No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Captain's House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
1 Tors Road, Exmoor National Park, , Lynmouth, EX35 6ET
Open all year except Christmas, The Captains House offers lavishly decorated standard and en suite rooms, all centrally heated with tea and coffee making facilities. Children are very welcome with well behaved adults! The Captains House hosts a beautiful tea garden, a real sun trap in which to sit and enjoy a famous Devonshire Cream Tea. Marvel at the magnificent scenery and pretty flowers while watching the world go by, with the relaxing sounds of the river's babbling in the background. Go on, treat yourself to our mouthwatering freshly baked scones with jam and lashings of farmhouse clotted cream - mmm, wickedly delicious! The area is a paradise for nature lovers and walkers. The poets Shelley, Wordsworth and Coleridge visited the area and wrote lovingly of our village many times. The classic novel Lorna Doone by R D Blackmore was penned and set here.
Picture of The Captain's House, Lynmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 69% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a classic British B&B!
we arrived in Lynmouth to be greeted by convivial hosts in a pleasant B&B next to the river. The decor was fascinating and captured the period of the place well with some wonderfully eclectic pieces. The garden was lovely and breakfast was nicely cooked. The real selling point was the excellent host and his wife who were welcoming and interesting people. We stayed in room 1 which was spacious with a lovely bathroom and interesting period features. A relaxing and pleasant stay :)

Reviewed by
j pidgeon

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight in Lynmouth
Friendly, helpful host and clean, characterful room with a powerful shower in the en-suite ground floor room. Breakfast was uninspired but adequate. Learning the history of the house added to the enjoyment of the stay. I would readily stay at The Captain's House again.

Reviewed by
Paula Blake

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant stay
very quaint b&b,comfortable and clean.although the room had a sweet view,we found it a little small.

Reviewed by
darryl james

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent stay
A wonderful couple of days lovely place to stay great hosts make sure you walk up to waters meet it's worth it

Reviewed by
r hodgson-reed

From Devizes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little cottage to stay
It was a really nice guest house situated near by the lovely lake.such a great place to stay in north Devon and very close to the all the attraction. Rooms were excellent condition and good value for money.warmly guest wellcome and good customer service.

Reviewed by
Jagath B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheap, clean room. Don't expect anything fancy.
Location of the b and b was lovely, nice and quiet. I really liked being able to hear the river as I was lay in bed. Room was clean, not decorated to my style and in my opinion needed updating and de cluttering. Bathroom was clean, shower a little temperamental but done the job. No luxury, just a cheap room in a good location.

Reviewed by
Kayleigh W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the chap at the captains hotel was a mine of information. very useful then one is in lynmouth and the weather is damp.

Reviewed by
G Allard

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Getaway Break
Had a lovely time there, very pleasant experience. Very informative and charismatic chap that runs the ship. Thank you

Reviewed by
J Rayner

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very lovely place, very clean and lovely people.food was nice but we would of liked to have beans with our breakfast. Other than that couldnt fault our stay.

Reviewed by
s fear

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good comfortable accommodation.
We enjoyed a 2 night stay at The Captains House. The room was very clean & comfortable with lovely views of the river. The owners were very welcoming with a lot of local knowledge & useful information. We will definitely stay at The Captains House again.

Reviewed by
linda v

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next