No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Valley of Rocks Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Lee Road , Lynton, EX35 6AB
The Valley of Rocks Hotel located in the picturesque village of Lynton on the North Devon Coast, this early Victorian Hotel retains many aspects of its original charm. There is an impressive atrium in the lounge, where entertainment is provided most evenings. It is located within Exmoor National Park, in the heart of the village of Lynton, overlooking the twinned village of Lynmouth, known as Little Switzerland. The Villages are linked by a masterpiece of early engineering, The Cliff Railway, built in 1890. There are good local amenities and stunning scenic walks only minutes away. All rooms in the hotel are en suite with many enjoying scenic views of the Bristol Channel to Wales. The Valley of Rocks is the ideal location for walkers or those who simply wish to explore the natural beauty of the surrounding areas.

The Hotel's onsite parking is very limited and charged at a rate of £5 per/vehicle per/day, this is subject to availability upon arrival and cannot be pre-booked. There is a public car park nearby and street parking is also available.
Picture of The Valley of Rocks Hotel, Lynton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 77% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
Excellent location and very good value for money. Friendly staff and more than adequate breakfast.

Reviewed by
Kim M

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic view
The view from our room was great, the hotel could do with a bit of updating but given its age and position is more than worth visiting, room was clean staff were friendly the breakfast could be improved but I am fussy (Beans/Hash browns are for Americans.Mushrooms/Black pudding for us Brits).All in all Great Value.

Reviewed by
colin e

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky
The on duty receptionist was very friendly and helpful although he did forget to tell us about the arrangement for checking if everyone was in and the doors would then be locked. Fortunately read about it in another review. Agree with other reviewers that the hotel is jaded and in need of rejuvenation. Bedding and towels clean. The biggest shock and disappointment was the lack of a shower in both the single rooms I booked. If I had booked for more than one night and paid the full rate I would have been livid. Got a good price and the weather was brilliant so I thought of it as a Fawlty Towers experience and laughed it off.

Reviewed by
Steven W

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay

Reviewed by
Dariusz P

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great historic hotel in beautiful location

Reviewed by
john p

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice hotel good position staff very helpful we all three loved it

Reviewed by
P Clemons

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay. Nice hotel. Close to shops and church next door. Good area.

Reviewed by
L R

From Andover, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short stay
Had a short B&B stay. Considering the price it was good value and reasonable accommodation.

Reviewed by
Colin D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming Victorian hotel, a bit tired but full of character
We booked this 2 hours before arriving via Late Rooms at £29 for 2 including breakfast. The location was great in the centre of the village, as our stay was out of season the parking in the street was free so we didn't have to pay the £5 the hotel charge for their private car park.
On arrival the receptionist was most helpful as we had 2 mountain bikes on the car so she allowed us to store these in the hotel, it was no trouble at all.
The foyer and the lounge area are very impressive and when we arrived there was a quiz and some music being played, the corridors to the rooms are like a rabbit warren and in need of some TLC.
Our bedroom was huge, a strange shape but very big. Pleasantly decorated in keeping with the age of the hotel, it was clean and warm and i think it had a kingsize bed.
We ventured into the local pub for a drink and didn't leave our key at reception so the front doors were locked when came home, the security guard was OK with us (it was our mistake at the end of the day).
Good nights sleep, very peaceful. Opened the curtains to discover a sea view!
Breakfast was 8am to 9am a bit early for us but lots of tea/coffee and toast and an average full English, the restaurant has a sea view too.
Overall very pleasant stay, don't be put off by the reviews of the corridors. Shearings use this for their coach holidays so it can't be that bad and for £29 for 2 including breaksfast this was the bargain of the week for us, to bookl via the hotel would have cost more than £70 for the same stay!

Reviewed by
karen h

From Wolverhampton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute break
A very warm welcome at the reception on a blustery wet day. Room had recently been refurbished. Room was warm & clean and had a wonderful view, Nice Bathroom with shower over the Bath. Food was good value for money and the restaurant service was excellent. Entertainment was a bonus and a good evening was had by all. Downside lack of parking and the the Hallways& paintwork are needing updating which is ongoing.

Reviewed by
S LEAVEY

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next