Reviews - The Mount Batten Centre

0

70, Lawrence Road, Plymouth, PL99SJ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

86% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Archibald C

  • August 2015

The Mount Batten Centre

Adequate

  • Paul Lloyd

  • July 2015

Does what it says on the tin

Everything was as describer, great value for money, simple and basic.

The jewel in the crown however was the receptionist, absolutely world class, I just wish I had noted her name to thank her publicly. Fantastic service with a smile - thank you

  • C Edwards

  • May 2015

Hotel

It was more like a Hostel, no bathroom, small uncomfortable beds, noisy at night.

Poor ventilation. Not suitable for business travellers, but for youngsters and water sports groups. Quite far from the city centre.

  • Justin T

  • February 2015

Clean, basic but very good value

If you're looking for a hotel then book a hotel, but if you're looking for a good value place to sleep then The Mount Batten Centre is ideal.

Very friendly staff, who were keen to help. I came here as my son had an interview at Plymouth University at 9 in the morning, and we didn't fancy a 4-hour drive to get there for then, so we stayed here. The only thing that I was a little disappointed about was that the bar wasn't open on the night of our stay, but we went next door to the hotel instead.

  • L Bishop

  • October 2014

Good accommodation, good value for money.

Excellent breakfast in the morning!

  • Angela G

  • August 2014

Very enjoyable stay, lovely sea view and great value for money.

  • f mortimer

  • August 2014

Would have been nice if someone had not been sick in the disabled toilet.

had to clean before use

  • ann-marie f

  • August 2014

Value for money

Fantastic location.

Great taxi boat service across the water right into the Barbican centre of Plymouth. Clean shared areas and great full breakfast at the weekend. Friendly and helpful staff. Also well located to the south west coastal path.

  • trudi j

  • July 2014

Triathlon overnighter

Daughter doing junior aquathlon with early start, so looked to find somewhere to stay so we could travel down to Plymouth the night before.

The triathlon started about 2 mns walk away from here so it was ideal. Car park was included so didnt have to think about that. We read the comments about shared bathrooms, no TV etc , but as we only needed somewhere to sleep it didnt matter. The price was good and suited our needs. If you are used to big chain hotels then this probably isnt for you. It is basic but clean. As it was the room was perfect. A double and a single with tea/coffee making facilities , a TV & an ensuite with great shower. Views from 2 sides on to the river so we could see where the race started in the morning . Great views & also as it got dark with all the lights on the river. Unfortunatley there was a wedding going on, so it was rather noisy as we tried to get to sleep. Hot night but the noise meant we had to keep the windows closed. We've had that at expensive hotels before so its down to luck. We had good meal in the bar - scampi & chips & burger - and these were great. Especially a cold pint of Thatchers . Bar staff were friendly and helpful. . Needed to be up before breakfast so tried to get a packed one the night before, and had put this on the booking, but was told they couldnt do it. . It would have been nice, but no big deal. Didnt have to check out until 10, so came home after race and had nice warm shower before leaving. The views & location are amazing. It was exactly what we needed so were very pleased.I would certainly book here again and recommend it, but will remember to ask if there is a wedding on .

  • Natalie Ray

  • May 2014

Surprising

When I realised there was not TV in the room and private en-suite I thought it would be terrible.

But the shared showers/toilet facilities were fantastic and clean, and with such beautiful views outside, who needs a TV. The staff were really helpful, friendly and chatty and the breakfast was fantastic. Will definitely be staying again.