No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Osborne Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Wilder Road , Ilfracombe, EX34 9AQ
Ideally situated to explore Ilfracombe, The Osborne is a friendly family run hotel offering a warm welcome and fantastic value for money. With a wealth of sporting and leisure activities close by the hotel attracts families, couples and groups who enjoy the stunning views and rugged landscape of the North Devon coast. The location is also popular with golfing, clay shooting and fishing parties, with several local organisers providing organised trips and equipment hire to hotel guests for reduced rates. Boats to Lundy Island depart from the quay, a short walk from the hotel, giving nature enthusiasts with the ideal opportunity to study the local wildlife; whilst walkers will enjoy some of the finest country and coastal paths the Southwest has to offer.

The Hotel boasts 53 en suite bedrooms, a ballroom, dining-room, bar lounge, sauna, and a small games room. Our executive chef provides a mouth-watering menu of treats, with special group menu's available on request. We offer free gun storage for hunting parties, wet clothing storage for surfers, kayak enthusiasts and fishermen, plus nightly evening entertainment in the bar area.
Picture of The Osborne Hotel, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 73% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly, clean and quiet. Would recommend to any age.

Reviewed by
Philip M

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family with 2 children aged 12 and 10 overnight stay
Lovely themed hotel who offered friendly service. Had a few laughs especially when owner came out with musical instruments for us all to play. Bingo also a hot brow session. Felt at home here.

Reviewed by
A Kent

From Cirencester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel was clean. Comfortable beds. Very near the seaside.
Breakfast was freshly made. The customer service excellent.

Reviewed by
a akunda

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful.
Had the best time,was made to feel welcome, the evenings entertainment was brilliant, nick was an amazing entertainer he had us in stitches with his jokes and had an incredible voice,he is a true entertainer who made our holiday so enjoyable.

Reviewed by
sharon thomas

From Swansea, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly hotel
Lovely, clean and friendly hotel. Good size room. Could do with a shower attachment for bath and curtains that blocked the sun out, that would be my only thing to improve. Staff so welcoming would stay again.

Reviewed by
s smith

From london, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
everything satisfactory for a short break

Reviewed by
m oshea

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice family run hotel
Good value

Reviewed by
alan williams

From abercarn, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A place to return to.
Lovely people, very helpful and very welcoming, even laid a little spread on for the guest, which we thought was kind. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. I liked the fact that breakfast was included within the price - unfortunately we didn't get to sample the food as we were always on the go. I liked the idea that the car was securely locked in the garage for that added security. Also liked the additional history within the welcome folder in the room - was a good read. The only downside was - there is no WIFI, however on this occasion it wasnt a problem as we were never in due to the good old sightseeing and of course the beer festival...Will definitely return and one last thing to Nick you were correct I do play the guitar - I was so tempted to have a go on yours ha ha, also we took loads of scenic photographs so if you want a few, we have loads!

Reviewed by
melanie c

From Leicester, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Location & Friendly Hotel
The warm welcome that others have commented on was definitely evident, though it perhaps not so much in abundance. We certainly felt that we were made welcome though.
The room was adequate for a brief stay, but as is common with many older, privately run seaside hotels in Britain, this one is showing it's age and the general lack of maintenance and low budget decoration and furnishings.
Tea & coffee making facilities were provided, but on a very small pine shelf that was added to the room almost as an after-thought. Furnishings were mis-matched and looked they'd been bought at a boot sale. That's not necessarily a bad thing, but it does affect your perceptions of the room quality.
The room itself would have slept four, since it had a double and two single beds. We were a party of three and it felt a bit cramped when we were all in there.
The plug sockets were too far away from the mirrors according to my wife, who wanted to use her hair dryer, but found it really difficult.
Sleep quality wasn't great - fibre filled pillows were too lumpy and not at all comfortable, though the relatively firm bed was ok. Neither my wife nor I had a decent night's sleep due to the poor pillows.

Breakfast was good quality - served hot and how I requested it. In fact, it was one of the better breakfasts I've experienced in UK hotels.
We had to attend a wedding at the Tunnels Beaches and the location was perfect for that.
All in all, the experience was positive and pretty much met our expectations. Having used hotels like this for business stays previously, my expectations weren't that great. The staff and owners make up for the rooms. 100% for effort and hospitality.

Reviewed by
David C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service, but expensive place for the surroundings.
I feel the hotel was quite expensive for the surrounding area. Whilst the view was beautiful the shopping area left a lot to be desired. With only Fish and Chips or Chinese on offer in the evening. Most of the shops on the high street need a lot of work. The hotel itself could do with a bit of work where the plaster seems to be coming away. Wi-fi might help as well.

Reviewed by
Natalie Morgan

From Edgware, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next