No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Woolacombe Bay Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
South Street North Devon, Woolacombe , EX34 7BN
The Woolacombe Bay Hotel is in one of the most enviable positions in England. Overlooking one of the finest beaches in Europe, it boasts 68 glorious bedrooms, six acres of landscaped grounds, and direct access to three miles of beautiful, golden sands.

Life at the Woolacombe Bay combines the timeless elegance of days gone by, with all of the special touches you would expect from a luxury four star hotel. There are two restaurants to choose from – the relaxed, understated Bay Brasserie and the magnificent surroundings and opulence of Doyle’s.

At the front of the hotel is The Bay Lido - a beautiful sanctuary for couples, families, and the young at heart. Exclusive to hotel residents, this recently updated area incorporates a large outdoor pool, a selection of comfy loungers and a unique fire pit to warm you as the evenings draw in. Inside the hotel is the Haven Spa, where you can enjoy the finest Elemis treatments, a dip in the indoor pool or Jacuzzi, or you time in the steam room or sauna.

For the more active there are two squash courts, tennis courts, pool, table tennis and snooker, as well as a nine hole golf course on the front lawns of the hotel.

The hotel has been lovingly restored from the mid 1800's, creating it's unique and tranquil atmosphere. High ceilings, chandeliers and comfortable, quiet lounges are a testament to that era, and where first class modern amenities are required, they have been skilfully incorporated. Our staff are trained to be attentive yet unobtrusive and to provide the kind of personal service that is so often hard to find.

The Woolacombe Bay are dedicated to creating special memories that will last forever…

Picture of The Woolacombe Bay Hotel, Woolacombe  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since June 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 22 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal retreat!
Myself and my partner thoroughly enjoyed our weekend retreat. The staff were very welcoming and the facilities were tremendous. The spa, pools and restaurant was just what we needed to take the stress off for a weekend. I will go there again.

Reviewed by
Richard B

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The restaurant was over-priced for an evening meal but the breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
L Ashton

From Slough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Woolacombe
Had not stayed in the hotel before and pleasently surprised at quality of facilities in accomodation, restaurant and pools. Access to beach quick and sun definately helped. Service was organised and efficient, very friendly staff and very attentive. Breakfast superb and 2 meals in Doyles were enjoyed with great choices and good presentation. Spa good but not helpful you have to parade in swimming costume between changing room and secret towel holding at reception -not mentioned in brochure so you expect towels in changing area! Very minor but easily rectified irritation. Pools clean and inviting. Would definately say a good 4 star plus facility with a caution that we missed the night of an apparently noisy function Saturday.

Reviewed by
Pam A

From Cheltenham, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing hotel and we can't wait to come back

Reviewed by
louise h

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very few complaints
My friend and I are not fussy eaters, but we found the food choice in both restaurants very limited. However, we did enjoy the one meal we had there.

Reviewed by
G Whittle

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful
Had a lovely stay at the Woolacoombe Bay we have been here several times over the years.
My only slight complaint is that they used to include dinner in the package rates but this has now changed. As the hotel is quite isolated in terms of other dining establishments, you have to pay £32 per head for an evening meal. I have to say the evening meal is superb, but the menu is the same for the duration of your stay, so limited if you don't like much on it, overall s fantastic location and a superior quality hotel.

Reviewed by
I Williams

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No character
A great deal of money has been spent, and on first glance it looks great. However the rooms are small, the furniture is utilitarian and the 'modern' bathroom nigh on impossible to use without creating a flood.
Apart from the spa area and dining room the rest of the hotel is void of any atmosphere and we spent our free time either outside or visiting the pub The Red Barn.
Perhaps we have been spoilt by previously using the Watersmeet Hotel down the road which we give a 10/10 every time.

Reviewed by
P Stepney

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very beautiful position of hotel and views out to sea, good car parking, staff were excellent and were easy to talk to and ask questions, hotel lay out really good. Overall a great stay and would very much recommend it to anyone!

Reviewed by
Brendan Hunt

From Braintree, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we stayed for 3 nights in mid april 2014. we stayed in room 212. excellent hotel all round - clean, fantastic location and some of the best hotel staff I have seen. it has an old world feel to it unlike soulless chain hotels.great breakfast. room we stayed in was above the kitchen so not ideal but fine for the price.the place is huge with many stairs & sections so it's a pain taking things up and down. overall possibly the best place I have stayed in the UK!!

Reviewed by
A Vyas

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

-
-

Reviewed by
R Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next