No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Harrow Inn

3AA Assessed Inn Ratings explained
High Street, Wanborough, , Swindon, SN4 0AE
The Harrow Inn is by far the oldest in Wanborough, with parts dating back to 1747 when it was known as the "Harrow and Kings Head". Originally all ales would have been brewed on site, but this activity ceased in 1863 when the then owner leased the Harrow Inn to Arkells Brewery for 10 years, which prompted the sale of the brewing equipment. The thatched stone building retains much of its original charm, with its thatched roof, exposed beams and inglenook fires that are all still in use today. Come and experience a relaxing and enjoyable stay at The Harrow in one of our converted forge rooms There are 2 double rooms and one twin room, each with en-suite bathrooms. The twin room has been converted with disabled access in mind, complete with a walk-in shower area. The Harrow Inn offers a great dining experience. We source premium quality produce from as many local producers and suppliers as possible, prepared and cooked by a small but dedicated team led by our chef Ian. Our aim is to provide great food,that is prepared and cooked in the premises including the desserts. Why not chose The Harrow Inn as your perfect base to explore Swindon, we will look forward to welcoming you.
Picture of The Harrow Inn, Swindon at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location, food amazing, staff very helpful.
Very relaxing weekend break. Plenty of parking, room clean with tv and kettle etc. Shower awesome. Food was much higher quality than anticipated. Breakfast served piping hot. Staff very friendly and helpful. Free wifi which worked in pub but in room was a bit more of a challenge but with mobile reception struggling too that's country life for you. Very comfortable stay reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
Caren H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Stay
Nice room, nice food, nice location..Good family business.

Reviewed by
G Davies

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Harrow
The Harrow is a fantastic place to stay with excellent food, accommodation and service. The converted outbuildings provide comfortable, modern accommodation - perfect for a brief visit. I prefer to stay in places with character rather than the sterile environments provided by the chain hotels competing at this price level. The Harrow has character in abundance: real ales, locally-sourced food and a menu inspired by the head chef/owner, Ian. I'll definitely be going back.

Reviewed by
R Phillips

From Sale, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable stay

Reviewed by
Dennis G

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Stay in Distinctive Old Inn.
Nice and very clean and modern. The room is in a converted forge close to the pub. Friendly staff & good beer - we had the Christmas menu which was excellent. Breakfast is served in the bar (better if the fire had been lit). Good value - the food isn't cheap but it is high quality .

Reviewed by
Chris W

From UK
Who stayed in December 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1st Class Pub and Hotel
I don’t normally do reviews, However, recently stayed at the harrow on a stopover between journeys. Normally stay at chain hotels but chose this for convenience. Glad I did the landlady and her staff all friendly and helpful. Nothing too much trouble Food spot on! Room’s warm and cosy, Faultless stay -Thank you

Reviewed by
darren h

From Wigan, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Real Find
We stopped at The Harrow as an overnght stay on the way back from taking Grandaughter to Uni in Swansea. We were made very welcome, the beds were really comffy, food very good ad i don't know B&B's that offer scrambled eggs with smoked salmon as just one of the breakfast choices. Looking forward to going back there.

Reviewed by
Frances Gordon

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Character pub offering excellent accommodation & service
This was a real jewel to find if you like quality quirky combined with excellent service. I've already recommended to colleagues and friends.
The real clincher was the fresh home made bread!

Reviewed by
R Buchanan

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent room and well decorated. Good shower though an enthusiastic shower head lead to a puddle! Only odd thing was the room door was directly opposite the door to the pub. This was fine though I did feel a bit exposed. Very old building so minimal noise disruption on this front. Very friendly and swift service.

Reviewed by
S Allen

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little gem
what a lovely weekend we spent here i cant praise it enough.The staff were helpful and friendly, as were the locals, the accomodation was spotless and modern, the food was excellent and a good choice on the menu.this is a super base to explore the cotswolds well done vicky and chef it all stems from good management it was like staying with friends.

Reviewed by
bronwen keelan

From pontypridd, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next