No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - White Hart Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
The Square , Moretonhampstead, TQ13 8NQ
The White Hart Hotel is a traditional old posting house at the centre of the small moorland town of Moretonhampstead set within the spectacular Dartmoor National Park.

The Hotel dates back to 1639 and this historic Grade II listed building is being sympathetically refurbished to provide all modern comforts within a traditional setting. Our comfy sofa-filled lounge has a roaring log fire where you can relax and combine the delights of a traditional cream tea with the convenience of free wi-fi.

An ideal base from which to explore this beautiful area of Devon, the White Hart has 20 well-appointed bedrooms in the main hotel and a further eight in a separate mews building.

Our restaurant features the freshest local, seasonal produce cooked in a style that lets the quality of the ingredients speak for themselves. A free house, we stock a range of local real ales and have a hand-picked wine list.

Dogs and Dartmoor go together. Dartmoor is great walking country and dogs are welcome everywhere in the hotel, except in the dining room.
Picture of White Hart Hotel, Moretonhampstead at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Far better than anywere else we've stayed in Devon.
Lovely public rooms and bedrooms especially since the hotel was refurbished. Very good service. However in common with almost all food outlets in Devon don't expect too much if you have special dietary needs.

Reviewed by
r evans

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Breakfast issues
Overall very good. Service at breakfast not consistent. We were not asked if we would like more tea or coffee or toast. Food was excellent. We had to find someone to serve us on the first day & were treated as though we were an inconvenience as we appeared to be the only guests on the first day. Very friendly for our stay & lovely room. Ate the first night in the hotel & it was excellent. Overall a very comfortable & enjoyable stay. Would stay again.

Reviewed by
barrie p

From Eastbourne, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart Hotel
first stay at the White Hart, really impressed with staff, ambience and food, we will be back again and recommend to friends

Reviewed by
Kevin D

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very dog friendly
We had a lovely stay at White Hart with our dog. The dog was allowed everywhere except the restaurant. The hotel has tables in the bar which allowed us to have our breakfast and dinner while our dog slept under the table. There is also a very comfortable reception/lounge where we could sit for lunch and coffee. The staff were very attentive and friendly and made our stay extremely relaxed.

Reviewed by
Yvonne T

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

White Hart Hotel
So dog friendly! ! I wouldn't have minded the bathroom being a bit warmer though. Dinner was delicious even though there was a big Christmas dinner going on in the other room.

Reviewed by
Sandra P

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great room!
We received a very warm welcome on arrival and were shown into a delightful double room, upgraded as indicated at the time of booking. Moretonhampstead is a lovely town, and the hotel's central location was ideal for an after dinner stroll. We ate off the "specials" menu which was okay but not special, otherwise a very enjoyable stay. We would return!!

Reviewed by
Jon W

From York, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A stay not to miss
From the moment we arrived - the reception desk, the room, the evening meal, overnight stay quiet and on a cloud bed to the full breakfast, it was an experience not to be missed. ALL staff were of a happy disposition and willing to help/satisfy. Excellent

Reviewed by
G Morley

From Manningtree, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable holiday in pleasant surroundings
Relaxing accommodation with excellent service and good dining.

Reviewed by
James Young

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel with very pleasant staff.
Good bar with local cask beers and good food in restaurant.
Very comfy room.
Would definitely use again.

Reviewed by
Andrew Yates

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Splendid!!!
Fabulous Hotel, great staff, fantastic food.

Reviewed by
Roy B

From Swindon, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next