No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Pecking Mill Inn & Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
PECKING MILL INN, A371, Evercreech , SHEPTON MALLET, BA4 6PG
Set in the beautiful Somerset Countryside, just 1 mile from the Bath and West Showground, this 16th century building offers Bed & Breakfast, a full A-La-Carte Restaurant and a peaceful and relaxing bar. We also have a beer garden situated next to a stream. The newly refurbished bar has original flagstone floors, beamed ceilings, an open fire and stone walls. We also offer all our residents free broadband internet access.
Picture of The Pecking Mill Inn & Hotel , SHEPTON MALLET at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
58% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sorry to say that it was on a very busy road room was at the front.Breakfast was better 2nd day but far to much money for two nights, but the landlord was very nice and helpful, but would not go and stay again.

Reviewed by
julie t

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable stay
A comfortable stay in a basic room, followed by a pretty good breakfast!

Reviewed by
Graham K

From Woking, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Efficient
Easy to find
Friendly ready to receive me, room ready and clean
tight schedule for breakfast but was served prompt

Reviewed by
A Atkinson

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was a quick overnighter for a near by wedding. But a fantastic little hotel and lovely service. The bed was incredibly comfortable! Would love to have stayed longer!

Reviewed by
Harriet W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely at first glance...... need a very good clean!
We arrived at the B and B - the room looked great at first, two adjoining rooms (1 for our toddler), bathroom, on the ground floor. We dumped our luggage and went straight to dinner as we were fairly late arriving. Menu looked good, and food was nice. Had a glass of red wine and the glass was filthy! I left the wine.
After finishing dinner we went back to the room, I run a bath for my son, to find the bath was full of grime and scale. The tiles were dirty, the shower head and screen heavily scaled. The only saving grace was the towels smelt nice and clean. As we unpacked we realised it wasn't just the bathroom that was dirty, there was a huge amount of dust and cobwebbs to all the light fittings. When I drew the curtains there was a large amount of dust that fell off the tops - the nets were dark grey with dirt, and the windows were heavily cobwebbed with some mildew too. The bed sheets however seemed clean.
The B and B was on a busy road, and even though some of the windows seemed to be double glazed - it was as if the bed was placed in the middle of the pavement outside - it was so noisy - I only managed to sleep from midnight until 5am (when the traffic stopped).
The manager/owner seemed very nice so we didn't like to complain too much as the waitress told us he did everything himself - however on checking out I did mention the dust problem with the room and it seemed to be a surprise to him and he just said "oh right". No apology unfortunately. They really do need to hire some extra staff if he is unable to cope with all aspects of the business.

Reviewed by
M Davies

From Carmarthen, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great value for money
This was a lovely little place, so friendly and good food

Reviewed by
Marie S

From St Austell, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay & lovely friendly welcome
Room was fine with comfy bed. Restaurant evening meal & breakfast were both excellent & service with a smile

Reviewed by
Sue F

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't touch this hotel! Doesn't look like it has been decorated or cleaned in centuries. I also was charged £95 for a family room but owner has business cards stating £80. We were on the ground floor and bathroom window has a net curtain and bamboo curtain but could still see into bathroom from outside so no privacy either! Breakfast was ok although milk jug very dirty.

Reviewed by
T Miscandlon

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pecking Mill
We had a wonderful time at Pecking Mill. An ideal base to explore Somerset, Cheddar & Dorset. Although in a rural area you are next to a main road (which you hardly hear, especially after busy days out). The family room we stayed in was clean & ideal for us, as the kids had their own room ;be...kids! Jeff our host is a gentleman, very informative about the history of the place, would do anything to help, served lovely home cooked food & deserves a medal running the place practically on his own.If you like places with character & hosts who respect your privacy.. then this is the place

Reviewed by
martin colquhoun

From Houghton le Spring, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not Happy!
We originally booked for 3 nights in this hotel and the Landlord seemed helpful on arrival. After that it went down hill as we found the room quite dirty and there were rather a lot of flies and a live earwig on the kettle. We slept well but felt uncomfortable when we got up in the morning so made an excuse to leave early. We paid for 2 nights but only stayed 1 then left.

Reviewed by
M Bryon

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next