No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Hotel and Carvery

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
31 Babbacombe Downs Road, Babbacombe, Torquay, TQ1 3LQ
The Babbacombe Royal Hotel is situated on the picturesque Babbacombe Downs in Torquay, at the heart of the English Riviera. We pride ourselves in offering good value, quality accommodation. The spacious hotel rooms have stunning views, with most overlooking the bay. Double and twins rooms are available for short breaks or longer stays and are equipped with en-suite bathrooms, flat screen TV's, tea & coffee making facilities and free wi-fi. Click here to view our rooms.
Breakfast is not included within the Laterooms.com price but is available whilst at the hotel from 09:00hrs

If you are looking for a place to eat in Babbacombe, The Royal offers lunches and evening meals from an extensive menu. The lunchtime Carvery, renowned locally, offers a choice of delicious hand carved meats served with fresh seasonal vegetables. All food is prepared using the freshest, local ingredients by our highly experienced chefs.
Picture of Royal Hotel and Carvery, Torquay at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 35 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great location
had a lovely holiday staff were nice.roomwas lovely amd clean.great views of yhe bay. breakfastwould recommend it was very nice.a great experience

Reviewed by
janet caines

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay at Royal Hotel
My friend and I visited Torquay for a friend's wedding, August '14. We were a bit anxious because of the bad reputation that Torquay has, however we were not disappointed!
We were shown to our room, which was extremely clean, the bathroom appeared to be brand new, the view was beautiful, beds were comfy, tea/coffee facilities too.
We didn't eat there so we can't comment on the food. We really enjoyed staying there and we are planning on returning in Apr/May

Reviewed by
F Danks

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we had the largest room with the bath and shower and could not have asked for a nicer room .
the staff were lovely and the meals we had were excellent

Reviewed by
annette patrick

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel food good room with sea view was fab will stay again also good evening with great entertainment.We had a good laugh with the locals. Oh and must mention our bed very very comfortable best night sleep we have had for ages. Keep up the good work guys.

Reviewed by
c kasza

From barnsley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

everything was just perfect will deffinatley be staying here again

Reviewed by
J Coniff

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room. Great pub downstairs.

Reviewed by
Lisa O

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend away
Stayed here while frequenting a local show.. First class accommodation and facilities. Coiuldnt fault anything with Hotel at all.. Great service and food. very friendly staff. Very quiet location.Cliff top location not ideal for beach lovers and be warned the walk back from Torquay town centre is SERIOUSLY up hill.

Reviewed by
K Watson

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel
Lovely staff, excellent value for money, food was gorgeous. Travel to Torquay for business meetings, will stay at the hotel from now on.

Reviewed by
L Morgan

From Newport, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chilly welcome
Hotel (including my room) was cold when I arrived. I raised the thermostat on the radiator (which should have been done for me) and plugged in the oil-filled radiator, This just about raised the temperature of the room to an acceptable level by midnight.
I asked when I could have breakfast the following morning, to be told that breakfast was served only between 09.00 and 09.30. This information appears nowhere on the website. I pleaded for at least a piece of toast, to be told by the only person on duty that this was not possible. "I wouldn't get paid if I came in early and the chef wouldn't like someone else in his kitchen", she said. She was at least apologetic. She also told me that there were plenty of cafes open along the road, which proved to be untrue. I had to do a full day's work without anything except the cup of tea I made for myself. The hotel next door had a dining room full of people having breakfast at 08.15.

Reviewed by
Helen G

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant stay
Wifey and I stayed for one night out of season (to see our team thrash Torquay FC!), we booked online and got a reasonable deal, the booking process was painless.
The accommodation was good, the bedroom was huge, tastefully decorated and was spotless. The bed was huge as well.
We would be happy to stay there again.
The breakfast was really really nice, well cooked and presented and good portions. Bang on!

Reviewed by
Paul H

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next