No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Clifton Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Clifton Hotel, 6 Queen Street, , Weymouth, DT4 7HZ
The Clifton Hotel is a family run hotel at the centre of Dorsets' Jurassic Coast. We are situated directly opposite Wemouth railway station and 100 metres from Weymouth's seafront and award winning beach. Just a 5 minute level walk from the Hotel takes you into the heart of Weymouth town centre and picturesque Quayside. We have a traditional English pub within our hotel called The Railway Tavern, serving a selection of wines & spirits and draught lagers, ciders, beers and real ales. Every comfortable room at the Clifton Hotel includes tea and coffee making facilities. The Clifton Hotel offers an on-site pub, providing a relaxed setting for an evening drink. A wide selection of dining options can also be found nearby.
Picture of The Clifton Hotel, Weymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My second unbeatable stay at this hotel
I stayed at this hotel with my granddaughter last year and was so impressed that I decided to pay another visit. I was not disappointed. The staff were friendly, the accommodation spotless and the food outstanding. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Reviewed by
Linda Mansfield

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice staff. refurbished room.
Pleasant, helpful staff. I got the last room in the hotel which unfortunately was a twin. My husbands bed creaked every time he moved, but mine was fine and reasonably comfortable. I think the room had recently been refurbished and was quite nice. A little small & the bathroom extracter was loud.
There is a pub next door that belongs to the hotel. (this is where we had our breakfast) as feedback I would say they need to ask the customers in the smoking area out back to keep the noise down. They were very loud & we could not sleep until they left. On the + side the beer & Lager we had there was very very good.
I think we would stay again, but not in that room.

Reviewed by
S Heaton

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Five star staff ,great breakfast ,clean room ,great location.

Reviewed by
M Blundell

From Corby, England
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ok but basic.
Hotel in central Weymouth that has friendly,helpful staff and adequate rooms and food.

Reviewed by
roger m

From Stratford upon Avon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go near it!
Had a dreadful night there. We were horrified by the unsavoury appearance tio start with and obvious outside noise. Bar man led up usp flights to tiny room with minute bathroom. Breakfast was only 8.30 -9.30 so no good for us, even though we had paid for it but frankly the beer smell in the tatty bar where it was served meant we wouldn't have ventured in there anyway! No sleep all night due to noise. Had to park a long way away too. Would have been better for half the price in a b & b! Room cleanish though.

Reviewed by
Anne B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

second time cant fault accomodation

Reviewed by
lynnis chick

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

faultless
the only complaint for this stay was the weather accommodation was excellent nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
lynnis chick

From Newport, England
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A littled worried when viewed from the road but the we need not have worried.
Very well decorated room, spacious en-suite. Lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Rob C

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our stay at the Clifton Hotel, Weymouth
I wanted a mini break for my granddaughter and myself before the school holidays ended. We travelled by rail because my 6 year old granddaughter suffers from serious travel sickness in a car. The location of the pub was ideal being right opposite the station and we were greeted by a friendly lady who showed us to our room with en suite bathroom. It was all spotlessly clean and nothing was too much trouble. The breakfast was beautifully cooked with great friendly and helpful staff and I would definitely recommend it. The beach and the shops are just a short walk away so everything is in the same place. Wonderful break and will probably go again next year and hopefully stay longer.

Reviewed by
Linda Mansfield

From chippenham, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and friendly
We are a family with a young son. We were given a room which we were told had just been refurbished. It was spotlessly clean, contemporary and comfortable. We could hear traffic as our room was at the front of the hotel next to the road, but this did not affect our sleep. The bathroom is modern and clean with a wonderful shower, but no shelves or counter space which meant we had to keep our wash things in the bedroom. We were mis-informed of breakfast times and when we arrived early, were told to come in and the staff were very friendly and began serving earlier than usual to accommodate us. The breakfast was good and they even put cartoons on the tv for my son to watch. Overall our one night stay was comfortable and welcoming.

Reviewed by
Karen M

From Tonbridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next