You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Ship & Castle Hotel

3

1 THE QUAY Cornwall, St Mawes, TR2 5DG

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (10)

60% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • J Marfell

  • June 2016

access

the hotel is not suitable for a person in a electric scooter as the steps in to reception are steep.

they have a lift but the corridors are very narrow.Then the access to the room was quite hard due to steps, the room was very large and very clean, no one offered to help with our luggage,so i had a struggle to get it to the room. they only have porters when they have a coach trip in.

  • c holden

  • June 2016

Very disappointing

We have stayed in all sorts of accommodation up and down the country, from premier inns to smart pubs and this has been one of the worse for valid for money in my experience.

The room was situated at the end of a warren of corridors, stairs and doors with no directions from the male receptionist about where we should go, despite hearing us discuss it. No Wi-Fi, thin towels, thin pillows, heating didn't work, poor decor, awful plug in room freshener with stet rinks smell, kettle smelt of BO. Very poor breakfast service , scrambled eggs not good. Not worth £129

  • T Bartlett

  • May 2016

It was fine for a weekend away. booked at short notice

A trivial point - In common with most hotels in which I stay, the bedside lamp has a low wattage bulb with an opaque shade making it difficult to read in bed.

  • Stephen C

  • May 2015

Weekend in a beautiful place

What a lovely place to stay over the Bank Holiday weekend.

St Mowes is such a beautiful place to le. Only thing stay for a'quite' weekend and this area of Cornwall is superb. Hotel is in a great location directly overlooking the quay area. Hotel staff were friendly enough and food is v enjoyable.

  • Julia W

  • April 2015

I enjoyed my stay.

The hotel and the surrounding area are nice and peaceful. Liked the beach view.

  • Mark C

  • December 2014

Good value room

Everything you ned.

Clean, great mattress (not soft!) and quiet. Onky really ahd dealings with 2 staff membres, one Spanish and one Hungarian, but both were really friendly, helpful, and welcoming.

  • J R

  • September 2014

Room small, springs in bed sticking out and shower like a dripping tap!

Expensive accommodation for the standard of the room.

  • J ALLIN

  • September 2014

Best value hotel in St Mawes

Good value hotel that looks after you very well.

Staff where great, rooms where clean and breakfast was fresh & tasty with good variety. Would stay again. PS: Excellent position in center of St Mawes with views to match

  • dave aldrich-smith

  • September 2014

a very last minute booking at a good cost reduction for area.

All OK, only one small gripe, no TV signal which was also experienced by another guest.

Excellent postion next to small harbour and also central.

  • J Cook

  • August 2014

Very nice, but . . . . . .

The location of The Ship & Castle cannot be faulted, situated as it is on the harbour at St Mawes.

But we felt this attribute is somewhat overplayed in the overall experience as the hotel itself could benefit from a make-over. The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. The restaurant area (although we only had breakfast as they were fully booked for dinner when we arrived at 7:30) is very pleasant and the breakfast (cold buffet + hot menu) couldn't be faulted. But . . . .

The room we were given overlooked a service area which came to life at 05:00 although there was a ventilator or perhaps an a/c unit running ALL night. The bed was awful - uncomfortable (hard and lumpy) as were the pillows. The bathroom was clean but again, needed upgrading - two years ago.

Overall, would I stay there again. Probably not unless I knew it had been refurbished. And the price. Well, as mentioned earlier, based purely on it's location because the accommodation is not worth it.