No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The York Hotel

2Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
SeaFront, 1-3 St Margarets Terrace, Weston Super Mare, BS23 1AH
Welcome to The York Hotel Weston super Mare in Somerset, a beautifully styled hotel on the seafront. Commanding a premier position opposite Weston Pier it combines breathtaking design with warm, friendly service and stunning sea views across Weston Bay.

Please Note; A credit/debit card is required to confirm booking and charged first night stay deposit, balance on arrival. All cancellations subject to £7.95 per room admin fee. Less than 7 days notice, you are not eligible to a refund and full payment payable.
Picture of The York Hotel, Weston Super Mare at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
74% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible experience, avoid at all costs
We stayed here last week before xmas and I would struggle to find anything good to say about this hotel.
Firstly we checked in late and the man at the bar seemed annoyed we were even there. We were told we had to pay the entire bill upfront plus we had to put down a £10 deposit to use the remote control???!!! Really!!!
There was a very loud party happening from a tour group which could be heard everywhere. No way anyone could get any sleep while that was happening.
The room was shocking, so dated and worn out it really was a state. The bed was lumpy and extremely uncomfortable. The sink is in the room so no privacy at all. The toilet was filthy and the shower was clearly the same one installed 20 years ago. The walls are paper thin so you can her everything your neighbours and talking about.
In the morning the hotel is VERY noisy from approx. 6-30am so do not expect to get a nice lie in.
We were booked in for 2 nights and I refused to even stay there on the second night.
On checkout my husband was then accused by the lady that we were lying about having actually paid the deposit for the remote control and had to insist we have our money returned to us. The women repeatedly asked him if we were telling the truth!!! Shockingly bad customer service considering this was their mistake and not ours.
A total JOKE of a hotel. I would NEVER stay here again and find it impossible to believe anyone could have experiences a good stay here.

Reviewed by
c henderson

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Winter Holiday
The owners and staff were lovely and friendly, made us very welcome. The hotel is in a fabulous position right on the sea front. Our room was on the first floor and was easy to access right by the lift. we could see the beach from our window which was great too. The room was clean and comfortable with plenty of space although it could do with a little updating regarding furniture and décor. However it was fine for us . The restaurant was superb and we enjoyed the breakfast very much.

Reviewed by
J Jones

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were friendly and helpful. The room was clean, spacious and warm although the mattrass sloped, a bit like sleeping on a hillside. Breakfast was disappointing.

Reviewed by
jed purkis

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great base for a weekend
We stayed at the York for a couple of nights in October 2014 and it was very good. Check in was quick and easy. Room was perfect for needs. Bar and restaurant were brill. Good drinks and a very good quality meal , quick , no fuss. Breakfast good Would definitely stay again next time in town.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Situation excellent and staff very kind and helpful

Reviewed by
christine k

From Street, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room could of been nicer but staff friendly and ideal location

Reviewed by
Lisa H

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was in the bassment

Reviewed by
elizabeth marie francis

From Aylesbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lads weekend
Was ok for what we wanted, good sea view, enough towels, bath only with shower head that was crap, no curtain/cubicle or lock on door, could be #awkward! Apart from that would stay again!

Reviewed by
Mike w

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Value for money accommodatiion

Reviewed by
sue taylor

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just not interested
Although the receptionist let us check in early which was very kind she was on the phone to what was clearly a friend for the whole time we were in the office. We were not told where our room was and when we asked for a second key we were told it had been lost. The lights did work in our room which was not their fault but we did not feel we could tell any body. Not the worst experience ever but we certainly didn't feel welcome.

Reviewed by
Bethany W

From Newport Pagnell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next