No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Burleigh House

4AA Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
25 Newton Road, , , Torquay, TQ2 5DB
Burleigh House is just a short walk to the town centre, harbour, beaches and Conference Centre. We're also on the route for local buses to Paignton, Brixham, Newton Abbot and Exeter. These buses run every 10 minutes (every 12 minutes on Sunday) from just a few yards from our front door. Torre railway station is close-by with local trains to Paignton, Newton Abbot, Teignmouth, Dawlish and beyond. There are eight guest rooms (one en-suite twin, five en-suite doubles and two singles). The two single guest rooms share a bathroom and separate toilet on the same floor. All our guest rooms have wide-screen, digital freeview television, radio/alarm, tea/coffee-making facilities and hairdryer. Wireless internet is available and we make no additional charge for internet access. Torquay's iconic palm trees, busy harbour and international marina could fool you into thinking you were on the Mediterranean. Enjoy long leisurely walks along the pier and promenade and take in the relaxed atmosphere. Make time to walk up the steps of Royal Terrace Gardens and take in the amazing sea views across the bay which are magnificent especially at night, with the lights reflecting onto the sea. Torquay has a packed, year-round programme of top shows at the Princess Theatre, or a huge choice of festivals and events, no matter when you come and visit us, you’re bound to find something exciting to do. Watch major sailing events from our waterfront eateries or from a choice of world-class restaurants, or enjoy Torquay’s vibrant nightlife, which includes a variety of pubs, bars, cocktail venues and clubs for all night owls. Torquay has everything the dedicated shopper needs bringing you the best in retail therapy with a wide choice of recognised national brands and a selection of specialist shops. There’s so much going on in Torquay that one trip is never enough.
Picture of Burleigh House, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and helpful hosts. Allowed us to drop our suitcase off early, and gave us a key at the same time, in order to get back in, later that night.
Breakfast was very nicely cooked , and portions excellent. The smoked salmon and scrambled egg was delicious.
We highly recommend Burleigh House to anyone wanting accommodation in the area.

Reviewed by
Alan Provis

From Newquay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had a lovely stay at Burleigh House. Offered tea and coffee on arrival. The bedroom was tastefully decorated and spacious.The en-suite was roomy and clean. Ellen was very accommadating to our needs. The food was nice and there was plenty of choose. Would definately stay there again. There is a bus stop outside the house. We walked to the sea front, it took about 30 minutes.

Reviewed by
Rachel Eaves

From Tadley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly recommended guest house
Burleigh House is ideally situated on the outskirts of Torquay coming in from the M5 but with a regular bus service into Torquay day and night, but it's only a mile to walk into town. Excellent welcome, all of the staff make you feel really welcome and nothing is too much trouble. The single rooms with a shared bathroom are small but clean and really comfortable, complete with hair dryer, tea & coffee etc. Breakfast is excellent, including a terrific cooked breakfast which for anyone working like me they are happy to serve early. The only downside is the car park around the back which is up a steep narrow slope and has limited space - anyone with a large vehicle may struggle. Apart from that highly recommended.

Reviewed by
D Allen

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful at Burleigh
My wife and I were made very welcome and during the five night stay, nothing was too much trouble. Breakfasts were prompt, well prepared and presented on fine 'Potteries' china! Accommodation-room7- was spacious and really clean. The guest house is superbly situated for bus/car travel into Torquay or further afield. A very pleasant break made even more so by some good weather!

Reviewed by
Martin D

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

walsh family
a very comfortable and relaxed atosphere in this B & B. Owner's happy to help and extremely friendly. A very warm welcome, fantastic breakfast that everyone enjoyed. Would definately stay again.

Reviewed by
j walsh

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Summer stay at Burleigh Guest House 2014
On arrival greeted with a warm, friendly welcome, a tour of the house and amenities shown to our en-suite double room and provided with refreshment form our long journey.
Excellent variety of breakfast food (including porridge) cooked to a high standard served at your table well presented in a spacious room.
Room clean, well presented, everything provided to meet your needs, very homely.
A homely atmosphere feel, along with excellent service given at all times through our stay.
Guest house served well by public transport every 10 minutes , so not long distance to walk to any of the resorts facilities, amenities, seafront.
Key provided to come and go as you please.
A value for money accommodation well worth a visit to stay, we will certainly book again at a future date.

Reviewed by
stephen Shaw

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Extraordinarily good guesthouse!
From the very start - being met in the Carpark - to our leaving, this stay was excellent. Our small difficulties in moving about were noted and covered wonderfully well. Quite the nicest and most professional guesthouse I've encountered. Perfect.

Reviewed by
Tony Roberts

From Oswestry, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Holiday
We had a wonderful week in Torquay and it was made all the better by our choice of our stay at Burleigh House on Newton Road. The location of this accommodation is second to none. Torre Station is within view of the house, the bus stop into town is at the bottom of the drive as is the return bus. We could not fault our Hostess, we were treated so well and the room and the cleanliness of the place was exceptional. The breakfasts were beautifully cooked and plentiful. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Torquay.

Reviewed by
Gordon Bullas

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As an elderly couple, we picked Burleigh House mainly because of the bus stop right outside with buses running every 10 minutes. This gave us easy access both to all the Torbay towns and also easy access to country and seaside walks. We could not have picked better. Everything about this accommodation is top class - the friendly owners attentive to our every need, the delicious breakfasts, the comfortable attractive room and, last but not least, the lovely comfortable bed after our long walks.

Reviewed by
L BURGESS

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay really enjoyed the accommodation
Lovely friendly quest house. The breakfast was excellent. The owners couldn't do enough for you and made our short break very nice.

Reviewed by
Andrew Jessup

From Didcot, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next