Reviews - The Poachers Pocket


Nr Burlescombe, TIVERTON, EX16 7JY

Price From 100.51 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (36)

92% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • helen nicholson

  • April 2015

Full of character

We enjoyed one night at this hotel but would definitely go back.

It has loads of character, is well equipped and even had a guest lounge, as well as the bar downstairs.

  • A Swaysland

  • April 2015


I travelled with my sister and my dad as we were visiting my dads brother.

We chose Poachers Pocket as it was close by and offered a room for each of us with a shared bathroom. All I can day was it was fantastic. The husband and wife owners could not of done more for us. Even when I messed up my dates and had to amend. Rooms were clean and tidy without a spec of dust to be seen, food was fantastic. Make sure you have a breakfast before you leave. Walks all over a rubbish motorway service station breakfast. And the bar was friendly and hospitable the night before. All in all a great place for families, couples and the single traveller. Was perfect for us as although family still needed our own privacy. We will be back next time we visit family.

  • patrick P

  • February 2015


We had a fantastic stay - our two large teenage children had a bedroom each and we all enjoyed a delicious cooked breakfast for £100 in total.

Wonderful value and the friendliest of welcomes. I could not fault it.

  • Georgia Ayling

  • February 2015

Lining the Poachers Pocket

The room was nice, comfy mattress and I was upgraded from a single to a small double as the accommodation was not full.

Breakfast, at £7.50 in addition to the £38 room rate, was ok but not great, and there was no decent coffee. I had originally booked for one night but asked to extend my stay. As I thought I'd be leaving early I asked whether any cereal could be left out - the manager said he could leave some cereal and long life milk in the residents lounge. When I came to pay for the 2 nighte he had added a further £7.50 for 'breakfast' to my bill, without discussion - the most expensive cereal and long life milk I'd ever have had, so I declined. I got back on the Sunday night and the heating was not on - the manager said that as I was the only person staying they were not going to turn it on, could I make do with the electric heater in the room. I suppose so. My partner was able to join me at the last minute and we had dinner in the restaurant. His pheasant was nice, my venison lasagne was disappointing, I was expecting a lovely red meat with a rich tomato/ red wine sauce, but instead the venison was minced into non existence and they had managed the difficult task of making venison tasteless. I asked the manager whether there would be any additional cost to my partner staying, and he added another £12 to the bill - despite no heating, the fact we were the only people staying, we had eaten in the restaurant and no breakfast was being thrown in. After pointing this out the manager said he would turn the heating on. So all in all, what a shame, on the one had I was upgraded and the room was nice (although for £45 with breakfast it should have been), but on the other hand there was scrimping and saving at every opportunity, the chance to make a quick buck on cereals and long life milk was disappointing, and none of the nice touches and generosity that make a place special. So no I wont be going back.

  • S Clydesdale

  • December 2014

Made to feel very welcome great time had by all will go back next year (big cider drinker)

  • Martin Radford

  • November 2014

Stayed on business for one week

My stay at the poachers pocket was more than I expected as graham and Jill made us feel very welcome.

Very hospitable and helpful.

The food was fantastic enjoying a hearty full English in the morning and a great evening meal. There is also plenty of parking around.

I would defiantly recommend the Poachers pocket to anyone and would mist defiantly stay there again.

Thanks again Graham and Jill all the best.


  • T Woods

  • October 2014

Poachers inn

very dated accommodation, very small rooms, not very clean as cobwebs everywhere.

Towels looked like they need to be bleached not looking refreshed. very cold in the room when radiators were off. The people were very very friendly and the food good.

My colleague travelling with me was moved to the deluxe room with a single bed and double bed but was ask not to sleep in the double bed, not heard that before. will I stay here again, definitely not.

  • steve w

  • October 2014

Friendly atmosphere and very inviting

Not walkable and on a busy A road, however very nice stay.

  • D Ray

  • September 2014

Practically Perfect in every Way!

A stop over on our way to Cornwall.

A good old fashioned Devonian welcome and hospitality. Lovely clean,comfortable and tidy rooms.

  • Tony S

  • August 2014

What a liitle gem!

What a little gem - warm welcome and shown to room by the landlord.

Quirky un-even floor in the bedroom just added character. Unpretentious menu with excellent home cooked food. Excellent value for money - we will be returning.