The Pecking Mill Inn & Hotel

3

PECKING MILL INN, A371, Evercreech, SHEPTON MALLET, BA4 6PG

Price From 86.64 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (43)

56% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Jo Porter

  • October 2014

A very disappointing experience!.

This hotel definitely does not offer good value for money. The pictures online are extremely misleading. The room was tiny and very tired indeed as was the bathroom. The hotel is on a very busy road and my room was at the front. The bedroom had poor quality secondary glazing and the bathroom was single glazed, which meant the traffic noise was loud and constant. Breakfast is only served between 8 and 9 even on Sunday, meaning I had to get up early even after my awful night's sleep. The breakfast iself wasn't good either - no choice, just a cooked breakfast which was a small portion of virtually tasteless food, margarine instead of butter and warm orange juice already poured at every table so no choice there either. I definitely will not stay again and would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • fiona r

  • September 2014

Laterooms had not sent booking - hotel brilliant at accommodating

The hotel did not have our reservation and rang around other hotels before juggling guests to fit us (family) in.

They were amazing and so friendly. Breakfast was great and very filling.

  • H Jones

  • September 2014

Pecking Mill, Shepton Mallet

Small old pub, 7 rooms

Friendly staff

Very comfortable bed

Small room

Shower room needs to be totally redone

  • Gavin H

  • September 2014

second stay

Stayed for second time in family room and rooms were fine for what we needed, bedding was spotless and bathroom was clean and tidy.

Carpets are a little dodgy and could do with a bit of a vacuum but that's a small thing. Breakfast is fantastic and meals available in bar are excellent value and taste delicious. The place is run by a lovely man who tries his best to accommodate all needs. The building is quite old so some noise from people walking in rooms upstairs can be heard and its also on a main road so traffic can also be heard .

  • julie t

  • September 2014

Sorry to say that it was on a very busy road room was at the front.Breakfast was better 2nd day but far to much money for two nights, but the landlord was very nice and helpful, but would not go and stay again.

  • Jo S

  • September 2014

Comfortable, friendly, will book again

Excellent service and food.

Room was clean and comfortable. Landlord and staff were kind, friendly & welcoming ... Did I mention the excellent food and service. Will book again ..... And again.

  • Graham K

  • August 2014

Comfortable stay

A comfortable stay in a basic room, followed by a pretty good breakfast!

  • A Atkinson

  • August 2014

Efficient

Easy to find

Friendly ready to receive me, room ready and clean

tight schedule for breakfast but was served prompt

  • Harriet W

  • August 2014

Was a quick overnighter for a near by wedding.

But a fantastic little hotel and lovely service. The bed was incredibly comfortable. Would love to have stayed longer.

  • M Davies

  • August 2014

Lovely at first glance...... need a very good clean!

We arrived at the B and B - the room looked great at first, two adjoining rooms (1 for our toddler), bathroom, on the ground floor.

We dumped our luggage and went straight to dinner as we were fairly late arriving. Menu looked good, and food was nice. Had a glass of red wine and the glass was filthy. I left the wine. After finishing dinner we went back to the room, I run a bath for my son, to find the bath was full of grime and scale. The tiles were dirty, the shower head and screen heavily scaled. The only saving grace was the towels smelt nice and clean. As we unpacked we realised it wasn't just the bathroom that was dirty, there was a huge amount of dust and cobwebbs to all the light fittings. When I drew the curtains there was a large amount of dust that fell off the tops - the nets were dark grey with dirt, and the windows were heavily cobwebbed with some mildew too. The bed sheets however seemed clean. The B and B was on a busy road, and even though some of the windows seemed to be double glazed - it was as if the bed was placed in the middle of the pavement outside - it was so noisy - I only managed to sleep from midnight until 5am (when the traffic stopped). The manager/owner seemed very nice so we didn't like to complain too much as the waitress told us he did everything himself - however on checking out I did mention the dust problem with the room and it seemed to be a surprise to him and he just said "oh right". No apology unfortunately. They really do need to hire some extra staff if he is unable to cope with all aspects of the business.