No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship & Castle Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 THE QUAY Cornwall, St Mawes, TR2 5DG
Situated in the heart of the Cornish fishing village of St Mawes, overlooking the harbour and Percuil River, the Ship and Castle Hotel offers all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Perfectly positioned on the quay of St Mawes harbour which, along with its surrounding area, is a lovely location for keen walkers with many excellent walking routes through some very scenic countryside and coastal locations.

The Ship & Castle Hotel boasts comfortable accommodation, beautifully decorated public areas, an attractive restaurant and bar benefiting from superb views across the harbour and an adjoining lounge offering relaxed entertainment most evenings.
Picture of The Ship & Castle Hotel, St Mawes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming Staff
Friendly and welcoming staff helped to make our short stay enjoyable. Fantastic location by the harbour in Saint Mawes with brilliant views from restaurant. Value for money given the price of surrounding places to stay and obviously reflecting the general condition of rooms which were not that brilliant and needed further investment in refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Rayner G

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, shame about the bathroom
The Ship and Castle was a very nice hotel. The main area was well kept and the breakfast excellent. The room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside was the bathroom. There was nothing particularly wrong, but it was a little tired. They could do with sprucing up the bathroom, better showers, a lick of paint etc. As a result I do think the price was a little on the steep side. The staff were friendly and helpful, but it could also do with a better arrangement re car parking.

Reviewed by
J Kitchen

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ship and castle
booked the night before-room and food first class

Reviewed by
Roger M

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Staff friendly and efficient. Room very clean, but a bit tired. 2nd floor closed off for refurbishment
So presume the hotel is being decorated for the new season. Room had no view, (backed on to
A brick wall, but for the price I can't complain. Enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Steve Mudge

From Exminster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the ticket!
Perfect hotel, on the quayside, one minute walk to the St Mawes ferry over to Falmouth. My room overlooked the public house next door, which could be a little noisy at closing time, however the price of the room probably reflected which room I had. Only downside, was there was no parking, public car park 5minutes walk along the road.

Reviewed by
Carol C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location; average room
We had an overall stay that was very enjoyable. The breakfast was okay and menu was varied enough to give a good choice.
The value was good because we paid the late room price, but had we paid the full room fee as advertised I would have been disappointed in the room.

Reviewed by
Ben R

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay in superior room

Reviewed by
C Dent

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Get what you pay for
We booked this room, as we had a funeral to attend in Gerrans, so we were doing a quick overnight stop. We arrived at hotel and there were signs on roads in and out of st mawes stating road would be closed the following day for a week. I asked at reception about this and he didn't understand due a language barrier. We asked where we should park, he said sometimes you can get on the road but otherwise the car park, and he grimaced when he stated cost of it £4.50 for 24 hours (that's cheap for us).
The receptionist leave us our keys but didn't direct us to our room. But was nice enough when asked. We walked through the old corridors walking past all the rooms which would have had a nice view (but we did only book a standard room) we were on an inside room with a view of the roof and a TV ariel. Didn't seem to be able to get many channels though. And the free wifi.... We couldn't get our phones to pick up the signal, I asked at reception (as there was no phone signal in village so wanted to contact home somehow) he said signal was intermittent.
Room seemed clean but was dusty, and when my husband out his contacts in, he kept getting bits of fluff or dirt on his hands..... So maybe it wasn't as clean as it could have been. Bed was clean and towels felt clean.
We had a drink before bed, but rubbish choice of drinks on tap. So had standard spirits instead.
Breakfast was nice, not lots and lots of food on plate but enough (considering nerves of the day ahead)
I probably wouldn't choose to go back again, but we were about 30 years youngster than the clientele in hotel so it must suit others. And we weren't on holiday, it was just a place to stay, so fit our needs and did the job, for a very reasonable price

Reviewed by
N Allen

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Location.
This hotel is right beside the beachfront and the rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is very nice and the staff are very helpful.

Reviewed by
Samuel Peters

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous views - beware the stairs!
I realise we had paid a very low price for our accommodation but as the hotel was barely occupied it would have been an opportunity to try and attract repeat business by giving us a better standard of room in a moor convenient location in the hotel. The room we were given needed renovation and involved going up and down several sets of stairs despite a lift to the correct floor. Thank heavens we were not carrying heavy luggage. The Reception was very pleasant and parts of the hotel were very attractive. Breakfast was excellent

Reviewed by
Rosemary E

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next