No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Waterhouse, Bath

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Water House, Waterhouse Lane, Monkton Combe, Bath, BA2 7JB
Set in three acres of lawns with riverside walks, Waterhouse is a beautiful Georgian Country House that has been sympathetically restored and renovated with a contemporary twist. We offer 9 en-suite double rooms and 4 deluxe rooms, each beautifully styled to give a unique boutique experience.

Waterhouse offers guests a renowned cooked breakfast, with locally sourced produce which can be enjoyed in our conservatory dining area overlooking the valley or in our . Guests can also take full advantage of the library and guest lounge.

Walks along the picturesque canals bring you to the town, with bike hire also available from the guesthouse.

Situated in the stunning Midford Valley just four miles from the centre of Bath, Waterhouse makes an ideal destination for those wanting an overnight's stay, a relaxing weekend break or for families looking to holiday in the area. Equally we offer Waterhouse for exclusive hire to help you mark any occasion in real comfort and beautifully secluded surroundings.
Picture of Waterhouse, Bath, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We had a great stay at the Waterhouse recently; the hotel itself is beautiful and has wonderful surrounding views. It is in the countryside but not far from Bath at all - the taxi home was only £10 which seems like very little for how far it is.
The room we had was quite a good size and the beds were very comfy; the decor was really lovely. The bathroom was a little on the small side and there were a couple of little things that could have been better (some torn wallpaper and a light bulb missing from one of the side lamps) that they could easily have fixed.
The staff were friendly and happy to help with anything. The breakfast was mostly good - the continental options were really good and my friend's full English looked good too. I have scrambled eggs on toast and was a little disappointed I only got 1 piece of toast. For the price, I'd have expected 2!!
Overall, definitely a great hotel and good for special occasions.

Reviewed by
Jessica M

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel with personal service
I stayed here with my mum after a trip to Bath Christmas market. The hotel is a short drive from the city centre but easy to find. We were welcomed by a lovely gentleman who explained that he was looking after the hotel whilst the owners were away. He took us to our room and made sure we had everything we needed. We wanted to have a drink after a long day and we're delighted to be served next to the beautiful fireplace complete with a Christmas tree. The room was pleasant and clean and the bedding was very good quality. The building itself is beautiful and very well kept. Overall it's a great find and I would definitely recommend it to a friend.

Reviewed by
Kathryn J

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
A beautiful hotel set in lovely surroundings.
Extremely helpful staff and a lovely breakfast.
We will definitely return.

Reviewed by
l rees

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very smart room, comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Joanna Taylor

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely rural retreat
Delightful hotel outside of Bath, lovely breakfast and friendly staff

Reviewed by
Joanna B

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely venue with hugely warm and welcoming staff. Some of the room a little 'shabby' but overall excellent in beautiful location with fab views

Reviewed by
Peter B

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

picturesque country location
A pleasant quiet hotel set down a country lane on the outskirts of bath. Room was pleasant with en suite facilities. Unfortunately we had to move to another room on the second day due to a fault with the shower. Staff very helpful and breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
michael j

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

OK accommodation, but does a great breakfast
We stayed here for one night during a brief trip to Bath to celebrate my boyfriend's birthday. The room was fine and clean but had a badly stained carpet which was a little off putting. The hotel definitely has more of a conference hotel feel and as such wasn't really right for a birthday treat (my mistake rather than the hotel mis-selling itself). You also really do need a car to go anywhere. That being said, staff were friendly and the breakfast was fabulous.

Reviewed by
K Hyde

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff couldn't do enough for us
The staff at The Waterhouse were superb and could not do enough for us. They recommended somewhere for dinner and in a flash had printed directions. We also requested our room had space for our travel cot but on arrival had supplied a travel cot for us.

Reviewed by
Sarah Rudman

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly hotel
We liked our room and the staff were friendly. Dinner was good although we felt a little lonely on our own in the restaurant, wine wasn't served till we had the main corse and then we had to ask. Busy breakfast time my poached eggs were good but the continental choice looked a bit miserable. We didn't take breakfast on the second day. Overall a nice place to stay but needs a little more attention to detail. Lovely walk by the river.

Reviewed by
Rowena E

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next