No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mill House

3Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lulworth Mill House, West Lulworth, BH20 5RQ
Lulworth Mill House is just a minute's walk from the famous Lulworth Cove on Dorset’s famous Jurassic Coast. During your visit you can enjoy a drink or meal in our Dandelion cafe and bistro, or use our superbly situated outdoor swimming pool at nearby West Lulworth house.

This is an ideal location from which to explore the Dorset Coast, with superb walks along the coast path to Durdle Door right on our doorstep. Swanage, Corfe Castle and Weymouth are all within easy reach. If you’re exploring on foot we have a well equipped boot and drying room, and an excellent selection of maps, guidebooks and walk directions which guests can borrow.

Picture of Mill House, West Lulworth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 20 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay!
Room a little small but had everything we needed. Only thing I would comment on us the lack of air con in the room. On hot evenings this would make guests a little more comfortable

Reviewed by
Gemma C

From Harlow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the TV had no reception so maybe an ariel update would be a good idea or maybe satelite TV. WIFI internet connection would have been very useful.....free WIFI access to the guests would be a benefit.
Room had a superb view and was clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
K Jackson

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Easter weekend
When we arrived we were not happy to find that we had to walk through a very busy restaurant with tables very close together with our luggage, therefore interfering with the people seated at the tables. Also not happy as there was no reception area at all and had to stand and wait at the bar just to book in when the staff were hectically trying to serve people with drinks. The location of the hotel was superb which, in all honesty, was it's saving grace. At breakfast time there was one almost empty bowl of cornflakes and one other bowl full of something resembling rice crispies - not at all our choice of cereal. The cooked breakfast, however, was fine. As for the room, it was quite small, not really a problem, but we had paid extra for a view of the pond and it was therefore supposed to be a superior room. Only trouble there is that neither theTV or radio worked. The manager told me that that was how it was in Lulworth. The staff at the hotel were pleasant enough but the service could definitely be improved as staff often forgot to bring items to the table.
Although we had a pleasant weekend, due mainly to the outstanding beauty of the area, we would not recommend or stay at this hotel again.

Reviewed by
Barbara P

From Banstead, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lulworth Let Down
super upset with having paid 129 for this 'premium' room- terrace was messy with fencing laying all over it, had to clean it up myself. the double bed was two singles pushed up against each other, the dvd player supposedly in the room did not exist, the fixtures in the bathroom were broken, with the shower head pipe loose with a hole around it. the tap for the bath was missing, if you wanted one you'd have to either fill it up with the shower or use the weird hole left without the proper tap fixture. staff did try to give us another room but it was far smaller and darker and the bathroom wasnt far batter. gutted as i booked up for new years eve- nowhere near the experience id hoped for. when not walking we spent all our time in the pub a little further up the road.

Reviewed by
Laura Norman

From Kingston upon Thames, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very pleasant stay
The staff were friendly and helpful. The 'Superior room' had a nice view over the pond and the fields beyond as promised. We didn't have an evening meal at the hotel so can't comment on that but the breakfast menu was varied with several options available. We chose the Dorset grill which was very good. All in all we were very satisfied.

Reviewed by
Michael O'Toole

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room was a good size and clean throughout with lovely views from the balcony. The only negative comment I will make is that the shower screen leaked and flooded the bathroom floor, when the staff were notified of this they did take note so hopefully this will get fixed.
Staff were very accomodating when it came to the breakfast, I am a fairly fussy eater but I certainly did not go hungry. Food was to a good standard too.

Reviewed by
A Harris

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Location, views of the sea and comfort of the rooms were excellent. Very relaxing stay. Service was great and the staff were very attentive. Food - very good. The room was very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
Dainius K

From Wokingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful place, beautiful views, Perfect little night away.
Went to Lulworth Cove as a night away as was taking part in an event in not so far Bournemouth.
What a lovely place Lulworth Mill House is. Was very impressed with the roaring fire as we walked in, the room was lovely. view was like a movie and the room itself was just lovely. only had a standard room but it was very nice. Was freezing cold outside - room was perfectly warm, shower was very powerful and hot. Lovely little view of the hills and little pond outside. Breakfast was lovely and staff very helpful.
We left some luggage there and called when we arrived home and they were so kind as to send it to us by special delivery. No problem at all.
Will be staying here again for definite and would recommend to anyone.

Reviewed by
Stacey C

From Waltham Abbey, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful to watch the solstice sun rise over Lulworth Bay from my bedroom
We had a lovely stay here on the night of Thursday 20 December before Christmas. When we arrived on the Thursday night after a detour caused by flooding, the log fire was burning in the Bistro restaurant where we had booked an evening meal for 8.30pm, and a Christmas tree and spiced cider added festive cheer. The member of staff who greeted us was very quick and efficient and the bedroom I was allocated was excellent, with a view to the bay, and an outdoor verandah from which it must be lovely in Summer to sip one's coffee looking out to the cove. We both enjoyed our evening meal, which seemed to use local produce (eg fish bisque) and was very filling.
We were very lucky that the next morning was a beautiful bright day after the rain of the previous days (which much of the country was suffering). The cove (only a few seconds stroll away) and the clifftop walks above, looked beautiful in this soft sunshine - a wonderful location for those who enjoy coastal walks, with Studland Bay a short drive away. The hotel had a friendly atmosphere, which probably reflects that it is part of the Holiday Fellowship organisation.

Reviewed by
J Cousens

From Richmond, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem
Friendly and efficient staff who obviously enjoys their jobs. Dandelion Bistro excellant choice, especially local fish, and beautifully prepared and presented - they should look after their Chef and team. Good selection local ales. Fantastic position - we had balcony room overlooking Bay.
Bathroom needs refurbishing but was clean and functional. We were there in low season which meant peace and space, but looking at the size of the public carpark it's obviously a tourist honey pot at any other time. HF Holidays (owners) have worked hard since March and deserve to succeed.

Reviewed by
Peter L

From Hassocks, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next