Reviews - The Valley of Rocks Hotel


Lee Road, Lynton, EX35 6AB

Price From 75.36 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (11)

82% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • R Jones

  • March 2015

One night stay booking with laterooms

Staff were excellent, rooms were clean, breakfast was good.

Room was past the need to be refurbished and I would be embarrassed to have a guest stay here. Example was the bathroom tiles put up using staples, rusty fittings and corroded mirror. TV was also very poor. Yes we only paid £59.99 with laterooms but you would expect the same quality rooms that a full paying guest had that had booked in advance. Also we were not able to eat in for a evening meal. I feel we were treated as second class and would not want to book with laterooms or stay in this hotel again

I will finish to say the staff were more than helpful, friendly and kind.

  • Kim M

  • December 2014

Excellent location

Excellent location and very good value for money.

Friendly staff and more than adequate breakfast.

  • colin e

  • December 2014

Fantastic view

The view from our room was great, the hotel could do with a bit of updating but given its age and position is more than worth visiting, room was clean staff were friendly the breakfast could be improved but I am fussy (Beans/Hash browns are for Americans.Mushrooms/Black pudding for us Brits).All in all Great Value.

  • Steven W

  • June 2014


The on duty receptionist was very friendly and helpful although he did forget to tell us about the arrangement for checking if everyone was in and the doors would then be locked.

Fortunately read about it in another review. Agree with other reviewers that the hotel is jaded and in need of rejuvenation. Bedding and towels clean. The biggest shock and disappointment was the lack of a shower in both the single rooms I booked. If I had booked for more than one night and paid the full rate I would have been livid. Got a good price and the weather was brilliant so I thought of it as a Fawlty Towers experience and laughed it off.

  • Dariusz P

  • June 2014

Great stay

  • john p

  • May 2014

great historic hotel in beautiful location

  • P Clemons

  • March 2014

very nice hotel good position staff very helpful we all three loved it

  • L R

  • December 2013

Lovely place to stay.

Nice hotel. Close to shops and church next door. Good area.

  • Colin D

  • November 2013

Short stay

Had a short B&B stay.

Considering the price it was good value and reasonable accommodation.

  • karen h

  • November 2013

Charming Victorian hotel, a bit tired but full of character

We booked this 2 hours before arriving via Late Rooms at £29 for 2 including breakfast.

The location was great in the centre of the village, as our stay was out of season the parking in the street was free so we didn't have to pay the £5 the hotel charge for their private car park.

On arrival the receptionist was most helpful as we had 2 mountain bikes on the car so she allowed us to store these in the hotel, it was no trouble at all.

The foyer and the lounge area are very impressive and when we arrived there was a quiz and some music being played, the corridors to the rooms are like a rabbit warren and in need of some TLC.

Our bedroom was huge, a strange shape but very big. Pleasantly decorated in keeping with the age of the hotel, it was clean and warm and i think it had a kingsize bed.

We ventured into the local pub for a drink and didn't leave our key at reception so the front doors were locked when came home, the security guard was OK with us (it was our mistake at the end of the day).

Good nights sleep, very peaceful. Opened the curtains to discover a sea view.

Breakfast was 8am to 9am a bit early for us but lots of tea/coffee and toast and an average full English, the restaurant has a sea view too.

Overall very pleasant stay, don't be put off by the reviews of the corridors. Shearings use this for their coach holidays so it can't be that bad and for £29 for 2 including breaksfast this was the bargain of the week for us, to bookl via the hotel would have cost more than £70 for the same stay.