No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Captain's House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 Tors Road, Exmoor National Park, , Lynmouth, EX35 6ET
Open all year except Christmas, The Captains House offers lavishly decorated standard and en suite rooms, all centrally heated with tea and coffee making facilities. Children are very welcome with well behaved adults! The Captains House hosts a beautiful tea garden, a real sun trap in which to sit and enjoy a famous Devonshire Cream Tea. Marvel at the magnificent scenery and pretty flowers while watching the world go by, with the relaxing sounds of the river's babbling in the background. Go on, treat yourself to our mouthwatering freshly baked scones with jam and lashings of farmhouse clotted cream - mmm, wickedly delicious! The area is a paradise for nature lovers and walkers. The poets Shelley, Wordsworth and Coleridge visited the area and wrote lovingly of our village many times. The classic novel Lorna Doone by R D Blackmore was penned and set here.
Picture of The Captain's House, Lynmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 36 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
63% recommended this accommodation to a friend 61% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
My stay was too short to make a full comment

Reviewed by
shawn thompson

From malvern, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic breakfast, ideal location, rooms need updating

Reviewed by
Susan B

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

getting away with the minimum
it was all as advertised but just lacked the willingness to excel....a carpet from the 1970's that left bits of exposed formica, no tissues or toiletries, cheap ingredients at breakfast, low grade bedding sheets.....in other words budget and so if not worried about these things a good choice but others may give more for same price point I suggest

Reviewed by
mark s

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good B & B For the price
Ok but needs up dateing

Reviewed by
P Powell

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I enjoyed my stay. The room was very basic but for the cost it was worth the price. Very friendly owner with some helpful recommendations. I must also point out that the place was absolutely spotless.

Reviewed by
SARAH J

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleasant .helpfull.cumfortable a happy place to be. made to feel at home

Reviewed by
james stanley

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty Towers
Astonishing experience single night stay, owner appeared to class everything as an inconvenience, rude, unhelpful & rushed. Parking a problem, cooked breakfast passed to us in the cramped dining room whilst we were eating cereal!! He couldn't wait to see the back of us and the feeling was mutual!

Reviewed by
Stephen P

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely BB in a perfect location
A beautiful Guest House situated in a beautiful location. The rooms were decorated nicely and were very clean. The location was quiet and the breakfast were nicely cooked and presented. The host was a informatiive and fill of local knowledge and recommendations of what to do in the area.

Reviewed by
B Oberholster

From Waterlooville, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basil Fawlty has nothing on this owner
This is an ideally located B&B spoilt by a very rude owner with facilities that are not as described in advert.
We arrived at the lovely looking B&B in our classic car wondering where we were to park. The owner shouted from the depth of his hallway "park anywhere down the road, its all free", he didn't even have the courtesy to come and speak to us properly and this was the first fib in the advert, there is no on-site parking as promised, it is all on the road outside terraced houses, so we ended up parking a good distance away from the B&B and walking back with our suitcases.
The room was clean and comfortable enough, if very dated, but again the owner was rude and seemed to resent to fact that we were only staying for one night and we had got a good deal on laterooms, even stating as much to us, "your'e on a budget deal aren't you". He gave us no information about anything and stated if we wanted a cooked breakfast "it is at 8:15am", even the cheapest B&B's offer a choice of breakfast times. The second fib in the advert was that our room was described as having 'french windows opening out onto the garden', no french windows to be seen!
Again at breakfast, he was very frosty and again didn't offer any information about what was available, we found the cereals tucked away in a corner when we were leaving so missed out on those and the orange juice. The cooked breakfast was luke warm and swimming in grease, almost inedible, on a plus point, the tea and coffee was pretty good!
The owner was so rude and inhospitable we were afraid to complain. My husband and I stay in a lot of hotels and B&B's both for business and leisure and don't usually write reviews, but we felt so strongly about our ordeal, this was supposed to be a lovely leisure weekend, that we had to make an exception for this B&B.

Reviewed by
Louise D

From Penarth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were extremely late in arriving at this venue due to motorway closures and we were not received with the warmest of welcomes, which may be understandable but has coloured our view of the stay here.
The venue itself is very nice and the location is beautiful. The owners are enthusiastic about their property and quite helpful in suggesting places to visit. Other than our initial reception this is a nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
S Newton

From St Neots, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next