The Mount Batten Centre

0

70, Lawrence Road, Plymouth, PL99SJ

Price From 87.08 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Justin T

  • February 2015

Clean, basic but very good value

If you're looking for a hotel then book a hotel, but if you're looking for a good value place to sleep then The Mount Batten Centre is ideal.

Very friendly staff, who were keen to help. I came here as my son had an interview at Plymouth University at 9 in the morning, and we didn't fancy a 4-hour drive to get there for then, so we stayed here. The only thing that I was a little disappointed about was that the bar wasn't open on the night of our stay, but we went next door to the hotel instead.

  • L Bishop

  • October 2014

Good accommodation, good value for money.

Excellent breakfast in the morning!

  • Angela G

  • August 2014

Very enjoyable stay, lovely sea view and great value for money.

  • f mortimer

  • August 2014

Would have been nice if someone had not been sick in the disabled toilet.

had to clean before use

  • ann-marie f

  • August 2014

Value for money

Fantastic location.

Great taxi boat service across the water right into the Barbican centre of Plymouth. Clean shared areas and great full breakfast at the weekend. Friendly and helpful staff. Also well located to the south west coastal path.

  • trudi j

  • July 2014

Triathlon overnighter

Daughter doing junior aquathlon with early start, so looked to find somewhere to stay so we could travel down to Plymouth the night before.

The triathlon started about 2 mns walk away from here so it was ideal. Car park was included so didnt have to think about that. We read the comments about shared bathrooms, no TV etc , but as we only needed somewhere to sleep it didnt matter. The price was good and suited our needs. If you are used to big chain hotels then this probably isnt for you. It is basic but clean. As it was the room was perfect. A double and a single with tea/coffee making facilities , a TV & an ensuite with great shower. Views from 2 sides on to the river so we could see where the race started in the morning . Great views & also as it got dark with all the lights on the river. Unfortunatley there was a wedding going on, so it was rather noisy as we tried to get to sleep. Hot night but the noise meant we had to keep the windows closed. We've had that at expensive hotels before so its down to luck. We had good meal in the bar - scampi & chips & burger - and these were great. Especially a cold pint of Thatchers . Bar staff were friendly and helpful. . Needed to be up before breakfast so tried to get a packed one the night before, and had put this on the booking, but was told they couldnt do it. . It would have been nice, but no big deal. Didnt have to check out until 10, so came home after race and had nice warm shower before leaving. The views & location are amazing. It was exactly what we needed so were very pleased.I would certainly book here again and recommend it, but will remember to ask if there is a wedding on .

  • Natalie Ray

  • May 2014

Surprising

When I realised there was not TV in the room and private en-suite I thought it would be terrible.

But the shared showers/toilet facilities were fantastic and clean, and with such beautiful views outside, who needs a TV. The staff were really helpful, friendly and chatty and the breakfast was fantastic. Will definitely be staying again.

  • G Price

  • April 2014

Great harbourside spot, nice views, shame about the breakfast

We booked for the two of us, hoped for a twin bed but got three single bunks.

No matter though, was still a nice little room with a great view out over the harbour. The shower facilities were clean and in good nick, really quite a nice little place to stay the night. If ur up for a trip over to the Barbican there's a ferry service only a minute up the path that runs every 30 mins for £1.50 each way. Wasn't expecting great things for the breakfast, fortunately... the English brekkie was drowned in oil and over cooked. Settled for the coco pops and toast. Would recommend the accommodation to anyone looking to make the most out of the water sport activities on offer here, but perhaps plan to grab breakfast elsewhere.

  • steve v

  • April 2014

From a picture of a double bed online .

I didn't expect bunk beds. From my understanding this was a hotel not a hostel . For almost forty pounds I could of stayed in a travel lodge or ibis and would of been a better room .

Very basic room. No TV. No on suite toilets /showers-bath. Showers and toilets are down the corridor. This would be ideal for a school trips where or water sports enthusiasts not wanting the lavish room.

  • Dave T

  • October 2013

A night in Plymouth

Unusual accomm which is mainly for use by people involved in watersports but it was clean and very well priced.

There were restaurants close by and it had a great view of the sea. Enjoyed it.