No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mezze's The Ship & Castle

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Mezze at The Ship & Castle, High Street, , Congresbury, BS49 5JA
Situated at the head of the ancient village of Congresbury, on the site of a 15th century brewery and ale house, the Ship and Castle has a great deal to offer both as a restaurant and as a base to stay and take advantage of the beautiful North Somerset countryside and coastline. Our gardens run alongside the River Yeo which marks the northern edge of the wonderful Somerset Levels with its huge variety of Wetlands wildlife. The heritage cities of Bristol and Bath are within half an hours drive and the wonderful Cheddar Gorge and the Avon gorge with its world famous Clifton suspension bridge are also very easy to get to. There is a wealth of attractions for holiday makers to choose from within 5 or 10 miles of the Ship not to mention being only 5 miles from the M5 and about 9 miles from Bristol International Airport. Weston super Mare is on our doorstep. Mezze at the Ship and Castle brings modern Mediterranean-style dining to the heart of the English countryside without sacrificing the wonderful historic surroundings and traditional comfortable ambiance of a country inn and hotel. This lovely old inn has been renovated to a high standard with six beautifully appointed guest rooms in the AA 4 star rated boutique hotel. There is an extensive range of Mezze (Tapas) dishes on the menu together with a full a la carte menu which includes some traditional favorites. We offer a range of excellent teas and coffees along with a lovely selection of cocktails with or without alcohol. Our beers and ciders are kept in excellent conditions and we stock a range of continental beers unsurpassed in the area. Our large car park and gardens border the pathway which follows the course of the Congresbury Yeo. The garden has recently been redesigned to include lots of areas to eat and drink in comfort under huge umbrellas and enjoy the beautiful views towards Burrington Combe. In the evenings the torches are lit to provide a spectacular setting to enjoy a relaxed dining experience.
Picture of Mezze's The Ship & Castle, Congresbury at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brekafast
This is the first accommodation I have ever stayed in in 40 years where there is a charge for a second cup of tea or coffee at breakfast. The staff have no idea about customer service apart from the lady serving breakfast the main priority was to get the payment then you are on your own. The "Morrisons " bed cover did not impress and the notice on the back of the room door reminding us not to steal anything from the room both speak volumes.

Reviewed by
G Smith

From Holmfirth, England
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reluctant to recommend as it would encourage more guests to stay
Thoroughly excellent experience, the food choice is amazing, I could stay 100 times and still not have to eat the same combination. Room was excellent although on the main road so a bit noisy 1st thing in the morning. Service was outstanding

Reviewed by
Allan W

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stonking Breakfast!
A good quality Hotel with friendly staff at a very reasonable rate. The evening meal was unusual and very good but the full English breakfast was one of the best I have had during my many years on the road.

Reviewed by
Mark W

From Baldock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay.
What a pleasant stay! Me and husband went to attend an event nearby, booked this hotel at last minute. The staff is very polite, great room, comfy bed, good facility. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. If we come back in the area again, will definitely book this again. 5 star!

Reviewed by
M Perry

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place, great food!
Found on late rooms. It was a last minute desition to stay over near Bath. Very easy to book, the pub had nice garden and parking area and had a nice modern feel to it. Staff were friendly, rooms nicely decorated and clean. Had dinner with my wife and it was excellent and good value for money. Breakfast was included and was very nice... All round a good experience!

Reviewed by
Mark Cave

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely little place
Mezzes is a very clean boutique hotel. The room was completed to a high standard and was very comfortable.

Reviewed by
B Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice place shame about the payment system
They need to change the payment system, I wanted to put food and drinks on the bill, but I was told I had to pay when I had the food and drink, and the bar person told me this was because they had to cash up to date each night.

Reviewed by
Paul Brown

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Promising...but distinctly average
We booked last minute to what appeared to be the last room in bristol for a 50th birthday party...we weren't needing much which was lucky as we didn't get much. Check in was a tick box exercise but there was no welcome, no explanation of how getting in or out of the accommodation worked, or how breakfast worked. A time for breakfast the following morning was expected (hard when we didn't know what time breakfast was or whether we would be in bed at 11 or 3am, and we found out the next morning full english was selected for us without asking...a good job we were not vegetarian.
The room had promise...but the lamps did not match, table and (kitchen) chairs were out of keeping with the rest of the room and very uncomfortable, the bed was rock solid, wires were dangling from behind the tv and the shower needed a steam clean. Oh and wifi didn't work.
We decided to go down to the pub for a drink before going out. The bar had promise...but there was nowhere comfortable to sit unless you were eating, and the service was v v v v slow. And when the taxi came and asked for us by name the staff said there wasn't anyone...there are only 6 rooms for goodness sake.
Breakfast had promise but...the aforementioned preorder of breakfast and the salt and pepper pot were dirty.
For £70 we could not really (and did not) complain. Yet it was sooo frustrating. Something which could have been quire good turned out to be quite distinctly average.

Reviewed by
Andy B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Spot to stay
The room was spacious, was worried as it was right next to the road but the glazing was excellent and didn't hear anything from the road. The food was brilliant, a very neat way of trying different foods and not spending a lot of money. In the morning realised right next to a lovely meadow and river so a lovely walk to start the day.

Reviewed by
C Holyoake

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

quality stay
I arrived late, but received a courtesy call from the manager, who on arrival was fantastic,gave clear information on when and where breakfast was, where I could get food late at night too.
The bar and dinning area was stunning, nice relaxed atmosphere, with a professional element.
The room was spotless, with great decor and facilities, comfy bed and good tea.

Reviewed by
a furlong

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next