Reviews - The Captain's House


1 Tors Road, Exmoor National Park,, Lynmouth, EX35 6ET

Price From 115.57 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (40)

58% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • annamarie b

  • September 2015

Great hotel in great location

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Lynmouth.

Very helpful owners and lovely room. Fantastic location. Value for money

  • Paul S

  • September 2015

Avoid if at all possible

Breakfast being on time is the best that can be said.

Table next to me complained that theirs was cold, received no apology just an arrogant grunt. Wifi details tucked out of sight. Kettle in room too large to fit in sink to fill. Shower flow minimal though hot enough. Decoration tired. Car parking for one car, however you are told to park down a narrow lane upto 300yards away. Owner clearly needs some basic training in customer relations. Shame as this B&B could be nice.

  • John M

  • September 2015

Good value in a stunning location

I needed a base for 3 days in Lynmouth/Lynton whilst walking the S/W coast path and booked this place on the basis of lowest price.

The best thing about this B&B is its location - right alongside the gorge at Lynmouth within easy walking distance of the town. The place is relatively old-fashioned in terms of décor (some might say quaint), but extremely clean and tidy. I was in a single room (room 3) and the only drawback was that my "private bathroom" was across the hallway - I didn't mind this (have stayed in backpackers hostels before) but accept that its not everyone's cup of tea. The proprietor was extremely friendly and helpful (sorted out a packed lunch for me in lieu of breakfast the one morning I had an early start).

  • A Armstrong

  • August 2015

Very friendly hosts, affordable accommodation set in beautiful surroundings.

  • Tristan H

  • July 2015

sound of the river

It was lovely to wake up at The Captains House with the sound of the river outside the window.

We were pleased to have vegan and vegetarian options for breakfast. The shower was very nice and host was very knowledgeable about local amenities and provided a great recommendation for the evening.

  • Geoff G

  • June 2015

Great Views

Couldn't knock the views from the room, although moving round the room wasn'tmeasy and the en-suite was only just big enough for one person.

Sit on the W.C. and your elbows touch both walls, the shower was electric and suffered from lack of pressure and small corner sink meant toilet bag (good job we took our own soap) had to live on the floor. Breakfast unfortunately appeared to have been cooked at 8 am for the 8.45 breakfast so eggs were hard and bacon dry with a acceptable sausage and fresh tomato , the mushroom was left by nearly all the guests as it was rubbery. small village /harbour with really friendly locals and good beer, wine and food at the local pubs.

  • C White

  • May 2015

Poor value for money - avoid

I was very disappointed by The Captain's House.

If I am paying £55 for a B&B, I don't think it's unreasonable to expect an ensuite room, especially if the booking details state 'Private Bathroom'. I was also asked to pay a £1 credit card transaction fee, which hasn't happened anywhere else I've stayed. It's certainly got a certain quirky, eccentric charm and its setting by the river is very pleasant, but I had a far better experience at another B&B in a neighbouring town the night before, which provided me with a modern ensuite room for over £15 less!

  • michael k

  • May 2015

Cold Shower Hotel

The bedroom's sheets n towels were not clean.

No hot water for morning shower. Not enough tissue paper in the toilet.

  • J Noble

  • April 2015

If you book for a week - you'll have a warm welcome - but I wouldn't bother!

We booked one night stay at the Captain's House and were made to feel like second class citizens.

Firstly, he judged the price we paid online to the type of room we had - basic, dated, very uncomfy bed, pillows were almost not existent & a shared bathroom.

We had very little sleep due to the uncomfy bed and very flat pillows and the owner did not ask how we slept the next morning.

In the breakfast room, we sat at a nice table by the window, but was then asked to move by the owner, as some quests had paid for a week and would want that particular table. I woudn't have minded if the table had a reserved sign, but it didn't.

The full english breakfast was greasy and tasted "cheap". We also overheard another couple complaining that the breakfast was not nice. After reading the other reviews on this guest house, I can now see that how the owner treats people depends on how may nights you stay. If the owner had been a bit more welcoming or interested in how our stay was, we might consider staying again, however this won't be the case.

  • David S

  • April 2015

Layed back Lynmouth.

Full of old world charm.Set in a delightful location besides the River Lynn, the pretty cottage garden led to a charming welcoming cottage style house.

Although the decor was dated it simply added to our experience. After a comfortable nights sleep we were served an appetising breakfast of local produce.