No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor Hotel

2AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Beacon , Exmouth , EX8 2AG
The Manor Hotel is a family run hotel and is in a enviable position situated on Exmouth's historic Regency Beacon. The Manor Hotel is just a few houses away from the former residence of Lady Nelson and Lady Byron. It was one of the first properties to be built on The Beacon and is in fact Exmouth's oldest hostelry dating back to the 1790's and was once visited by the composer Franz Liszt in 1840.

Just a short stroll to both the beach and the town with stunning sea views across the Exmouth bay. With the views, the history and calm location it is possible to forget how close the hotel is to the town which is bustling for shopping and accessible for the ease of walking to the seafront. The walk from the Marina to Orcombe Point is level with wonderful views towards Dawlish and Torbay.

The hotel is open all year round with all the front facing bedrooms have glorious sea views or Estuary views offering tradition family hospitality with wonderful fresh home cooked food. Suitable for just a holiday, break, working away, conference or wedding.
Picture of Manor Hotel, Exmouth  at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel is very dated. It is however comfortable. I spent the night in a twin room and the bed was fine. The breakfast looked fine but served cramped on a very small plate and although the plate was warm the food was not and quite tasteless.

Reviewed by
john d

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Good value for money. Clean, comfortable and well managed.

Reviewed by
Daphne L

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Couldn't ask for more :-)
Hotel in a great location in between the town and the beach. Lovely view from the room. Excellent breakfast ( not using cheap fatty bacon), but the best was that the staff were soooo friendly and couldn't be more helpful.

Reviewed by
Gary H

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Hotel, close to beach and town, beautiful sea views.
Decor a little dated, but peasant as it is.

Reviewed by
R Street

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The manor hotel
Very helpful staff, but hotel was very basic, towels were only hand towel size so if your bigger than a 10 the towel will go around, very noisy can hear everything from next room and above not good, floor boards sol creaky.

Reviewed by
Donna F

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in great location
This was a very last minute booking for one night only. I was made very welcome and I was pleased with the room considering the budget price I paid for the room. The linen and towels were of a good quality and the bathroom was very clean. I had a lovely sea view.
I am glad I did not travel by car as I would have found it difficult to park nearby. Very squeaky floorboards and an inconsiderate guest woke me during the night but this was made up for by the delicious breakfast.

Reviewed by
Heather D

From Bude, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room in good location!
The room was appropriate for my overnight stay. It is very close to the beach and the town and railway station is a short walk away. The room was a good size, well decorated and comfortable. It had two single beds. I found the room hot but left the window open. Unfortunately my room had no sea view. It had space to hang clothing and a desk. There was even a shower over the bath. Towels and bed linen were provided. Breakfast was served downstairs at a table especially reserved for you. Look for your surname on the table. Excellent breakfast choice and hot food was served hot. I did find that reception was not obvious when I arrived. It was around a corner out of the way. The host was very pleasant, friendly and approachable.

Reviewed by
Deborah B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This was our second stay and would certainly have no hesitation in booking again.

Reviewed by
Hazel B

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice, friendly hotel. Cannot fault it.

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Highly satisfactory experience.
We were upgraded and pleasantly surprised with our room: spacious, comfortable, with a view of the ocean. This surpassed our expectations and made a great end to our holiday (having had a disappointing experience at a different hotel). No complaints.

Reviewed by
Timothy W

From HARROW, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next