No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Lighthouse

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Tytherington, , , Frome, BA11 5BW
We welcome everyone - individuals, couples, families and businesses - to come and experience our beautiful Bed & Breakfast accommodation and facilities on the outskirts of Frome, Somerset. Whether you are looking for a great base to explore the local area, organising a business conference, or would like arrange more of a planned personal retreat including treatments, we encourage you to come and experience the outstanding quality of the accommodation and facilities provided. The facilities that we have on offer are: * 4 star twin and double ensuite bedrooms, family suites and self catering options for longer stays * Brand NEW Conference Facilities with a range of venue and catering options * 'Love in a Cup' Teahouse, with delicious homemade meals and refreshments as well as a children's menu * Access to the Creative Aquatic indoor swimming pool next door to the Lighthouse * Extensive grounds including a fishing lake and woodland - perfect for country walks and picnics * Range of relaxing Treatments and tailor made health retreat packages The Lighthouse is ideally located on the doorstep of the Longleat Estate & Safari Park, and the cities of Bath and Wells are within 30 minutes by car. There is a wealth of other attractions nearby for all the family and an extensive choice of walks and cycle routes through the undulating countryside. Please note that as we are a Healing, Retreat and Conference Centre, we do operate a strict No Alcohol Policy on site. The town of Frome still boasts some original medieval buildings and has its own magical charm, drawing people from across the UK. It is renowned for its love of music and the arts and diverse and vibrant community. Take time to stroll around and explore Frome to get a sense of its unique character.
Picture of The Lighthouse, Frome at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tranquility in a cup
We recently stayed at the lighthouse whilst visiting friends in the local area. We were extremely pleased with the room and facilities. The staff were friendly and accommodating ensuring our stay was enjoyable. We were both pleased to hear they provide rooms so you can take along your furry little friend and we look forward to returning with them to walk around the grounds, The lighthouse offers much more than just an accommodation, it provides a peaceful experience that will want you returning before you leave.

Reviewed by
Nicola Beesley

From Stansted, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful location, clean, comfortable rooms and healthy, delicious food. Fantastic!

Reviewed by
Vincent O

From Lewes, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly welcome - despite us arriving later than we had advised (20 minutes after last check ins). The room was spotless - fairly basic but perfect for our needs. We had room number 10 which was a twin rooom, out the back of the main building and up a little fire escpae. Very comfortable memory foam mattresses, and sweet little touches, like incense sticks to burn.
The room however was a touch on the warm side - we managed to open the sky light, and turned off the radiator but it was still a bit too toasty to sleep very comfortably.
This was our only complaint.

Reviewed by
Harriet G

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Extremely Helpful
My friend and I stayed here the night before Longleat half marathon. The staff went out of their way to come in early to make sure we had breakfast before we went and were also happy to prepare food I brought with me that was dairy, even though they are a dairy free establishment. So kind, so helpful.
Room was very nicely decorated. Could have done with more windows and the inability to completely switch off the underfloor heating meant we had an extremely warm night which made it slightly difficult to sleep.
The surrounding area is breathtaking and this hotel is finished to a high standard. A beautiful getaway for those who want to hike, cycle, run of be at one with the great and beautiful outdoors.

Reviewed by
S Johnson

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay in lovely surroundings with excellent customer service!!
Lovely clean, friendly hotel with excellent bonuses such as a memory feel bed, wet room and under floor heating. Very modern feel. Our main concern was a clean place to stay but this exceeded our expectations

Reviewed by
K Gibbard

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chillout time
Wonderful place to relax and unwind in,fantastic surroundings and lovely staff that make you feel right at home,a perfect retreat in everyway.
Bruce
Herts

Reviewed by
Bruce Hansing

From Ware, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lighthouse surprise
Friendly and efficient staff, warming log fire, delicious but healthy gluten and dairy free breakfast. Tasteful but simple room design plus great shower. Needed a bit more fresh air in room. Great location for Longleat and other tourist places nearby. Plenty of space in pretty grounds and an indoor pool which I didn't have time to use. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
c sheppard

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The lighthouse ok but different
A little dissapointed with our stay we booked this accomdation as it offered swimming facilities, which at the time was closed so very disapointed, its set in nice gounds but the room we had was very noisy so did not get any sleep. My son managed to sleep but kept waking during the night, and normally is an excellent sleeper as am I but on this occasion this was not the case.
I should of paid more attention to the description before booking this hotel, and could I call it a hotel more or a alternative barn conversion. If you book this accomodation take ear plugs if staying in room 6 otherwise I am sure it suit buisness travelers that are looking for something different it offered alternaitve food and facilities, to an conventional hotel. Each to their own.

Reviewed by
Hilary S

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
great stay and made to feel very welcome. I was in room 10 although very well laid out and clean it was a very hot room as the kitchen was underneath and the fan supplied was louder than the M25, and also heard the staff coming in at 6 ish in the morning. If you are a fisherman then in the grounds is a lovely fishing area that looks good and will pass some time away as you are of the beaten track for things to do.

Reviewed by
richard brown

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful, family friendly - great base to explore the area
Beautiful conversion, quiet and set in lovely grounds. Good for the family, the food is good - maybe not to the kids taste if they're not used to it.
Friendly staff.

Reviewed by
C Thompson

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next