Reviews - The Anchor Inn


Fore Street, Hartland,, Bideford, EX39 6BD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

86% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • C Pole

  • April 2015

Good village

Customer service very good provided lots of info.

Only had breakfast which was average,would have expected more choice. The room was at the front of the property but very quite-------great. Only had a bath with my en-suite,the water was just warm became cold very quickly.

  • G Watkins

  • April 2015

Good basic accommodation

Apart from the place looking a bit tired, the Anchor provides good accommodation in basic rooms and an excellent breakfast!

  • Tim M

  • January 2015

Good B & B

Have stayed here many times when on business in Hartland.

Friendly staff, good food and comfortable accommodation .

  • Trevor W

  • November 2014

Anchor Inn had a long arranged party booked for the night we stayed, but didn't let us know until after we had booked in.

Told us we had the quietest room, but the loud music kept us awake until just after 1am, when it finally stopped. Music was turned down a little when my wife went down and complained at about 12.30. No chairs in the room, nor space for them to be added.

  • Nigel W

  • September 2014

Relaxing country / coastal break

Alison and her daughter Amy could not do enough to help, very friendly and provided great food at breakfast & evening meals.

The accommodation is in process of refurbishment but does not detract from the overall experience. For the cost, its good value for money.


  • September 2014

Quiet and relaxing stay

Room was clean and had been recently decorated, the stairwell had just been replastered after damage in the winter storms,aimee the landlady was very friendly and the beer was excellent.

  • M Gregory

  • September 2014

Family break

  • Gavin Brockis

  • September 2014

The anchor inn is great value for money, friendly and accommodating staff.

The decor as reviewed previously is basic and dated but for the money i would come back. Just few odd bug bears. The room although generally clean could do with a thorough clean behind beds and in the drawers etc and a catch on the door to the stairs would be of benefit as it tends to slam shut and echo through the ceilings. I would visit again. Very accommodating and brought in soya milk for me as lactose intolerant.


  • September 2014

I'd stay again

Enjoyed staying here.

Loved the bathtub. Breakfast was excellent and hot.

  • debbie a

  • August 2014

lovely welcoming place, very quiet.

staff are very helpful and friendly. this was our second visit and would definitely go back again