, the rest of the menu selection looked great, and it was good to have the choice of veggie sausages for breakfast.

Reviewed by
J Cadie

From Alston, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was beautiful and spotless. The setting and surroundings were magical. We were made very welcome and cant wait to go back

Reviewed by
k jolley

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Birthday road trip.
We wanted accommodation handy for Dartmoor so that we could do some walking during my wife's birthday week tour.
The accommodation is in a separate self contained unit and there are views of the moor in the distance. Our room was very clean and stylish with all the facilities we needed..
We ate an evening meal and breakfast whilst there and the quality of food was very good indeed and the staff very attentive. It was warm for the time of year and I was drawn to the bar a number of times and was pleased with the beer selection and it seemed well kept.
We really enjoyed our stay because the owners have made a real effort to please and deserve success.

Reviewed by
Geoff W

From Ashbourne, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommend the Mary Tavy Inn. We had a lovely stay and perfect weather.

Reviewed by
D Wilson

From Pierrefonds, Canada
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Most enoyable
We enjoyed our visit very much. Certainly recommend it to our friends - anyone else!

Reviewed by
D Whytehead

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay at Mary Tavy Inn

Reviewed by
Brian T

From Emsworth, England
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short Break
Great welcome,well presented,very clean,warm accommodation.Hosts obliging and helpful.

Reviewed by
Michael C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Business Traveller
A nice pub hotel in a lovely location. The owners were very polite and helpful. As it is a rural location the mobile signal is not too good, but O2 okay in the car park. The room was very nice and well appointed. Breakfast from 08.00am, which was late for me, but they provided me with a cold selection, which was more than sufficient. Free wi-fi in the bar area. Food in the evening was very good. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
WILLIAM S

From Stourbridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great accommodation!
We stayed here August Bank Holiday weekend, the rooms were clean, well presented with ample space for the two of us. We ate in the Restaurant, which was lovely and reasonably priced as was the bar. The staff were friendly and very professional. Great central location which means you can easily head for the moors or towns depending on weather and preference, you can also have peace and tranquillity. Beautiful views out of the country side. We would stay again and have recommended to friends.

Reviewed by
Vikki J

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.