No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mezze's The Ship & Castle

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mezze at The Ship & Castle, High Street, , Congresbury, BS49 5JA
Situated at the head of the ancient village of Congresbury, on the site of a 15th century brewery and ale house, the Ship and Castle has a great deal to offer both as a restaurant and as a base to stay and take advantage of the beautiful North Somerset countryside and coastline. Our gardens run alongside the River Yeo which marks the northern edge of the wonderful Somerset Levels with its huge variety of Wetlands wildlife. The heritage cities of Bristol and Bath are within half an hours drive and the wonderful Cheddar Gorge and the Avon gorge with its world famous Clifton suspension bridge are also very easy to get to. There is a wealth of attractions for holiday makers to choose from within 5 or 10 miles of the Ship not to mention being only 5 miles from the M5 and about 9 miles from Bristol International Airport. Weston super Mare is on our doorstep. Mezze at the Ship and Castle brings modern Mediterranean-style dining to the heart of the English countryside without sacrificing the wonderful historic surroundings and traditional comfortable ambiance of a country inn and hotel. This lovely old inn has been renovated to a high standard with six beautifully appointed guest rooms in the AA 4 star rated boutique hotel. There is an extensive range of Mezze (Tapas) dishes on the menu together with a full a la carte menu which includes some traditional favorites. We offer a range of excellent teas and coffees along with a lovely selection of cocktails with or without alcohol. Our beers and ciders are kept in excellent conditions and we stock a range of continental beers unsurpassed in the area. Our large car park and gardens border the pathway which follows the course of the Congresbury Yeo. The garden has recently been redesigned to include lots of areas to eat and drink in comfort under huge umbrellas and enjoy the beautiful views towards Burrington Combe. In the evenings the torches are lit to provide a spectacular setting to enjoy a relaxed dining experience.
Picture of Mezze's The Ship & Castle, Congresbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 51 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay!
The second time we have stayed here whilst visiting friends.friendly staff, great room, really big and well equipped. Really quiet, dispute being above the pub.
Only slight downside this time, is that the only choice of breakfast was variations of cooked breakfast, where as last time there was a selection of cereals and bread or toast, which I prefer. Had the veggie cooked breakfast this time though, which was really good!

Reviewed by
Joanne D

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another lovely, friendly stay
I was impressed that they remembered me from my last visit,this visit was equally as great as the last! I felt welcomed, had a great nights sleep in a comfortable room with a superb shower that was amazingly powerful. Couldn't have asked for more! I will be back again!

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay and great value
We stayed for one night and the room was lovely but was very hot, A fan was provided but it would have been nice to been able to open a window. The room was generously sized and very clean. Breakfast was excellent.

Reviewed by
V Jones

From Mountain Ash, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good stay

Reviewed by
J Mckinley

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another excellent stay
Rooms are great, food is excellent. Downside if any, large trucks outside the window starting away from the traffic lights.

Reviewed by
Allan W

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, friendly, comfortable hotel
This hotel was very welcoming and fulfilled all my needs for my overnight stay, even down to me needing breakfast at 7am on a Sunday morning. The staff were friendly and very helpful, I will return!

Reviewed by
K Taylor

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

initially could not find member of staff to register us into room. shower very dirty-stained. Television not working-informed staff but no one seemed interested. Noise from traffic unbearable when window open and too hot to leave closed. Breakfast choice minimal unless you like cooked breakfast and cereals and yogurt cleared away before I had chance to finish scrambled egg.I could not have this before cooked breakfast since there were no spoons available and no staff to ask for one We were booked in for two nights but only stayed the one!

Reviewed by
j butcher

From Hayle, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We stayed for one night and wished we booked for longer. The food was excellent and the staff polite and friendly.

Reviewed by
V Wilkins

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brekafast
This is the first accommodation I have ever stayed in in 40 years where there is a charge for a second cup of tea or coffee at breakfast. The staff have no idea about customer service apart from the lady serving breakfast the main priority was to get the payment then you are on your own. The "Morrisons " bed cover did not impress and the notice on the back of the room door reminding us not to steal anything from the room both speak volumes.

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Holmfirth, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reluctant to recommend as it would encourage more guests to stay
Thoroughly excellent experience, the food choice is amazing, I could stay 100 times and still not have to eat the same combination. Room was excellent although on the main road so a bit noisy 1st thing in the morning. Service was outstanding

Reviewed by
Allan W

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next