Reviews - Sawmill Inn


Sawmill Inn, Watermouth,, Ilfracombe, EX34 9SX

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • Jane R

  • October 2014

Pretty and (close to) Perefect

picture perfect setting and ...

on a bus route. I didn't eat there - although food was available - the room was clean, bed comfortable; all in all excellent value for money

  • dennis twinn

  • September 2014

saw mill inn

Stairs outside were ok but handrail needs fixing, The rooms do need updating and showers need to be deep cleaned and tiled.

  • Linda Rivers

  • September 2014

the saw mill inn was fantastic place to stay

  • L Frank

  • September 2014

Fitted our needs

Easy to find using Sat-Nav, location was great if you can drive although I did spot a bus stop outside.

Warm welcome when you arrive. Room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The bathroom was okay, little bit run down and the tissue paper bath mat was a first. All in all the room met our needs of cleanliness and location, thought for £50 per night breakfast could have been included rather than being an extra £6 each. Would stay there again if needed!

  • A Rhodes

  • August 2014

We loved our stay, nice room, comfortable bed, enjoyed the breakfast, freshly cooked, and plenty.

Staff very friendly and helpful., nice location.

  • Barry C

  • July 2014

Sawmill Inn. Spacious bedroom Tiny bathroom.

The Sawmill is rated at 4*.

It is not anywhere near 4*. The bar area smells musty, and of dogs. The bedroom, although comfortable was very dark, and the bed was creaky. The bathroom was awful, very small, and not very clean. The fan was noisy, if you needed to use the bathroom when your partner was asleep, it woke them up. The plaster was falling off the wall in places, and the shower rail fell down when no one was in the bathroom.

  • Mel R

  • July 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 2 nights here and we had the most enjoyable time.

The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful. I would reccomend anyone to stay here. And the the wildlife dinosaur park is a must too. We look to come to stay again in the coming months with friends.

  • Clare S

  • July 2014

Good value for money

I stayed at the Sawmill whilst attending a wedding.

I found most of the accommodation in the area quite pricey so this was a more affordable option. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and a good size. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in. Overall the place was quite dated and in need of refurbishment throughout, but for the price you can't really knock it and I would definitely stay there again.

  • d randall

  • June 2014

weekend break

Our stay at the sawmill was really pleasant, the room was very clean and well kept, the food can be highly recommended.

the staff were very friendly and helpful. we would recommend the sawmill as a good place to stay.


  • April 2014

Evening stay

Tried booking into the "posh" B&B's in Berrynarbor only to be told that the minimun stay was 2 nights at a cost of £60 per night.

Tight I'm not but when someone tries taking the mikey I don't think that's right. Then checked LR's and up came The Sawmills. Now The Ritz it ain't but what a result. £25 for the one night I wanted, super comfy bed, warm room and the hosts were fantastic. I couldn't get into my room at 01.30 (my fault not theirs) and they were great. Only issue was that the fan in the ensuite sounded like it was trying to rip the ceiling apart but minor inconvienience not to be moaned at. Would I stay again too right. With the wife and kids. Then I'd probably upgrade to the posh suites in the village itself.