The ROSE and CROWN

3

CHURCH ROAD, BRADFORD ABBAS Dorset, SHERBORNE, DT9 6RF

Price From 95.68 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (26)

88% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Heather D

  • November 2014

Don't miss this Gem of a place to stay.

This is a really great place to stay.

Peaceful country walks if you want them, close to beautiful Sherborne for shopping easy parking. More importantly, you will receive a very warm welcome from Mary Ashby and her entire team. This is a gem of a place to stay with good food and friendly staff, I will be going back and telling friends and family to visit. Try it for yourself you have nothing to lose!

  • Antony F

  • November 2014

What a lovely surprise

This is the warmest, and unobtrusive, welcome I have received for many years.

The service throughout our stay was friendly, attentive, kind and all the other qualities you could ask for. The food was wonderful and so treasonably priced. The whole place was clean and in excellent decorative order. A huge well done to Mary for training a great team and running such a wonderful pub and B&B. The rooms were very comfortable, well decorated and spacious - having a shared bathroom presented no problems, especially as one room had a wash basin.

  • R Walker

  • October 2014

Three bedrooms had a single bathroom which we did not realise until we had agreed to stay.

The bar, immediately below our room , was open until midnight and very noisy. The Wifi did not work. The breakfast was excellent

  • J Moore

  • September 2014

Warm and welcoming

We stayed here over the August Bank Holiday whilst taking part in a local show.

Maggie and her team were welcoming and friendly. Nothing was a problem and they were always happy to help.

  • Judith G

  • August 2014

In the heart of Hardy country

A very pleasant stay .

A warm welcome and a very caring landlady . Beautiful countryside around , we would go again .

  • George G

  • August 2014

Dont stay over on a skittles night

Mary is a grand lady and the staff are very helpful but the rooms are directly over the bar and you would not believe how rowdy a skittles team can be .I had a job interview the next day so it was not the best prep.

However the food was reasonable if a little over priced for what was basic fair, if you want a good laugh and have the time to join in with the locals you could do a lot worse ,if however your not to keen on bri,nylon sheets and want a good nights sleep i would suggest you look elsewhere. hard to justify £60 a night. great brekky though . sorry i could not be more positive

  • Sylvia S

  • August 2014

Full of charm!

A lovely welcoming Pub in a charming village.

The room was comfortable but remember to take a dressing gown as the bathroom is shared. Landlady very friendly and we had the biggest cooked breakfast ever.

  • John P

  • July 2014

The friendly Rose and Crown

My wife and I spent 5 nights at the Rose and Crown whilst house hunting.

The location was central to our search being near Sherborne and Yeovil. This is one of the most friendly village pubs I have visited. This atmosphere is generated by the charismatic owner who runs a very tight ship. All her staff take a personal interest in guests as though they were visitors in their own homes. She likes to talk to her guests and encourages them to meet the many locals who visited the pub throughout our stay. They respond by greeting visitors with open friendliness and cheery welcome. The service was excellent and the food very good indeed. The cooked breakfast menu was huge and a good system of ticking choices and time the night before ensured speedy delivery to the table. It far outshone the quality of any hotel I have stayed in. Quantity is mentioned in other reviews and I can add similar views as we had to ask for smaller quantities after we were beaten by our first dinner. Bedrooms are small but adequate and the beds comfortable. We also liked watching the chickens over the road which were a constant amusement. Note the booking in time between 11 am and 3.00pm and then from 6.30pm Guests have a door key allowing free access throughout your stay. One point to note is that rooms are not ensuite, but we had no problem sharing the spotless facilities with others. A further nice touches were the many personal memorabilia ,ornaments and fresh flowers adorning public rooms and Mary's garden where herbs and produce are grown. The large beer garden near the garden is most attractive. We may not stay in the Rose and Crown again but we will drop in for a pint because we are hoping to buy a house in the village.

  • Nicole S

  • June 2014

Great Hospitality - Fantastic Cooked Breakfast

Beautiful traditional village pub.

Lovely location. Great landlady. Shared bathroom but that was ok as we had booked all of the rooms. Would make a great stay for any family/group needing to book all of the rooms.

  • Ben C

  • June 2014

Lovely owner

Owner was amazing.

Only negative is a shared bathroom but this didn't matter as the customer service was brilliant.