No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Cottage Marsh B&B

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Cottage, Marsh, , Honiton, EX14 9AJ
The Cottage - Marsh Bed and Breakfast is a great place to rest during your visit to the West of England. We are on the main route through the West Country. Situated halfway between Honiton and Ilminster on the A303, we offer a comfortable place to stay. All rooms have en suite facilities, colour television, hospitality tray & central heating. You can use this web site to find out more about our accomodation, view our tariffs, contact us for more information and to book your stay and find out about the interesting places to vist in our beautiful area. The Cottage - Marsh Bed and Breakfast is placed in the heart of the beautiful West Country of England, on the Devon and Somerset border, situated halfway between the towns of Honiton and Ilminster on the main A303 route. The Cottage - Marsh Bed and Breakfast is a convenient stopping off point on your way down to Devon and Cornwall and a night's stay with us will help to make that long journey more enjoyable.
Picture of The Cottage Marsh B&B, Honiton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
73% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Passsing through
Relatively cheap and cheerful, clean and well managed. No problems!

Reviewed by
S M H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reception closed.
When I arrived the reception was closed. After I spent more then one hour with waiting I went away.

Reviewed by
S Nemeth

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just what I needed
Very basic accommodation, but everything there, including an extra oil filled radiator in case I was cold! Room was very well planned, tea/cofee/biscuits etc. Lovely walk in shower.
Breakfast tasty. Very friendly.
I would be quite happy to stay there again

Reviewed by
P Entwistle

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pay cheap you get cheap!

Reviewed by
C McCabe

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a disappointment.
The bathroom needs a serious deep clean. Better still it needs total refurb.! The W/C was most `inconvenient` to use, & we both decided not to use the shower, preferring instead to wash at the basin. The room was basic, the beds very firm. The breakfast was adequate, but nothing to write home about. The Wi-Fi didn`t work, despite several attempts. The owner does not appear to be a `people person`. Apart from that, the surrounding countryside is great.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcome stop on a long journey
Simple, clean and comfy. Calm and welcoming, just what this tired traveller needed. would make a lovely base camp for exploration of the surrounding area or as was my case the perfect half way stop over.

Reviewed by
M Strong

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, comfortable, good place to break a long journey.
Rooms motel-like so great for a stopover to break a long journey. Probably wouldn't choose for more than one night. The Flintlock is an excellent pub/restaurant walking distance from the accommodation and we were grateful the owner at the Cottage B&B recommended and made a reservation for us as it was really busy.

Reviewed by
Margaret S

From Holmes chapel, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pretty room, awesome local pub food
Lovely clean room, not big but fine for a short stay. Cooked breakfast was pretty skimpy-probably how they keep the price down-but unlimited toast available and a good choice of cereals. The local pub, the Flintlock Inn, is 3-4 minutes walk up a slight hill and served the most delicious meal I've ever had-not cheap at £10-£15 main course but worth every penny.

Reviewed by
R Wood

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a wonderful find
Excellent place to stay. Very central and easy to find. Owners very friendly and helpful. Food excellent. Incredibly good value for money. Will stay there again.

Reviewed by
Jean B

From Coulsdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

room quality
I found the room very basic, with no welcoming comforts, although it had all necessities. There seemed to be little sound proofing and I could hear the people in the next room quite clearly. The television did not have BBC, only the free channels. There was no hot chocolate sachet on the drinks tray, which I find most B & B rooms provide. The bathroom had very old and rusty looking fittings, which makes them look dirty, although I do not think they were dirty. The bathroom ventilator was not working.

Reviewed by
Isabelle M

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next