No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Boutique & Historic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Magdalen Chapter formerly The Edwardian West of England Eye Hospital has been transformed to offer all the sophistication of contemporary English living combined with true hospitality and opened in 2012.

In the heart of Exeter, a 15-minute walk from Exeter Central Rail Station, The Magdalen Chapter hotel is just 20 minutes’ drive from Exmouth.

Our interesting collection of bedrooms have been individually styled to respond to the charm of the room. Every room is bright and airy with beautful high celings. Each room has an iPad, and a Nespresso machine, not to mention the extraordinarily comfortable beds and indulgent bathrooms with generous REN toiletries.

The Restaurant with it’s theatre kitchen and stone hearth oven, offers a daily changing great British menu focusing on the changing seasons.

For a bit of indulgence, try the Spa nestled in the walled garden and enjoy pampering REN spa treatments.
A dip in the “ inside-out “pool is a must. The fireroom with inside pool is just the place to unwind, take a “pew” and enjoy the experience. For those that like the fresh air, slip through to our outside pool and take in that Devon air!
Fitness more your thing? Our state of the art fitness room has it all sewn up.

* We offer FREE use of WIFI and I pads

Arriving by car? The hotel have limited parking, and it is on a first come first served basis however The Magdalen Street car park is adjacent to the hotel where parking is free overnight (6pm-8am), and is subject to pay and display charges throughout the day.

Breakfast can be added to any room only rate at the booking stage for a discounted price of £7.50 per person.
Picture of The Magdalen Chapter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 137 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super hotel
The hotel, room and food were all of an outstanding standard. We were treated beautifully and had a lovely relaxing stay. Our only criticism is the spa needs improvement. Only a pool and treatment rooms available. Would have loved a steam room, jacuzzi or any other host of spa facilities.

Reviewed by
Jason Taylor

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant enough but not outstanding
Beds comfortable and general room décor pleasant but no wow factor. Main disappointment was the bathroom which had been designed for a wheelchair user. Whilst it is wonderful that the hotel has adapted rooms allowing access for all the adapted fittings were an inconvenience and did detract somewhat from the "boutique style" that the hotel sells itself on. Paying over £200 for a room one would expect to be advised if the room being booked was adapted.
Breakfast was included but service was extremely poor. Ended up having to ask for service not once but twice! Food was OK

Reviewed by
nicki a

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but Comfy
Yes the rooms are small but the bed was very comfortable, and the toiletries in the bathroom were devine. The complimentary mini bar was a waste of time. My fridge was wasn't very cold so all my drinks were warm.
Breakfast was hectic.We were warned it would be busy so to come for breakfast before 9. We turned up at 8.15 and waited 15 minutes for our food order to be taken. There wasn't a great choice of cereals, and we had to wait 15 mins for milk to be brought to our table for our tea and coffee.
The fitness room was a bit of a disappointment; 4 machines one of which was out of order and another occupied by one person for 40 minutes!
It is a nice hotel but I wouldn't rush to go back.

Reviewed by
C Eastgate

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Hotel and relaxing atmosphere.Ideal location in the center of Exeter for a city break.

Reviewed by
H Williams

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel
Hotel was really lovely old style with modern decor, staff very friendly and help full would deffinatly return to hotel had a great stay and spa area was very nice and clean.

Reviewed by
A noble

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There is no Parking facility. Hotel must make an arrangement with the Council to allow free parking in the Car Park

Reviewed by
A G Karim

From Little Chalfont, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Always enjoy staying here, so relaxing.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Banyard

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay, could have been great
I just stayed here for two nights this August and it was generally a very pleasant stay, I might stay again but there were a few minor points that, for the price of the accommodation might make me think twice. The room was large and quiet, the bed very comfortable and the bedding was excellent. Plenty of towels and I particularly liked all the different lighting options and the speakers in the bathroom. Another nice touch is the fresh milk in the fridge for making tea.
There were a few minor points... the ipad connection wasn't always reliable, it kept cutting out - we had to reset the tv and the ipad dock to get music to play. There was also an old tea/coffee stain going up the wall.. I couldn't easily find any information about when breakfast was served and it wasn't explained when we arrived, also, when you do arrive it's not that easy to spot reception - most hotels have a desk - this one has a piece of wood. It looks groovy but also looks a bit like a private meeting room..especially when you arrive tired...
I was a bit disappointed with breakfast - couldn't fault the staff, they are totally lovely but the actual cooked food is less than I was hoping for. Under done scrambled eggs, one piece of bacon, rather nasty mushrooms etc..
This is a nice hotel and I did have a lovely stay but having just stayed in a similarly priced hotel in London there were just these minor tweaks that could have turned a good stay into a fabulous one.

Reviewed by
H Murrie

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Very much luxury. Lovely rooms, great location. Wonderful gardens and pool. Helpful staff when we momentarily lost our 5 year old!

Reviewed by
J Mason

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why aye, canny hotel

Quite a surprise behind the auspicious looking facade.
The grounds of the hotel are surprisingly spacious and relaxing, with many areas inside and out for working / socialising / eating & drinking.
The hotel is very well decorated and our room was well laid out.
The free minibar went down a treat!
The ipads allocated to each room are a great idea, along with the rest of the great technology provisions in the room, including the mood lighting and very decent digital TV coverage.
Although there was no parking left outside the building by the time we arrived, there was a car park opposite, where it was possible to pay for the next morning in advance so as not to interrupt our lie-in.
Breakfast was lovely, with a great choice of a la carte options (we particularly recommend the Eggs Benedict, it's well yum).
We appreciated the easy going yet efficient nature of the staff.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone,

Reviewed by
L H F

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next