No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Woodhayes Country House

4Self Classified Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Woodhayes Country House, Woodhayes Lane, Whimple , Exeter, EX5 2TQ
Woodhayes Country House is an 18th Century Georgian Villa, nestled in a tranquil rural setting on the outskirts of the village of Whimple in East Devon and within easy reach of the bustling Cathedral City of Exeter and the spectacular World Heritage Jurassic Coastline.

Guest accommodation comprising a luxury boutique B&B in the main house, with very spacious rooms, stylish interiors and elegant period features, as well as two private luxury self catering holiday cottages, all of which are set within five acres of formal gardens and paddocks.

Whether you’re on business and in need of a quiet pit-stop, or looking to get away from it all for a few days’ leisure, at Woodhayes you will enjoy exceptional comfort, warm and friendly hospitality and plenty of space to unwind and relax. Simply the greatest luxury bed and breakfast in Devon.
Picture of Woodhayes Country House, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Woodhayes is set in a beautiful quiet location away from busy roads. The room was very large and comfortable. We would have liked to have Internet access in our room although it was available in the lounge! The service was excellent and the food good.

Reviewed by
Hilary C

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Delightful residence in south Devon with easy access to most key places of interest.
A fine Georgian house situated in picturesque grounds in the village of Whimple south Devon.
On arrival we were met with a warm welcome and shown to our room and other main facilities relating to our stay. It was clear that the property had not long undergone extensive modernisation, the rooms were very well appointed and the choices of decor portrayed excellent taste.
The breakfast menu was equally extensive and the food was presented in a fine manner.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Woodhayes Country House.

Reviewed by
P Bland

From Shipsto on Stour, Warwickshire, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Impressive Accomodation & Hospitality
Having just come back from Woodhayes - I am happy to comment on the excellent experience it provided. Domonic made us very welcome on our arrival, acknowledged my eary e-mail re my wife,s dietary problems and then served us tea and cake in the lounge. Woodhayes rooms are large and tastefully decorated and breakfast in the morning overlooking the well groomed gardens was very good. We used Woodhayes as a base for exploring the Jurassic Coast and as such it was ideally positioned.

Reviewed by
Andrew J

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Devon getaway
Secluded but convenient for Exeter, Honiton and all the East Devon highlights, Woodhayes is beautifully presented and the en-suite rooms luxuriously appointed. We were warmly welcomed with tea and cake in the guest lounge, which again with the dining room was comfortable and attractively furnished. The breakfast (ordered the previous evening for the convenience of all) was great - we have no hesitation in recommending.

Reviewed by
John H

From Gerrards Cross, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Beautifull house, lovely gardens, nice and smart bedroom, great luxurious bathroom. Nice to have a little fridge in the room. Good quality bed linen and towels and Bobbie Brown products in the bathroom. It was all equal to a 5 star hotel,but more pleasant. I will highly recommend it to everybody. Never knew that b and b can be so good.

Reviewed by
ragnhild futerman

From london, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short business/pleasure Birthday break
delightful and beatifully furnished and accomodating, place to stay. .From the moment my wife and I arrived until the time we left, we enjoyed the tranquility of the location and friendliness of the owners, and the fantastic breakfast spread.We would have no hesitation in recommending Woodhayes Country house to anyone.

Reviewed by
Colin White

From Chulmleigh, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peace and quiet!
Faultless in all respects.

Reviewed by
Ronald M

From Stroud, England
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
A great find for a last minute booking. Set in a great location and an excellent breakfast.
The village down the road has a great pub!

Reviewed by
Neil T

From Westcliff on Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2