No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ash Hotel

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ash Hotel, 1 Mamhead View, , Exmouth, EX8 1DS
ASH HOTEL is your home away from home! We guarantee you a warm welcome and a relaxed and friendly stay in our bed and breakfast accommodation. Situated on the Exmouth seafront, the Ash Hotel is around a 5-minute walk from Exmouth Rail Station. Buses can be caught metres from the building, and there is free Wi-Fi . With views of the town or the coast, rooms are simply decorated with plenty of storage space. Each comes with Freeview TV and facilities for making tea and coffee, as well as a bathroom with toiletries and a hairdryer. Breakfast is provided in the dining room, which benefits from picturesque sea views. Alternatively, a range of restaurants can be reached in 5 minutes or less on foot. It is a 30-minute walk to the World of Country Life, where you can see birds of prey and children can walk goats. Phear Park is less than 2 miles from Ash Hotel.Ash Hotel is on the sea front, overlooking Exmouth beach, close to the marina and is only 5 minutes walk from Exmouth town centre & train/bus station. All rooms are beautifully decorated, spotlessly clean and comfortable. Check-in time:-From 2.30PM to till 8.30PM ( Please inform your arrival time) Express check-in available{please contact 07919253532} Check-out time:- By 10.30 AM Cancellation policy:- If cancelled up to one day before the date of arrival,no fee will be charged. If cancelled or modified later or in case of no show,the total price of the reservation will be charged
Picture of Ash Hotel, Exmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
70% recommended this accommodation to a friend 70% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

check in
no one there to open door as staff was late to report duty.
2 phone numbers on board no answer. 3rd number referred to no answer

Reviewed by
R Leung

From honolulu, hawaii, USA
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Although room was clean,breakfast was poor we had to ask for most things.,only hotel I have ever stayed in that gave us 1 pat of butter at a time.nothing written down and no choice given and small amounts . I would not recomend this hotel. Although we were told it was free parking on the streets,we could not find any spaces and in the end had to park on the seafront quite a way away from the hotel.This is not ideal for older people.

Reviewed by
David Bulley

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

would recommend highly
Great stay great room great breakfast great value would definately stay again

Reviewed by
Claire P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived slightly early. Knocked for ages, then had to phone a mobile and wait to be let in
won't be back

Reviewed by
t hoskin

From Exmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What was going on!?
Sorry to say we were very unhappy about our stay. The house smelled very damp and musty and carpets, especially in our room, were rather dirty. But worst of all was the commotion that continued literally halfway through the night, we think basically by 'management'. We were woken after 1.30 am by 'management' knocking on our door to say he was going out (as far as we could understand) and then, off and on for the next 2 or 3 hours there was a lots of loud conversations (on the landings or just outside the house) and much coming and going of people. Needless to say we were very irritated and got very little sleep. By the morning we'd had enough and left without breakfast though I did make our feelings known. In terms of accommodation and the night's rest it afforded us it was extremely poor and, from our experience, would recommend that it be avoided at all costs.

Reviewed by
Phil P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
We stayed in Ash hotel on a Saturday night. We were attending a friends wedding near by. I was very pleased with my stay at Ash hotel. There was not a problem with parking as got a space outside, plus there is plenty of spaces on the sea front. We had a warm welcome and for the price of our stay, £25 pound per person including a full cooked breakfast, I was very impressed. The room was very comfortable with ensuite and flat screen telly. We slept very well and it was peaceful. I would definately stay again, thank you.

Reviewed by
G Gratton

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everything fine except waiting 20 minutes to actually get into the hotel!!!!!!!!!!!

Reviewed by
Jim Ward

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would'nt go back there
Firstly Car Parking is very poor, Nowhere to park unless you are lucky enough to find a space on the sea front, chargeable at £1 per a hour, Max stay three hours, no return within 4 hours, was riding around for ages after 2 hours stay on sea front only had enough change for 2 hours, after 6pm car parking free till 9am on sea front. Was not greeted very well when we managed to park up (Eventually) took a good 10 mins to get someones attention at the front door, Nothing to say what time breakfast was from - till, Wasnt shown our room also toilet and bathroom, had to find ourselves.
Found Chip paper stuffed underneath bed not very clean.
Wouldn't reccomend staying there again......

Reviewed by
A Woodall

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were very satisfied. The owner met us at the door and explained the door keys.Then showed us our room and the facilities.Every thing was very clean and tidy.Could not fault it.Would definitely
us it again.

Reviewed by
david moulton

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

When I arrived to the hotel on Thursday evening (about 9.55pm) the front door of the hotel was locked and I had to call the owner to let me in despite telling him I would be arriving at 10pm. It took him 10-15mins to get to the hotel and a further 10mins to find my room key!
The room was quite dirty and the tea making facilities consisted of a half full box of tea bags, a kettle and a few sugars!
In the morning I woke up and had a cold shower as there was no hot water! I was out most of the day and when I got back my room door was open a fraction! Room service had been in and not closed my door! This was quite a bit concern as my room was the first one you see after coming through the front door of the hotel and all my belonging were in that room! When I questioned the staff about this, he replied with 'dont worry, this hotel is very safe!' And I didnt receive an apology.
The only positive about this hotel is the excellent location, other than that I have nothing good to say about it or the staff!

Reviewed by
K Boyce

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next