No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Grand Atlantic Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
32 BEACH ROAD , WESTON-SUPER-MARE, BS23 1BA

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Beach 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Grand Atlantic Hotel is one of the most popular hotels in Weston Super Mare, a truly iconic Victorian hotel with turrets, towers and stunning views across the sea. A stone's throw away from the sandy beach and a short stroll from the town centre the hotel has maintained its charm and character. It boasts an elegant reception and lounge area and also offers a restaurant and bar overlooking the seafront. Full English Breakfast served in the Restaurant from 8.00am (Continental Breakfasts are offered at earlier times)
With 71 rooms all with en suite bathrooms, sea view rooms are available at a supplement and a recently refurbished restaurant with picturesque views across the sea and complimentary Wi-Fi in public lounges and ample onsite car parking free of charge.
Suitable for families and couples, The Grand Atlantic Hotel is the perfect location for hotel breaks in Weston Super Mare.
Picture of The Grand Atlantic Hotel, WESTON-SUPER-MARE at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 113 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 82% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very very disappointing would not stay again.
The entrance to the hotel was dirty. Although we had an upgrade the room was very very shabby. Bed and pillows tired, the coloured throw and matching cushions was dirty and stained. The window frame was absolutely filthy with black mould and did not close properly. The bathroom had a bad small, the wash basin taps was loose, the loo roll holder was broken and the tiles behind the toilet were broken. The shower curtain was disgusting and one wanted to ensure no part of it touched your body. The bedroom furniture was chipped and stained and the carpet was sticky one did not want to tread on it with bare feet! The door handle to our room was broken and it was challenging to say the least to manage to gain access to the room.
The dinning room was shabby and very tired the cushions were stained and seating areas dirty. When we requested to sit at a window table where the air was fresher and the seating was slightly cleaner, it was not received well and after the waitress tried her utmost to dissuade us against the move it was not happily received when we insisted we moved. The food was not to the standard we would expect and my cutlery had to be changed because some of it was dirty!
The waitresses were not particularly happy and the young man who was serving had a dirty apron and a scruffy shirt although he was very pleasant in his manner.
All in all we felt like we had landed in an episode of Faulty Towers every about the hotel is run down scruffy and clearly lacks maintenance in all public areas and certainly in our room. The breakfast was what could be termed 'greasy spoon quality' indeed very poor !
Clearly we are very very disappointed even at the discounted rate because the hotel was so dirty and shabby this is such a shame as it was a prestige hotel years ago. We would never stay there again and would recommend that it is a hotel to avoid. First impressions count and if management cannot ensure they have the front steps to the hotel kept clean and inviting they do not deserve to be in business.

Reviewed by
C Harris

From Bewdley, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel set right on the seafront. The only critical thing I can say is that we were put in a room overlooking a wall and lower roof. However we booked through Late rooms.com and was probably the only room left so can't really complain. Rest of hotel was very plush and food in restaurant excellent.

Reviewed by
S Mayne

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
Staff were lovely, upgraded us to a sea view room upon arrival, said the room was small but had a sea view. Was still a fine size, excellent facilities. The hotel is clearly very old but that didn't detract from our stay!

Reviewed by
S James

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel really needs a face lift. The shower was dirty, toilet wouldn't flush!! No spoons with cup & saucers. In restaurant
Staff were friendly enough and food was of a good standard just a shame about the rooms being very dated

Reviewed by
Diane J

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff very obliging and courteous.

Reviewed by
Judy Hampson

From Southam, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money, hotel slightly dated but clean.

Reviewed by
John Wardell

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Last minute trip in the sun
On arrival we were given upgrades to sea view double rooms which was very much appreciated. The hotel was clean, tidy and welcoming and everything we wanted.

Reviewed by
R Beadle

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No Internet and disappointing issues over dinner
This hotel is easy to find, has good parking and is right on the front with fab views. The reception service was slow - they had only one member of staff working and she was tied up with a complicated enquiry but didn't acknowledge us for some time.
There is no internet in the rooms and the wi-fi in the lobby was poor, worse in the bar area.
Rooms were clean and neat - a little old-fashioned but that was the nature of the place, I think.
We ate in the bar in the evening and this was the most disappointing part: we ordered scampi and chips and the gourmet burger, waited for 40 mins before being told that they had only just got to our order and they had no chips and no gourmet burger! They offered saute potatoes in place of chips and said that my colleague could have anything from the menu without extra charge over the cost of the burger. He chose the steak, naturally, and when the food arrived it was good although, by that time, boot leather would have tasted good! We understand that kitchens run out of things but it was very irritating not to be told this earlier.
The rooms were reasonably comfortable and not too hot, the sea view was amazing but we were both woken by council workers blowing sand off the prom with leaf blowers at 6am!
The very cheap price through LateRooms made this stay good value, but I wouldn't pay more fr a stay here.

Reviewed by
Jo S

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

it will do
This hotel is over a hundred years old and more run as more of a bad of operations for retired peoples excursions. I am not retired sadly. The rooms need a lot of work to bring them up to date. Really the whole hotel does. Staff are very nice and pleasant and turn b was excellent. We has a bad meal a well and that was simply whatever the brake Bros van left, nothing special, but over cooked really, which isn't that God for fish and chips. Knowing what to expect I'd stay again however and this is what matters.

Reviewed by
A Butler

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great experience
Hotel was 2nd to none. Cant fault it would recommend it and willb staying there again

Reviewed by
andrew b

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next