No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Stoke Lodge Hotel & Restaurant

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Cinders Lane, Stoke Fleming, , Dartmouth, TQ6 0RA
Stoke Lodge Hotel is a country house hotel on the South Coast of Devon near Dartmouth. It is south facing and enjoys one of the best climates to be found in Britain. The house date backs to the seventeenth century but the front was re-built in 1814. In recent years it has been extended to give up-to-date facilities and to provide a venue for relaxing and interesting holidays. The hotel is family run with friendly and efficient staff to ensure good service and comfort. The real beauty of Stoke Lodge is that it is small and friendly making it the perfect place for an enjoyable and relaxing break. You will find the facilities and service fantastic for a three star hotel of this size. After a long day walking the coastal paths or sunning yourself on the beach you can return to the hotel for a home cooked meal in our highly recommended restaurant, then spend the evening relaxing in our friendly bar or planning your next days activities in the comfort of the residents lounge. The hotel is set within three acres of grounds which are made up of beautifully kept gardens, lawns and wooded areas including the old 'village pond'. As well as this you will find an all-weather tennis court, putting green and even a giant chess set. We have a choice of indoor and outdoor swimming pools so you can always enjoy a swim whatever the weather. Our outdoor pool and terrace are a real sun trap in the summer while the indoor pool is situated alongside a sauna and jacuzzi, great for those winter days. Although we don't have our own golf course, the Dartmouth Golf and Country Club is only ten minutes drive away, and Churston, Thurlestone and Bigbury clubs are also accessible. After an afternoons golf why not relax with a drink from our bar and a game of snooker on our full sized snooker table. We can offer our guests a 25% reduction on Green Fees at the Dartmouth Golf and Country Club.
Picture of Stoke Lodge Hotel & Restaurant, Dartmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stunning location
We had a sea view room, with a comfortable king size bed and ample storage space. As its name suggests, we also had a spectacular view over the village of Stoke Fleming to the coast beyond. The bathroom was modern and clean, although the shower rather weak. The hotel has very good facilities for a place of this size - lovely public sitting room, pool and out door spaces although some of the decor was a bit tired. Good breakfast - buffet for fruit and cereals with full English cooked to order. Reception and waiting staff all very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
John C

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

typically british
Room good, hotel a little dated, indoor and outdoor pools a plus. Staff helpful, breakfast ok, but dinner was very poor, quantity over quality a bad experience .

Reviewed by
L Parsons

From Caerphilly, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!
I had a hell of a weekend, travelling a six hour journey from Ely in Cambridgeshire to Dartmouth, only to write off my car twenty minutes from the hotel. That said, the staff were lovely and settled me in hassle free. The room was perfect for my needs, literally a bed for the night, which was a comfy bed at that!
I really enjoyed my stay here and will definitely be thinking about staying here again.

Reviewed by
B Caller

From , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place but incorrect info took the edge off our stay

Reviewed by
Chris D

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decent Hotel
Good Welcome. Spacious very clean room with new modern bathroom. The only downside was that the window looked out onto an area with a powerful sodium floodlight which could not be blocked out because the curtains were too thin and unlined. Because of this the room was impossible to get dark which my wife and I require to sleep well. However because we were tired and the bed was OK we did sleep well. Dinner was good as was breakfast with friendly staff in attendance. I marked value at 4 as I thought the dinner somewhat over priced. Never the less, this is a hotel I can recommend and would return to, if in the area again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for your review and we were pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay. We have noted your comments regarding the light at night, this room is in fact due for re-furbishment and we will bear in mind the need for thick, well-lined curtains. We are also looking at the possibility of moving the outside light so that it is not so intrusive. Once again thank you for your helpful comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Stoke Lodge in the future.

Reviewed by
Richard Allen

From , UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overpriced
I found the cost of the room I had booked expensive especially when I arrived and saw how tiny it was. It was so small that I became claustrophobic and had to open the curtains and bathroom blinds; not great as it meant others rooms could see in. Staff were mostly lovely (as long as you sit where you are told at breakfast!), and the breakfast was lovely.

Reviewed by
Maria S

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great village situation
Very enjoyable few days. Staff friendly and helpful. We stayed in a garden room which in the outside looked a bit like a shed but on the inside was clean and comfortable and the patio and view were great.

Reviewed by
R Smith

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delighful Devon
Excellent stay from lovely pool and cream tea to the best poached eggs and haddock I've ever tasted.
Superb

Reviewed by
tony a

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quiet night, comfortable bed, good food
I have to stay in hotels on a regular basis and I found the Stoke Lodge to be one of the most comfortable and accommodating hotels that I've stayed in. Free wifi is available in the bar.

Reviewed by
Keith C

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Very nice hotel, value for money. Lovely breakfast. Lots of choice. Heated Towel Rail, TV, Tea and Coffee, Nice view. Swimming Pools. Clean and spacious room. Carpet in the bathroom probably wasn't the best idea but overall very nice stay!

ManagementResponse

Thank you so much for your kind comments – we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Stoke Lodge.

Reviewed by
M Oldfield

From Southsea, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next