No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Old Bakery

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Old Bakery, 5 Fore Street, Uffculme, Cullompton, EX15 3AN
The Old Bakery is a comfortable and stylish Mid-Devon Bed and Breakfast in the heart of the village of Uffculme. The property is about 300 years old and although totally modernised, retains many of its original features. The bakery has now been converted into a games room which is popular with our younger (and older!) visitors. We have a stunning courtyard to the rear of the house where breakfasts may be served in the summer, and you can take afternoon tea in the beautiful walled garden which has wonderful views over the rooftops of Uffculme to the rolling Devon hills beyond. In our home you have a choice of four comfortable rooms with either en-suite or private bathrooms and either single, full-sized or 4-poster double beds. The large rooms have space for an extra fold-up bed on request. Uffculme is in the heart of an incredibly beautiful area of mid-Devon. We are located in the Blackdown Hills - designated an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty - which is full of wonderful places to explore whatever your interests, stunning countryside and breathtaking views and walks. We are within easy reach of many renowned beauty spots and are close to Tiverton, Cullompton, Wellington, Honiton, Taunton and Exeter. About 30 minute’s drive from the nearest sandy beaches at Exmouth, the north coast of Devon and Somerset can be reached in about 50 minutes. KEY FEATURES • Ideally placed for travellers (just 3 miles from Junction 27 and 28 of the M5) • Well situated for touring the West Country • Great short-break B&B location • Lots of visitor attractions within an easy drive • Stylish and comfortable accommodation - private facilities • 2-room bed suite available (children over 4 ONLY) • Games Room and Guest Sitting Room • Wonderful walled garden and courtyard • 2 minute walk to the village pub. Several rural pubs serving great food within a few minutes drive! • POD Point Electric Vehicle Charging Point • Private off-road parking
Picture of The Old Bakery, Cullompton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 19 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent stay that could not be faulted. The best bed and breakfast we have stayed in for a long time.

Reviewed by
J M

From Bury St Edmunds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Bakery Uffculme
Fantastic B&B hidden away in a tiny Devon village. Quality rooms, amazing hosts and breakfast to fill you for a day. Lovely gardens are an added bonus. Not cheap but worthwhile and a gem to find.

Reviewed by
Tim A

From Lytham St Annes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
Never stayed in a B&B before, but this experience as changed my views, this place was amazing, the people were amazing and the breakfast amazing

Reviewed by
J King

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Comforts of Uffcolme
This is right at the top of the B&B Premiere League. A superb beautifully designed house with space
and comfort from top to bottom the decor as a magical French theme. Very warm welcome on arrival
Made me feel relaxed and at ease. Classic breakfast served in a delightful room by a delightful host.
The Bakery is a must stay if you are in this area.

Reviewed by
allan williams

From Leominster, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding guest house. could not fault anything.
Would highly reccomend staying here. Was made to feel really welcome.

Reviewed by
Gary Delooze

From rochester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

David and Sarah are friendly charming people. Their B&B is spotless and the breakfast is excellent.

Reviewed by
M Dunmall

From Bromley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My daughter and 18 month grandson and I spend 1 night on route to Cornwall.
We stayed in the Paris room which was very comfortable. The bathroom was next door to our room.
Thought this might be an issue on booking, as it turned out we had it to ourselves.
The breakfast was delicious, our hosts could not do enough for us.

ManagementResponse

We are pleased that you had an enjoyable stay at The Old Bakery. For clarity, when anyone books either the Copper Room or the Paris Room, the other room is automatically blocked out so that we always guarantee private use of the bathroom. We are sorry this wasn't absolutely clear to you.

Reviewed by
Jeanette Laing

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

LITTLE GEM IN MID DEVON
Superb stay in lovely home. Perfect hosts David and Sarah really put you at ease with an easy going manner. Room was fabulous and they have thought of everything. Lots of lovely touches and the sofa is a masterstroke as far as I'm concerned. Home from home ! I chose an English breakfast and every conceivable ingredient is available on the daily ticksheet in your room. Please, Please try Sarah's kedgeree too. I did and wished I'd asked for the recipe before leaving ! Large communal table for guests in the dining room/kitchen which is conducive to friendly chat as you watch your breakfast being prepared....just realised..! I will be back in Devon in a few weeks for another visit so guess where I will be heading for, hoping its available, so all is not lost with that recipe....! Thank you for a lovely experience and hopefully see you soon...

Reviewed by
BRYAN LADDEN

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Old Bakery, Uffculme
This was a last minute booking as we wanted to visit my mother in law who lives near Exeter. As our children are older now ( sixteen and twenty ) we needed two rooms and this was ideal. The rooms were spotlessly clean and beautifully decorated and the shower room equally so. The welcome from David and Sarah was warm and friendly and the breakfasts were tasty and filling. All in all it was a great base from which to visit Exeter, the coast and the surrounding countryside. I would thoroughly recommend The Old Bakery to anyone looking for a unique, homely place to stay which doesn't cost the earth, especially if you have older children who need their own space!

Reviewed by
G Watkins

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
Absolutely brilliant. Fantastic hosts, beautiful room and a breakfast that was as good as, if not better than my mums! Will definitely recommend to friends and hope to return soon!

Reviewed by
K Burchill

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next