No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wildercombe House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
St Brannocks Road, , , Ilfracombe, EX34 8EP
Situated in an elevated position in Ilfracombe, North Devon, Wildercombe House offers 5-star award-winning guest accommodation with panoramic views of the sea, town and countryside. A fully refurbished former Victorian Gentleman's residence, Wildercombe House has bright, spacious accommodation including three fully accessible DOC M compliant rooms, all with luxury fixtures and fittings, providing our guests with the highest levels of quality and comfort. With level and lift access, Wildercombe House is wheelchair accessible in all public areas and throughout the majority of the building. Assistance dogs only are welcome. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout along with free on-site parking. Breakfast is included in the room rate, and includes the traditional cooked English options and lighter continental choices. Together with our guest lounge, licenced bar, and pool table, Wildercombe House offers a full range of facilities to suit the needs of our guests. Within easy reach of the town centre, the Tunnels Beaches and the harbour, you can enjoy a variety of independent shops, cafés and restaurants, with Barnstaple and the edge of Exmoor National Park just a short drive away, along with an array of family attractions for our younger guests. Due to our elevated position, access to Wildercombe House is via a fairly steep tarmac driveway, which is best approached when driving down St Brannocks Road, travelling inbound in to Ilfracombe. For our more active and adventurous guests, you can enjoy horse-riding, golf (Ilfracombe and Saunton Sands Golf Clubs are situated close by), tennis, surfing, deep sea diving, boat excursions and much more, all available locally. Whether your choice is to drive, walk or cycle, for business or pleasure, Wildercombe House is the ideal place for you to enjoy a luxurious stay and a base for exploring the delightful countryside, local beaches, and historic sites of North Devon. It's all about choice, your choice.
Picture of Wildercombe House, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay in September 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed here for the night 18th September for our last night in Devon for a change of scenery, had a lovely warm welcome from Anne Marie, checked into our room fine. Room initially provided was not ideal as it was not suitable for my partner (whilst there was nothing wrong with the cleanliness or standard of the room we was given a room that was adapted for wheelchair users, therefore everything was quite low down resulting in him having to bend down to use the vanity mirror in the bathroom, hanging off the end of the bed and towering over the shower rail as he is quite tall) we advised Anne Marie and she kindly moved us to a much more suitable room straight away, which was absolutely lovely! Spotlessly clean, lovely comfortable bed, all mod cons, bath robes etc. Had a great night sleep and was completely satisfied with the breakfast we was provided the following morning. Copious amounts of food of a very high standard and lovely views across the county side. Would highly recommend to stay here and experience for yourself.

Reviewed by
L Hammond

From Dartford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not fault it
Everything went very smoothly, from start to finish. Very comfortable accommodation and a very good hotelier.

Reviewed by
S Lodge

From Beccles, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spendid place to stay
i was in room 2 on ground floor lovely size and very clean and tidy as you would expect,the adjoining bathroom was large with a lovely shower and it was spotless.
the breakfast was yummy and filling,this is a great place to stay,

Reviewed by
martyn b

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ilfracombe visit
A warm welcome followed by personal but unobtrusive attention. First class environment with modern
and well presented accommodation with a mix of tradition and modernity. Excellent facilities in luring a well stocked bar as well as a pool table. First class choice of breakfast and home cooked food.
A genuine determination to delight by the hosts who have clearly invested much time and effort as well as money in W House. Would certainly recommend and hope to make a return trip in the future.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Plaxton

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful hotel.
We arrived having camped for a few nights and found this hotel to have been decorated to the highest standard. The decor had some lovely original features and had been tastefully renovated to a modern standard. The way we were treated was excellent, the room was spacious and comfortable. It was cleaned / tidied daily. The breakfast was very nice too, just what we needed from a break away. If I visit ilfracoombe again I will be staying here.

Reviewed by
J Turner

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay
After a long cycle Wildercombe House was the perfect stay. We were made to feel very welcome and everything we required was immediatley sorted, from taxis to plastic bags! The room was spotless and spacious, and extremely comfortable, and the food top quality. Lovely setting and building. Would defiantly stay again.

Reviewed by
Sally A

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic place to stay
The decoration is great and you can see that a genuine effort went into it.
All the staff are very happy and helpful.
The breakfast was very nice...made you want to eat more!
We will definitely be going to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Alexander S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room

Reviewed by
a maddock

From Watchet, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Stay
Truly grand, fantastic guesthouse. Heaps of character in the building, with beautiful views overlooking the town and sea. Plenty of parking with large spaces. Owners were both warm and friendly. Recommended without reservation.

Reviewed by
Stuart M

From Alresford, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Satisfaction guaranteed
This is a high end guest house. The decor and furnishings are top quality and immaculate. The house sits high on the valley side with excellent views across to the sea. The room was large and comfortable, light and airy with a walk in wardrobe to die for. The en suite had a walk in rain shower and bath robes were supplied. The public rooms were comfortably furnished with a selection of games available. Barry and Ann Marie were freindly and attentive with nothing too much trouble. The perfect hosts.

Reviewed by
alan jones

From Weymouth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next