No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Barn

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Close Apple Garden, Scoriton, , Buckfastleigh, TQ11 0JB
The Barn is a tradtional old barn conversion situated in a small farming hamlet on the gentle slopes of South Dartmoor. We offer quality accommodation in a peaceful and relaxing environment. Our breakfasts are organic and locally sourced. The gardens have several little seating areas which catch the sun throughout the day and evening where you can relax after your walk on Dartmoor or your visit to the many nearby attractions. We are well situated within 25 miles of the historic cities of Plymouth & Exeter near the A38 Devon express way, this also means the English Riveria is close by. There are a wealth of attractions within easy reach such as Dartmoor, 365 square miles of moorland, formed from a granite plateau in the Ice Age, a million years ago. Visit the old stone/bronze age hut circles and pre-historic stone rows and Buckfast Abbey, a Benedictine Monastery with a thousand years of Christian history. The market town of Newton Abbot and the medieval town of Tavistock are within easy reach. The Primrose Steam Railway Line, for enthusiasts or anyone who would enjoy a trip down memory lane, runs from Buckfastleigh to Totnes through the beautiful River Dart Valley. Our location is ideal for walkers being directly on the 2 Moors Way and one good days walk from Ivybridge. OUR TARIFF FOR ALL ROOMS INCLUDES FULL ENGLISH BREAKFAST USING ORGANICALLY AND LOCALLY SOURCED PRODUCE WHERE POSSIBLE
Picture of The Barn, Buckfastleigh at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Barn is on the edge of Dartmoor. In a very peaceful area with plenty of countryside around and great views. On arrival Pat and Andy were extremely welcoming. The room was lovely and comfortable and had everything we needed. There was a nice pub within walking distance that served great food. Breakfast was spot on - offering plenty of choice. We had a pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Amy R

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfy
Thick towels, thick carpet, wool douvet, cushions, feather pillows and the best breakfast ever!

Reviewed by
Jane roscoe-hudson

From oxford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely quiet location
Lovely place. Very friendly and helpful. Only downside was could smell dogs in the room but it is clear that dogs are allowed. Breakfast was amazing and great that get to choose what you want to eat and booking it in advanced means don't have to wait long for it. Nice to have access to dvd library. Directions from website spot on and no problems finding it. Food at nearby pub very nice.

Reviewed by
Sheryl H

From Leyland, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at Dartmoor
The house was in a lovely area. Andy and Pat were so friendly and welcoming.
I would certainly recommend this B and B.

Reviewed by
Elizabeth Webster

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little Gem
Stayed here overnight on 5th August. What a little gem hidden away in the Devon countryside. Had a well furnished ground floor bedroom with a very comfortable bed and good quality bedding, separate toilet and shower and a nice selection of toiletries. A pleasant view from the window towards the garden. The local pub is a 2 minute walk with delicious food but be careful the starters are huge! A tasty breakfast with plenty of choice was served in a dining room with lots of character . Pat and Andy are delightful and made us very welcome. The village has a lovely atmosphere. Well worth a visit.

Reviewed by
Angela P

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed my stay here. Very, very friendly and welcoming, and the breakfast featured the nicest milk and eggs I ever did taste. Will definitely stay again if I'm near South Devon.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From , UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good base for exploring Dartmoor
Very friendly owners greeted us to their hideaway retreat. Very comfortable room with lovely flowers and breakfast was great with fresh eggs from the hens strutting around the garden! It was a good base for exploring Dartmoor and surrounding areas.

Reviewed by
Brian C

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

super stop off
stayed 2 nights as a base to visit friends and attractions nearby,comfy bed and super breakfast the next day to start the day,andy coped super in wife pams absence but was a great host offering advice on lovely drives over the moors,

Reviewed by
B Stevens

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

16th May 2014
A quiet and peaceful setting, our stay at the Barn was, although brief, very relaxing. We had a very pleasant evening at the local pub, where the food there was good. The following morning Andy cooked us a great breakfast to set us on our way.

Reviewed by
Hazel S

From Lincoln, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay
We were made very welcome by Andy, who was really helpful and a great host.
The B & B is set in a small village right on the edge of Dartmoor with it's wonderful views.
Sitting in the garden the only sounds we could hear was birdsong, wonderful.
Would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Derrick Whitmore

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next