No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel and Carvery

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 Babbacombe Downs Road, Babbacombe, Torquay, TQ1 3LQ
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel is situated on the picturesque Babbacombe Downs in Torquay, at the heart of the English Riviera. We pride ourselves in offering good value, quality accommodation. The spacious hotel rooms have stunning views, with most overlooking the bay. Double and twins rooms are available for short breaks or longer stays and are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, flat screen TV's, tea & coffee making facilities and free wi-fi. Click here to view our rooms.
Breakfast is not included within the Laterooms.com price but is available whilst at the hotel from 09:00hrs

If you are looking for a place to eat in Babbacombe, The Royal offers lunches and evening meals from an extensive menu. The lunchtime Carvery, renowned locally, offers a choice of delicious hand carved meats served with fresh seasonal vegetables. All food is prepared using the freshest, local ingredients by our highly experienced chefs.
Picture of Royal Hotel and Carvery, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Early checkout !!!!!!
Everything was excellent . BUT the checking out time was exceptionally early we thought. Our usual checkout time is no earlier than 12 o'clock wherever we have been on our travels . Maybe they could make it later you wouldn't have to rush so much . Thanks for the stay though lovely !!!!!!

Reviewed by
p stokes

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Lovely room, excellent evening meal, perfect breakfast, friendly staff, all at a reasonable price.

Reviewed by
Wendy S

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We will stay again
The room we had was huge, very very clean and had everything you need for a short break. The room was also very quiet ans we slept really well
The staff were friendly and helpful and nothing was to much trouble for them.
The view from the hotel was amazing.
We will be booking to stay there again.

Reviewed by
Kimberly Stockham

From Hengoed, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best in Babbacombe
Great stay for our 40th wedding anniversary- room fab and spotless with a lovely view of the Downs. Can only recommend the Royal as a great place to stay for the weekend.

Reviewed by
Linda Kelsey

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Coastal breaks
Excellent value for money

Reviewed by
Barbara Martin

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
had a lovely holiday staff were nice.roomwas lovely amd clean.great views of yhe bay. breakfastwould recommend it was very nice.a great experience

Reviewed by
janet caines

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay at Royal Hotel
My friend and I visited Torquay for a friend's wedding, August '14. We were a bit anxious because of the bad reputation that Torquay has, however we were not disappointed!
We were shown to our room, which was extremely clean, the bathroom appeared to be brand new, the view was beautiful, beds were comfy, tea/coffee facilities too.
We didn't eat there so we can't comment on the food. We really enjoyed staying there and we are planning on returning in Apr/May

Reviewed by
F Danks

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had the largest room with the bath and shower and could not have asked for a nicer room .
the staff were lovely and the meals we had were excellent

Reviewed by
annette patrick

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel food good room with sea view was fab will stay again also good evening with great entertainment.We had a good laugh with the locals. Oh and must mention our bed very very comfortable best night sleep we have had for ages. Keep up the good work guys.

Reviewed by
c kasza

From barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything was just perfect will deffinatley be staying here again

Reviewed by
J Coniff

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next