Reviews - Mezze's The Ship & Castle


Mezze at The Ship & Castle, High Street,, Congresbury, BS49 5JA

Price From 146.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • fiona j

  • July 2015

Rude manager sub standard room

We didn't feel welcomed by the manager, he expected us to decide instantly wether we would be eating with them, if not we were expected to pay before the stay as if we couldn't be trusted!.

The room was very hot, kettle didn't reach the socket without putting it on the floor, curtain rail fell off when we tried to draw the curtains. I found today that the bill that we paid in pub was also taken off my card, rang to make them aware but received no apology as if it happens all the time and I'm expected to wait 5 days for it to be refunded!. Disgraceful attitude won't ever stay again!!

  • Stuart M

  • May 2015

The Meze experience.

I stayed here on a Monday night which I expected to be quite quiet.

As it turned out the Restaurant was relatively busy with groups of diners all taking advantage of the mid week meal deals. The rooms were clean and well equipped. I had a suite which was set out well and had a real spacy feel to it. The road could be slightly noisy from passing traffic at peak times however the Hotel had done their best to combat this with secondary glazing .This slight noise did in no way detract from the stay

All staff were courteous,cheerful and helpful. Food in the evening was very good with huge portions. Breakfast was of a good quality and catered for everyones needs. Checking out was very quick with a final bill already calculated and charged!. Easy!

  • Brian H

  • May 2015

Great restaurant with rooms hotel

Very good and friendly customer service and great food at Mezze restaurant.

Our room was comfortable and good value - only tiny negative point was the single glazed window and the aircraft noise in the morning from nearby Bristol airport. Great breakfast, again with very good and friendly service.

  • Andy Broomfield

  • April 2015

Somerset trip

Friendly and helpful staff, lovely spacious rooms, food was amazing will defantly come back in the future.

  • Michelle D

  • April 2015

Excellent from start to finish!

We arrived 3 hours before check in and our room wasn't ready yet, however as we needed to get changed to go to a wedding we were allowed into the room to change and leave our things which was so helpful to us.

The bar and restaurant area are warm and welcoming, cosy and homely. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The separate access to the hotel with a key provided was beneficial to us as we were returning late. The room itself was spacious and had all facilities needed, bed was comfortable and clean.

In the morning breakfast is served until 10am but we requested it at 10am on the dot and got a lovely full english which was delicious. Coffee/tea and juices were available as well as cereal and yogurt. You could also have a bacon sandwich or smoked salmon and scrambled eggs.

I also changed the booking from 2 nights to 1 and the manager was happy to just charge for 1 night and it was £5 cheaper.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Brian Eversham

  • April 2015

Hotel-restaurant-pub succeeding in all areas.

Looking like an average pub from the outside, this is a friendly and comfortable family hotel atop a very imaginative and well-run Mediterranean-style restaurant.

The rooms are very large and comfortable, with a huge en-suite bathroom and large shower (plenty of room for a 6'2' male to move around without bumping his elbows). Kept beautifully clean and well provisioned: I appreciated the cafetiere and decent coffee alongside the usual.

The restaurant is very efficiently run - no delays between courses even when packed. The staff are great - friendly, chatty without being obtrusive, helpful, flexible and intelligent, remembering previous orders and making a guest feel welcome ('Your usual table?' on third visit!).

The menu is much more wide-ranging and imaginative than I'd expected. Greek, yes; Spanishn yes; but also Turkish, Moroccan and south American, each done with character and authenticity. Tasty, generous portions and seemingly freshly made every time. I didn't eat the same dish twice, and enjoyed every mouthful. The baklava was especially good: crisp and sweet but not cloying, with a surprisingly powerful 'Turkish delight ice cream' - really tasty, and a great accompaniment to the classic dessert.

It's refreshing to find a place that succeeds in doing something different, for less than a boring, standard cheap hotel chain. And a great restaurant, obviously popular with the locals, which has enough staff to provide first-class service even on a busy Friday night of a bank holiday weekend.

It was also good to see a local hotel supporting a local charity by the option of adding 50p to the bill. I think most customers used this - I do hope the excellent young staff didn't suffer through lower tips as a result.

  • Allan W

  • March 2015

Excellent restaurant and rooms

Terrific choice of food, stay 1000 times and you won't repeat your choice of meal, BRILLIANT

  • l mitchell

  • March 2015


Room was nice and comfortable.

No major issues. The only small issue: bed throw had a few stains. Did not bother me as did not need the throw as the covers were clean and adequate enough to keep us warm. The breakfast was pleasant. Check in and out was straight forward. Bar staff were incredibly polite and helpful.

  • Jan Philipp D

  • February 2015

Mezze's The Ship & Castle

Lovely place with great breakfast.


  • December 2014

Pleasant Pub

Was concerned that our room was feet away from the main road through Congresbury, but the heavy duty curtains and double windows were more than enough to keep the noise and light at bay.

the TV didnt have any signal, and the radio only picked up one station, but as I only wanted a bit of background sound while showing, I'm sure that I can look pass this. If it had really troubled me, I am sure the people on the reception would have helped fixed it. plenty of parking, and the bathroom was very new and clean. the only slight annoyance was that we could hear everything that happened on the landing, and they could hear us (nudge nudge, wink wink if you catch my drift. would stay here again, and would recommend to others