No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Avalon Guest House

3Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
6 Capstone Crescent, Ilfracombe, , Ilfracombe, EX34 9BT
We are proud of our reputation for good food, comfort and service. As resident proprietors, we offer much more personal attention for our guests in the friendly and relaxing atmosphere of this Victorian 4 storey building retaining many original features. Off street car parking is available with some undercover parking available, ideal for soft top cars or where diving gear etc. needs to be stored out of sight at a small extra cost. Ilfracombe is ideally situated for the miles of golden beaches, spectacular coastal walks and the Exmoor National Park. Coach and boat trips leave just minutes from the Guest House. You can sail to the peaceful, beautiful and un-spoilt Lundy Island, or visit one of the many open farms, children's theme parks, a butterfly house or the birds of prey centre. Bowling, fishing, quad bikes, clay pigeon shooting and an indoor swimming pool are all nearby. We are more than happy to provide you with a bed and breakfast service during the summer as there are a range of excellent restaurants in Ilfracombe most within a 400yd walk.
Picture of Avalon Guest House, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disgusting bathroom the shower needed a good clean
When checking in not a hello have you had a good journey!! None of that just take the money immediately. Nothing laid out for breakfast no fresh fruit or choices of yogurts. All in all i thought the customer service especially the man left a lit to bd desired. Nice comfy bed though. Glad only there fir 2 nights.

Reviewed by
Jane mumford

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended
Excellent people running this fabulous guest house minutes from the harbour.....

Reviewed by
Ade K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good pre-Lundy stop over
Great location in the centre of the town and close to the quay, just 5 minutes walk away. A friendly welcome and care taken to ensure that guests heading for the boat got breakfast in good time. A good selection of the full English breakfast and a lovely sea view from the dining room. Room was clean and well stocked... just needed a pump for the shower being on the top floor!

Reviewed by
William Y

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value, good location and view.
Agreeable guest house with useful car parking nearby - get your permit from the hotel. Room on top floor enjoyed a commanding view and was pleasantly presented for the price though the shower was rather feeble. Proprietors friendly and breakfast good. This is not an expensive hotel but it does what it says on the tin and, for the price, I'd certainly stay again if I were in Ilfracombe.

Reviewed by
David C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do much better.
There are about 6 steps up to the front door. Our room (no.11) was on the top floor 50 steps and no lift or offer of help with our heavy case. The room was small but clean and comfortable. The ensuite how ever left much to be desired! The toilet had an electric shredder to enable it to discharge to a small bore soil pipe, this noisy piece of equipment activated when the the loo was flushed an also when water was discharged from the wash basin. When the loo was flushed water came up the waste pipe into the shower tray. The water pressure was so poor that in order to get the shower to work it was necessary to run the tap on the wash basin first turn on the shower and then turn off the tap in the wash basin but only this produced an inadequate dribble from the shower head and we decided to make do with a wash at the basin instead.
On the plus side the views over the town from the bedroom window were nice and the sea view from the dinning room was really stunning. Breakfast was reasonably well cooked and presented though the portions were not huge.

ManagementResponse

Although we do not offer porter service, what we did say seeing their heavy luggage was they could leave it locked in our dining room to save them taking it upstairs. This room is private and locked so there are no privacy or security problems. The shower is just under the header tanks so the hot water pressure is limited as is the mains cold water pressure if there is a lot of use in other rooms. The hot water storeage is 5 floors down and there is a need to draw the water off into the sink to get the hot water up to the room. If you listen and follow our advice this is an inconvenience but not a problem. The macerator pump we cannot get rid of as it's the only way to remove the waste. With regards to breakfast and the portions, there is a choice of 11 cereals etc. with 3 fruit juices and then "The Main Event" English or Vegetarian breakfast. The English is "Egg (scrambled or fried), Bacon, Sausage, Tomato, Hash Brown, Backed Beans, Fried Bread and Black Pudding. You can have any or all of these, it's your choice. As it is all cooked fresh you can have any combination you like. There is then a choice of toast, white or wholemeal and 9 teas or coffees.

Reviewed by
Trevor B

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great and friendly helpful service with a lovely view out to Sea from the dining room.

Reviewed by
paul ellis

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
Paul Jones

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic location, very friendly service, good food.

Reviewed by
Karen M

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice friendly place to stay with a tasty breakfast
All in all was a nice place to stay with friendly owners, not to far a walk from resturants and bars and right on the coast, decore is abit dated but adds charecter to staying in a b&b, very tasty breakfast with a nice selection of food
Only things me and my partner didnt like was the weak shower and the heater struggled to warm the room up as it was a cold night

Reviewed by
J Stout

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant Experience
The Food and Hospitality were very nice.Good value for money.

Reviewed by
David S

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next