No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wyke Farm B&B

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Wyke Farm , Axminster, EX138TN
Welcome to Wyke Farm, a 17th Century grade II listed farmhouse set in the rolling countryside bordering Devon, Dorset and Somerset yet only 5 miles away from the beaches of Lyme Regis and the South West coastal path.
Our two spacious, light and airy rooms offer flexible accommodation and can sleep upto six in total. Interconnecting door ideal for families. An excellent location for walkers, cyclists and children being only 2 miles south of Axminster, only 5 minutes drive to River Cottage HQ or Canteen and 10 minutes to the beaches of Seaton, Lyme Regis and the World Heritage Jurassic Coast.
Picture of Wyke Farm B&B, Axminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic place to stay, especially when you talk to the owners about the project they took on at developing the old farm buildings. Great for River Cottage.

ManagementResponse

Many thanks for your review, so glad you enjoyed your stay! We thought it worthwhile leaving a comment regarding the value for money aspect. This room was sold and therefore priced based on family occupancy since this is our family room; our room price based on you as a couple only would have been less. Following the school holidays, we will sell both of our rooms on Laterooms as "couples only" and priced accordingly to avoid underoccupancy pricing issues. Thanks for the feedback which is very valuable.

Reviewed by
James Lilly

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Remote and accomodating
I stayed here for 1 evening on a beautiful summer weekend. The hotel was well away from crowds along single track roads. The setting was peaceful rural yet very modern. Hosts were extremely friendly and accommodating. Whatever was asked of, was answered or catered for. If you offer to do my ironing, big thumbs up.
Had great nights sleep in a comfortable bed and followed by a good hearty breakfast which tasted great.
Couldn't fault my stay, Well done HOSTS

Reviewed by
David D

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little treasure
What an amazing little find, very peacful and quiet, the room was large with high traditional oak beamed ceiling on display and decorated to a high standard, We were greeted as we drove up the drive with a wave and a smile, there were fresh cut flowers in our room and a plate of lemon and raisin pancakes, both the room and en-suit were spotlessly clean and an ample amount of teas and coffee, The breakfast was made to order(no kept warm rubbish) all local produce. If you follow your Satnav it takes you to the door, a bit of a winding narrow road, but well worth it, adds to the illusion of escapisum (if thats a word), have recommended to all fellow divers that were on our trip that weekend. close enough to Cob bay, and far enough to relax. Go look for yourself !!!!

ManagementResponse

We are delighted and humbled with this review! Thank you so much and to all our other reviewers who have taken the time to give feedback.

Reviewed by
n davies

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy to recommend this B&B
A very enjoyable stay and hoasts very helpful and friendy. The farm have great potential for familys or couples.

Reviewed by
Claire Sheldon-Battle

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Little Gem
Lovely welcome from Kathryn. Room looks even better than it does in the photos. Great breakfast with veggie sausages for the vegetarian. Kathryn tried every taxi company in the area to get us to River Cottage HQ - they were all booked up but she then drew us a map to show us how to drive there (top tip -book taxis for RC in advance of your visit!). We were booked in for a Saturday dinner at River Cottage HQ and Wyke Farm was just a ten minute drive from RC. Location is peaceful and rural with open views. Good tea and coffee facilities with home made cake in the room. Friendly and relaxed hosts - would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Verity M

From Milton Keynes, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

.
..

Reviewed by
B Storey

From Egham, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal for visiting Hugh
Wyke Farm, situated about a ten minute drive from River Cottage HQ, near Axminster, is an absolute joy...okay, it's not the easiest place to find, but it's more than worth the effort. Kathryn and John are great hosts, and are investing their heart and souls into Wyke Farm...to that end, they've currently got two guest rooms...both pretty big/spacious, and both superb.
As a guest, you are free to stroll round the farm, with some glorious views...the sunset was a welcome bonus when i visited. And did i mention breakfast...? Excellent!!!

Reviewed by
IAIN FAZACKERLEY

From Preston, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wyke Farm, I want to go back there again and again.
A lovely warm welcome by the owners who offer a peaceful retreat backed up with a quality stay. My partner and I were looking for somewhere to stay half way between Axminster town centre and the River Cottage Park Farm. We could not fault the service in any way, our hosts were lovely, accomodation pristine and a lovely breakfast in the morning. I look forward to returning in the near future. Wyke Farm is a quality product and deserves 10/10.

Reviewed by
s walker

From England
Who stayed in August 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.