No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Boutique & Historic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Magdalen Chapter formerly The Edwardian West of England Eye Hospital has been transformed to offer all the sophistication of contemporary English living combined with true hospitality.
Our interesting collection of bedrooms have been individually styled to respond to the charm of the room. Each has an iPad, and a Nespresso machine, not to mention the extraordinarily comfortable beds and indulgent bathrooms with generous REN toiletries.
The Restaurant with it’s theatre kitchen and stone hearth oven, offers a daily changing great British menu focusing on the changing seasons.
For a bit of indulgence, try the Spa nestled in the walled garden and enjoy pampering REN spa treatments.
A dip in the “ inside-out “pool is a must. The fireroom with inside pool is just the place to unwind, take a “pew” and enjoy the experience. For those that like the fresh air, slip through to our outside pool and take in that Devon air!
Fitness more your thing? Our state of the art fitness room has it all sewn up.

* We offer FREE use of WIFI and I pads

Arriving by car? The hotel have very limited parking, and it is on a first come first served basis. The Magdalen Street car park is adjacent to the hotel where parking is free overnight (6pm-8am), and is subject to pay and display charges throughout the day. “
Picture of The Magdalen Chapter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 108 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great coffee!
Extras in the room were fab- a complimentary minibar, Nespresso coffee machine and nice toiletries. Room was a bit small, noisy and no view, but bed comfortable. Breakfast only average.

Reviewed by
c bird

From England
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Great Stay
A modern hotel in a great historic building, the former eye hospital. Friendly staff, spotlessly clean accommodation, comfortable bed and delicious breakfast. Other commitments did not allow us time to use the spa, but hopefully next time.

Reviewed by
Michael L

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Superb modern hotel in great city loved the pool decor and shared space (library living room area etc) really well planned out and operated a great experience and we even were able to take our dog and bowls and bed provided too. Couldn't have been better.

Reviewed by
lucy m

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel and the room was lovely. Great atmosphere in the place, yet we didnt enjoy our dinner :(

Reviewed by
c cahill

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A real treat
I was visiting my daughter who is in Exeter Uni and fancied giving myself and her a treat and boy did this happen. Stayed another night so was lucky enough to sample a wonderful meal in the beautiful restaurant. Class!! Enjoyed the whole experience, wonderful building which is interesting in itself, great outside space, loved the room and comfy bed, really fab staff creating a welcoming chilled and postive vibe in a stylish but warm and welcoming environment. Loved the art and the furnishings and the real log fires. I hope I can afford to return!!! xx

Reviewed by
Annette P

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great all round

Reviewed by
Peter G

From Padstow, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The team at the Magdalen Chapter were so welcoming, they made use feel relaxed immediately. Our room was spacious and quiet. My favourite thing about the room was the bathroom (random I know) but the bath was lovely and deep and the REN products smelt amazing! We sat out on the terrace for early evening drinks and breakfast - in March! Its lovely and sheltered so makes the most of any sunshine.
The central location is really handy for anyone who wants to explore Exeter.
I'd really recommend this hotel and would love to stay again.

Reviewed by
J Hill

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best hotel in Exeter
Always a pleasure to stay here and take a dip in the lovely warm pool. Food excellent, nice modern, clean room, Free newpaper, use of ipad and mini bar. Central location.

Reviewed by
sally h

From Sidmouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic boutique hotel
Friendly helpful staff, very clean room, comfy beds. Would definitely recommend. Looking forward to our next stay at this hotel.

Reviewed by
Jennifer C

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When recommendations go right
Needed a Hotel in Exeter and a friend recommended The Magdalen Chapter as a lovely boutique hotel - good recommendation

Reviewed by
L Clarke

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next