No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship & Castle Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
1 THE QUAY Cornwall, St Mawes, TR2 5DG
Situated in the heart of the Cornish fishing village of St Mawes, overlooking the harbour and Percuil River, the Ship and Castle Hotel offers all the charm and character one would expect for its location. Perfectly positioned on the quay of St Mawes harbour which, along with its surrounding area, is a lovely location for keen walkers with many excellent walking routes through some very scenic countryside and coastal locations.

The Ship & Castle Hotel boasts comfortable accommodation, beautifully decorated public areas, an attractive restaurant and bar benefiting from superb views across the harbour and an adjoining lounge offering relaxed entertainment most evenings.
Picture of The Ship & Castle Hotel, St Mawes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
78% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room small, springs in bed sticking out and shower like a dripping tap!
Expensive accommodation for the standard of the room.

Reviewed by
J R

From Holsworthy, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value hotel in St Mawes
Good value hotel that looks after you very well.
Staff where great, rooms where clean and breakfast was fresh & tasty with good variety.
Would stay again.
PS: Excellent position in center of St Mawes with views to match

Reviewed by
J ALLIN

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a very last minute booking at a good cost reduction for area.
All OK, only one small gripe, no TV signal which was also experienced by another guest.
Excellent postion next to small harbour and also central.

Reviewed by
dave aldrich-smith

From braunton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice, but . . . . . .
The location of The Ship & Castle cannot be faulted, situated as it is on the harbour at St Mawes. But we felt this attribute is somewhat overplayed in the overall experience as the hotel itself could benefit from a make-over.
The staff were very friendly, professional and helpful. The restaurant area (although we only had breakfast as they were fully booked for dinner when we arrived at 7:30) is very pleasant and the breakfast (cold buffet + hot menu) couldn't be faulted. But . . . .
The room we were given overlooked a service area which came to life at 05:00 although there was a ventilator or perhaps an a/c unit running ALL night. The bed was awful - uncomfortable (hard and lumpy) as were the pillows. The bathroom was clean but again, needed upgrading - two years ago!
Overall, would I stay there again? Probably not unless I knew it had been refurbished. And the price? Well, as mentioned earlier, based purely on it's location because the accommodation is not worth it.

Reviewed by
J Cook

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming Staff
Friendly and welcoming staff helped to make our short stay enjoyable. Fantastic location by the harbour in Saint Mawes with brilliant views from restaurant. Value for money given the price of surrounding places to stay and obviously reflecting the general condition of rooms which were not that brilliant and needed further investment in refurbishment.

Reviewed by
Rayner G

From Chipping Norton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel, shame about the bathroom
The Ship and Castle was a very nice hotel. The main area was well kept and the breakfast excellent. The room was nice and clean and the bed was very comfortable. The only downside was the bathroom. There was nothing particularly wrong, but it was a little tired. They could do with sprucing up the bathroom, better showers, a lick of paint etc. As a result I do think the price was a little on the steep side. The staff were friendly and helpful, but it could also do with a better arrangement re car parking.

Reviewed by
J Kitchen

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ship and castle
booked the night before-room and food first class

Reviewed by
Roger M

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyable stay
Staff friendly and efficient. Room very clean, but a bit tired. 2nd floor closed off for refurbishment
So presume the hotel is being decorated for the new season. Room had no view, (backed on to
A brick wall, but for the price I can't complain. Enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
Steve Mudge

From Exminster, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just the ticket!
Perfect hotel, on the quayside, one minute walk to the St Mawes ferry over to Falmouth. My room overlooked the public house next door, which could be a little noisy at closing time, however the price of the room probably reflected which room I had. Only downside, was there was no parking, public car park 5minutes walk along the road.

Reviewed by
Carol C

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location; average room
We had an overall stay that was very enjoyable. The breakfast was okay and menu was varied enough to give a good choice.
The value was good because we paid the late room price, but had we paid the full room fee as advertised I would have been disappointed in the room.

Reviewed by
Ben R

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next