No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sawmill Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Sawmill Inn, Watermouth, , Ilfracombe, EX34 9SJ
The Sawmill Inn is a family run free-house country pub. Developed in the original 17th century buildings of an old watermill,idyllically situated it is a true “old Mill by the stream” nestling amid woodland alongside the Ilfracombe to Combe Martin coast road and coastal footpaths, approximately two miles from Ilfracombe. The pub has been run by the same family since 1988 and is in this time they have extended the building to create a large, spacious and comfortable pub and have gained a repuation for good food and well kept ales. Ilfracombe is the perfect location for North Devon holidays, offering you a gateway to an exciting blend of stunning coastal scenery, seaside fun, rural tranquility and centuries of heritage and style. Ilfracombe is the 'jewel' of the North Devon coast and a remarkable location for romantic getaways, family holidays or activity breaks. Ilfracombe is a stunning coastal town with white washed houses, grand Victorian villas and terraces. Nestling between the National Park of Exmoor to the East and the golden coast with the surfing beaches to the West. A place where you can come and relax, where the sky meets the Atlantic Ocean. A resort that also has a contemporary edge from its top class restaurants and galleries, to its theatre and night life. Ilfracombe is a place to experience and be seen.
Picture of Sawmill Inn, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty and (close to) Perefect
picture perfect setting and ... on a bus route. I didn't eat there - although food was available - the room was clean, bed comfortable; all in all excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Jane R

From Cricklade, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the saw mill inn was fantastic place to stay

Reviewed by
Linda Rivers

From Wantage, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

saw mill inn
Stairs outside were ok but handrail needs fixing, The rooms do need updating and showers need to be deep cleaned and tiled.

Reviewed by
dennis twinn

From Wisbech cambridgeshire, England
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fitted our needs
Easy to find using Sat-Nav, location was great if you can drive although I did spot a bus stop outside. Warm welcome when you arrive. Room was clean, tidy and comfortable. The bathroom was okay, little bit run down and the tissue paper bath mat was a first. All in all the room met our needs of cleanliness and location, thought for £50 per night breakfast could have been included rather than being an extra £6 each. Would stay there again if needed!

Reviewed by
L Frank

From Bideford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We loved our stay, nice room, comfortable bed, enjoyed the breakfast, freshly cooked, and plenty. Staff very friendly and helpful., nice location.

Reviewed by
A Rhodes

From Denton Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sawmill Inn. Spacious bedroom Tiny bathroom.
The Sawmill is rated at 4*. It is not anywhere near 4*. The bar area smells musty, and of dogs. The bedroom, although comfortable was very dark, and the bed was creaky. The bathroom was awful, very small, and not very clean. The fan was noisy, if you needed to use the bathroom when your partner was asleep, it woke them up! The plaster was falling off the wall in places, and the shower rail fell down when no one was in the bathroom.

Reviewed by
Barry C

From Salisbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Me and my boyfriend stayed for 2 nights here and we had the most enjoyable time! The staff were friendly and incredibly helpful. I would reccomend anyone to stay here. And the the wildlife dinosaur park is a must too! We look to come to stay again in the coming months with friends.

Reviewed by
Mel R

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
I stayed at the Sawmill whilst attending a wedding. I found most of the accommodation in the area quite pricey so this was a more affordable option. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the room was clean and a good size. The bed was very comfortable to sleep in. Overall the place was quite dated and in need of refurbishment throughout, but for the price you can't really knock it and I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Clare S

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
Our stay at the sawmill was really pleasant, the room was very clean and well kept, the food can be highly recommended. the staff were very friendly and helpful. we would recommend the sawmill as a good place to stay.

Reviewed by
d randall

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Evening stay
Tried booking into the "posh" B&B's in Berrynarbor only to be told that the minimun stay was 2 nights at a cost of £60 per night. Tight I'm not but when someone tries taking the mikey I don't think that's right. Then checked LR's and up came The Sawmills. Now The Ritz it ain't but what a result. £25 for the one night I wanted, super comfy bed, warm room and the hosts were fantastic. I couldn't get into my room at 01.30 (my fault not theirs) and they were great. Only issue was that the fan in the ensuite sounded like it was trying to rip the ceiling apart but minor inconvienience not to be moaned at. Would I stay again too right. With the wife and kids? Then I'd probably upgrade to the posh suites in the village itself.

Reviewed by
TONY HEPPER

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next