Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Clawton Hotels > Court Barn Country House Hotel
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Court Barn Country House Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Court Barn Hotel, , Clawton, Holsworthy, EX22 6PS
Our Hotel is a romantic 17th century country house set in five acres, with unspoilt views across rolling Devon countryside, has seven individually furnished bedrooms, a multi-award winning restaurant, two lounges, breakfast room, small collection of books for residents use. Relax in front of our Crackling log fire on those cooler nights to create a cosy atmosphere. Free parking right outside the hotel with complimentary Wi-Fi in most of the public areas (also available in most bedrooms). We are in an ideal location for touring the Three Moors, Exmoor, Dartmoor, and Bodmin, also Atlantic Heritage Coast, National Trust houses and gardens and The Eden Project. The hotel has outdoor facilities including croquet, nine hole putting green and nearby golf, fishing, sailing, riding, nature trails and cycling. Our restaurant has received AA Rosettes, Egon Ronay and RAC restaurant awards. The restaurant is furnished with antiques and uses fresh, high quality, local produce to create new menus daily. It also has a 250-strong wine list and has won eight national wine-list awards. Additionally, morning coffee and afternoon teas available. Court Barn has been a Best Loved Hotel and an editor’s choice in the Charming Small Hotel Guide. Please inform us before your arrival if you require Dinner by utilising the 'special requirements' field. For those not taking Dinner light snacks and refreshments are available. Dogs welcome: £5 per night per dog. Please bring your own bedding - restricted to certain public rooms, spacious grounds. We hope to welcome you to Court Barn.
Picture of Court Barn Country House Hotel, Holsworthy at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet, peaceful and friendly retreat, nice, clean and homely, this is a good base.

Reviewed by
Les J

From Welling, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Cousins
We used the Hotel as a base and also join my wife's cousins for lunch. We found the hotel beautiful, relaxing and extremely quiet - brilliant - nothing was too much trouble. First time we have had fresh milk available for the bedroom, which made a lovely cup of tea.

Reviewed by
P Mabbott

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very special indeed
A warm welcome to a lovely country house. A beautiful room, with privacy. A very special hotel.

Reviewed by
RALPH STONE

From MORETONHAMPSTEAD, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real gem! Beautiful house in lovely surroundings

Reviewed by
d marsh

From Glastonbury, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy Stay!
A most enjoyable experience. We were made most welcome by the owners and enjoyed our stay in their beautiful family house in lovely grounds. The food was excellent with a good humoured waitress adding to the experience. Thank you one and all.

Reviewed by
Roger A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful peaceful old world country charm with great food
Stayed for 2 nights whilst attending a family wedding, everything was first class, peaceful, quiet location, excellent food. Large room with olde world feel and great views.

Reviewed by
Paul Barrett

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A warm welcome oasis
We arrived at 4.00 in the afternoon on our motor bikes, dripping wet and freezing cold having been caught in a shower. Our hostess Sue, put some more logs on the fire and brought us pots of tea and Simnel cake - what a treat. After we had changed and dried out we were served the most delicious supper in the dining room which had been cooked by Robert (a superb selection of beautifully cooked vegetables) and were waited on by their son Tim. The whole experience was fabulous. Our hosts were hospitable yet unobtrusive, the decor very tasteful and homely. Nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was ample and we were really set up for the long journey home.

Reviewed by
Nicola R

From Tewkesbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

They should charge more
Absolutely stunning building and surrounding area. The owners are a lovely couple who run it with their son, who is a really nice guy. They couldn't do enough to help and provided a cup of tea on arrival. Lovely country getaway! We went to a place called 'Dragon Archery' as well which was only 15min drive away and was great fun! I highly recommend this hotel and I will be sure to stay again next time I'm in the area! They really could charge more! I can't praise them or the place itself highly enough.

Reviewed by
Luke Murphy

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of some renovation
Beautiful old property in beautiful setting but could do with bringing up to modern standards in terms of heating, bathroom etc;

Reviewed by
Nick M

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An absolutely lovely pl ace to stay. So peaceful with lovely surroundings and an area outstandingly bad phone service which is fine by me!!

Reviewed by
Caroline Goward

From Fleet, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next