No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Moon & Sixpence

Not Classified  Inn Ratings explained
15 The Beach, Clevedon, BS21 7QU
The Moon and Sixpence is one of the most popular pubs in Clevedon. Situated in a prime seafront position looking out over the Bristol Channel and facing Clevedon's famous Victorian Pier. Spectacular sunsets can be witnessed from our pub balcony offering some of the best views in Clevedon or from our outside eating and drinking areas. The Moon & Sixpence is a welcoming, popular bar, restaurant and hotel offers a range of accommodation and entertainment as well as great pub food in comfortable surroundings. We specialise in traditional English and Mediterranean cuisine prepared by our chefs.
Picture of The Moon & Sixpence, Clevedon at LateRooms
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value would not hesitate to visit again.

Reviewed by
Andy Nutland

From Yeovil, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ignore the picture
Last minute booking and this was the last room left in town. The picture made the place look run down and shabby so were not expecting a lot.
First impressions were much different. Situated in an excellent spot right on the front there was obviously limited parking but managed to get the last space on the car park.
The outside of the accommodation looked much better than on the picture, they really need to take some new / better pictures. Checking was quick despite it being a fairly busy Saturday night in the pub and were taken the short walk to the separate building that was the accommodation.
The room (number4) was large with large double bed, dressing table and sofa with sea views. The bathroom was a good size with an excellent shower. Was initially worried about a rattling window in the bedroom but a quick adjustment solved that.
Bed was comfortable and even with the windows open the room was quiet.
Breakfast next morning was large and tasty and kept me going all day.

Reviewed by
Emma R

From Leek, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stop over
Do not choose room 3 door was left open onarrival had approx 6 flys in room, smelt very badly of smoke room very small & dingy bathroom badly in need of painting pipes & towel rail rusty,if we had not been going to a 60th party we would not have stayed .
The only good thing was the breakfast well cooked & plenty of it also the people who served the breakfast very pleasant good service , more than you can say for the bar staff on arrival

Reviewed by
P Sheppard

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A popular location
Room 5.....We have stayed here 4 times now, and always seem to be in R5. It's simple and basic, but always clean. The food is excellent, and after eating the full english breakfast (cooked by the Italian owner), you won't need to eat again until the evening !!! The accommodation is attached to the side of the pub. Car parking is limited on pub car park, but parking on the road outside is free all day. The view is magnificent, over the pebble beach the sea, and the pier. This is an unspoiled victorian town and well worth a visit...........Nice and quiet.

Reviewed by
s harpur

From birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No breakfast and Room 3 very small and not inside building
No breakfast- despite speaking to the Moon nad Sixpence at 1 p.m. on the day of arrival it was only at 9.30 p.m. when we arrived that we were informed that there was no breakfast facility as they did not have a chef. Although our room rate was adjusted to allow for the absence of breakfast it did cause an inconveniance.
Room 3 is too small to be a double room- there was a chair which we had to keep moving as there you couldn't go past it whereever it was- nowhere to sit apart from the bed and nowhere to put a suitcase apart from in the shower. The room also is not inside the building and the door opens straight from the garden into the room- this is nor particularily secure and far from ideal.

Reviewed by
Darrienne P

From Folkestone, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what we needed
what a surprise to find such welcoming accommodation and very good food
The room was small but just what my husband and i needed for a quick stop over
the staff and owner were all very helpful,and off a very good standard
The food was very good and very good value
i highly recommend this place,and we even had a sea view

Reviewed by
H Sulker

From Tenterden, England
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice break
Fantastic location on sea front,room basic but clean with nice pub serving good food.great value accomidation, good customer service.

Reviewed by
Darren B

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exactly as descibed. Clean and tidy. Freindly efficient service in the Pub. Food OK for pub food.
Unspoilt location, Beach is not great for kids however, the Victorian Peir is fantastic. Worth visiting Skoozi Italian restaunt 5 mins walk away, great food and service at resonable prices. Some charming little arty crafty shops in the same area. Definatly worth visiting the charming Curzon community cinima. Fantastic coastal walk to the right hand side of the pier back towards Bristol. Short drive to Weson Super Mare with a fantasic beach and the newley rebuild Grand Pier. Give the ammuasment arcade a miss but the the Edwardian Tea Room at the end of the pier is a real jewel.

Reviewed by
Frank Butler

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Place To Stay
Clean spacious room Excellent Breakfast, Although its also a pub the room are at the side with a separate entrance so you get no noise from the pub, right on the seafront so great location. Take a peep in Beach Antiques which is up a little path more or less next door to the Moon & Sixpence, its not really Antiques so much as a little treasure trove of jewellery bags scarfs with a few Antiques thrown in.

Reviewed by
J Luter

From Portsmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The food was amazing (especially the breakfast after a wedding the previous day!) and the staff couldn't have been more friendly, helpful and courteous. Highly recommend this place.

Reviewed by
Caroline H

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next