No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast

4AA Assessed Farmhouse Ratings explained
Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast, Headgate Cross, Twitchen, South Molton, EX36 3LR
Headgate Farm luxury bed and breakfast on the foot hills of Exmoor. A typically English B&B on a working farm in a child free environment, serving sumptuous breakfasts (late breakfast option) with price per room not per person rate, situated on the Devon and Somerset border. Early Check In and Late Check Out available by prior arrangement. Log fire. Large bathrooms with full size baths, one jacuzzi whirlpool bath and power showers. Top quality beds, king and super king, with extravagant duvets and pillows, stacks of fluffy towels and quality products including Molton Brown or White Company.

The hosts have a wealth of knowledge of what makes Exmoor special. Their farm is close to the moors with all its attractions, ideal for walking, cycling, fishing, shooting and horse riding within a designated Dark Sky Reserve. It takes approximately 20 minutes to walk through fields and woodland to reach the moors, where the views are breathtaking and the peace and quiet amazing.

The farm although in a very secluded area is just a five minute drive to the nearest village, with a shop and post office that sells nearly everything, together with two public houses and a church, the town of South Molton is 6 miles, Barnstaple and Tiverton 18 miles and the stunning North Devon sandy beaches approximately 25 miles. Junction 27 of the M5 motorway is a 30 minute drive away.

There are many local eateries and Judy and Henry will be happy to book a table for you to dine out at your preferred destination.

We offer luxury en-suite bedrooms with full sized baths and power showers, flat wide screen TVs and DVD players and really comfortable beds with all quality white cotton bed linen, where you can laze away your days if you so wish. Beautiful views from the bedrooms over open fields, where sheep and horses graze and there is plenty of wildlife to see.

A full English Breakfast is included in the price and all our food is locally sourced and beautifully cooked.. Any special dietry requirements are catered for providing this is ordered at least 48 hours in advance.

Character dining room with beamed ceiling, inglenook fireplace, with wood fire during the colder months of the year.

Free Wi fi connection

Free private parking and extensive gardens with small wildlife ponds.

Picture of Headgate Farm Bed & Breakfast, South Molton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect weekend escape :)
Stayed at Headgate for a short overnight stay away and wish we could have stayed longer. Judy was a wonderful host, booking us a table at recommended local restaurant, cooking us a delicious breakfast the next morning and showing us round the lovely farm. The room was beautiful, so many lovely finishing touches which made us both feel very at home. Amazing Jacuzzi bath, toiletries and fluffy dressing gowns and the bed was super comfy. The setting is idyllic, so peaceful and the perfect place to explore Exmoor. Judy was able to recommend loads of places for us to visit. We'll hopefully return sometime soon :)

Reviewed by
Emily Connolly

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Friendly and Beautiful
3 miles of beautiful Devon country roads take you to this amazing Bed and breakfast where you are welcomed by Judy who made us feel relaxed and welcome straight away. Fantastic views surround this great place and Judys local knowledge and her helpfulness ensured we found our way around easily. We will definitely be staying here again.

Reviewed by
Jason Moore

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very clean with a good comfortable bed. There was a good supply of all the good qualitty consumable items you could ever need for a night stop or longer.

Reviewed by
Stephen Rooke

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very welcoming
Our hosts were brilliant and couldn't do any more to make our stay enjoyable

Reviewed by
Dave G

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly and homely
My girlfriend and I opted for a couple of nights in Exmoor National Park as an alternative to a city break. Headgate Farm is located a few miles into the park via picturesque country roads, and just close enough to drive out towards South Molton for convenience shops. The host Judy was very welcoming and friendly, offering breakfast as times to suit us and giving advice on local attractions/places to eat. Needless to say we had a great time seeing some of the best bits of the park in the little time we had. The room was very clean, well presented with attention to detail. The farm animals add to the authenticity. Highly recommended and wish we could have stayed longer!

Reviewed by
K Grist

From Brighton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country idyll
What an amazing find. Judy was a fab hostess. The views. From our window amazing. The spa bath was fun and the shower one of the best ever. Judy got us some prosecco and put it in the guest fridge. She also was a valuable source of local knowledge.

Reviewed by
J Barrow

From Chepstow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A well hidden little gem
A beautiful farm house located in a remote area of South Exmoor with a couple of on-suite bedrooms for those who are tired of the hustle and bustle of living in the city. The hosts are uber hospitable, the place very clean and the food (breakfast) delicious. I would definitely recommend this place and am planning to return to this gorgeous, little oasis at some point in the future.

Reviewed by
Beata S

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get away from it all......
A warm welcome, attentive support and great breakfasts from Judith! Great rural setting. No cupboards and limited hanging space in our room plus limited floor space but a very comfortable bed, an excellent shower and good quality toiletries. Well located on the very edge of Exmoor. A comfortable and homely venue.

Reviewed by
P Allen

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Headgate Farm
We stayed at Headgate for two nights for our second anniversary and unreservedly recommend it to anyone. The location is beautiful and so peaceful, an excellent hideaway. Judy is an amazing hostess and went out of her way to be welcoming and helpful. She helped us plan our day and was so warm and friendly. The breakfast is amazing, one of the best I have had anywhere! The room was excellent and comfortable. No negatives at all, we had a wonderful time.

Reviewed by
Neil P

From Okehampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay!
We loved our stay and Judy and Henry made us feel so welcome. The room and breakfast was lovely, with the location perfect to get away from everything for a few days. We have already been recommending this B&B to others and Judy and Henry's hospitality makes it an extra special get away.

Reviewed by
T Perlaki

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next