No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dukes

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Dukes, The Esplanade, Sidmouth, EX10 8AR

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

A lively stylish, yet informal freehouse Inn offering comfortable en-suite rooms many with great sea views. Situated at the heart of Sidmouth town centre and a stone throw away from the beach, we offer great food, an extensive range of drinks and four star Inn accommodation. All our smart rooms are en-suite many have stunning seaviews, several larger rooms are ideal for families as they have space for extra bed or cots. Rooms have DVD players, freeview and free wif-i throughout. Creative lunch, snack and dinner menus incorporate the best of West Country fish, meat and game and can either be enjoyed alfresco on our sea facing patio, in our bar or in our table served dining areas. Limited parking, available on first come first served basis.
Picture of Dukes, Sidmouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 77 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 91% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely friendly hotel
We stayed at Dukes for just one night but would certainly stay there again.great sea view and spacious family room. A problem with one of the main courses at dinner was quickly remedied. Fantastic breakfast too, but the biggest asset to Dukes are the lovely friendly staff who bend over backwards to be helpful, with friendly efficient service which makes all the difference!

Reviewed by
catherine k

From Cardiff, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great hotel, really lovely people

Reviewed by
joanne m

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent small hotel
Very impressed by the conscientious and friendly staff for whom nothing is too much trouble. I stayed here two years ago and the hotel continues to maintain the high standards it possessed then.
Situated right in the centre of the town and within walking distance of all amenities. Only wished we could have stayed longer.

Reviewed by
SUSAN K

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic accommodation , beautiful decor , fantastic staff. Evening meal and breakfast was outstanding . Central location right on the front . Sea view rooms were booked and sea view rooms is what we had . Would highly recommend and will certainly return . Xx

Reviewed by
R Le Fort

From Sutton Coldfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel pity about the adjacent night club
Very comfortable room soon went to sleep but in early hours we were suddenly awoken by loud foul language and shouting which went on continuously for about half an hour until someone shouted at them in a similar manner telling them to ******* shut up and move away and surprisingly they did. I was surprised the police were not called out because of this unacceptable behaviour that continued for such a long time and even after they moved away you could hear them in the distance I assume down by the beach. This obviously spoilt our overnight stay at Dukes which was no fault of the hotel. In the morning we were informed there was a night club in the side street adjacent to the hotel. There is also very little parking space available (8 spaces) and all the free parking along the sea front was occupied so had to park some 200 metres away from the hotel which is not very convenient

Reviewed by
Alan S

From Little Clacton, England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Professional Atmosphere with a Relaxed Outcome
The hotel appearance and the staff were both very 'professional' but in a pleasingly relaxed manner with good communication skills and through the slightly informal (yet professional) atmosphere itcreated a very enjoyable and relaxed stay. Thank you.

Reviewed by
Martin Minett

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stay at the Dukes Inn in August 2014
I stayed at the Dukes Inn for 2 nights in August 2014. I really like that it is a small intimate hotel and that it is an old Inn which I felt added character compared to the other hotels in the area. I was upgraded to a sea view room which was a very nice surprise. The room was clean and warm and I had a fantastic view of the sea and sea front, but the window was very low so net curtains would have given added privacy as the beer garden is directly underneath the windows, and the blinds were broken (as was the bathroom light). The breakfast choice was very good, and I had the full english breakfast which arrived very quickly and was very hot and fresh but much too greasy, which was a shame as a quick wipe down with a clean paper towel would have made it perfect and much more healthy. The location of the hotel is perfect and is right on the Esplanade and near to the shops. Staff were very friendly and overall I had a great stay and wished I had booked longer so I am looking forward to staying there again. It is worth noting that residents are not charged when they book through Late Rooms until they check out, and as I assumed I had paid at the booking stage and had not checked this, it was a surprise when I was asked to pay at check out, but that was my error. A little gem of a hotel.

Reviewed by
Louise P

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Eveverything to a good high standard, very pleased with everything would go again would love to.
Cannot add anything for improvement

Reviewed by
J BRICKELL

From manchester, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My over night stay.
I needed a good hotel for one night as was visiting my Mother in a local nursing home, as I live 3 hrs away did not want to do journey in a day. Dukes hotel fitted the bill perfectly. Very friendly and helpfull staff, very clean, and will definately stay there next time.

Reviewed by
Chrissie Thwaites

From Warwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous weekend stay
We could fault the hotel , from check in, to check out, it was fantastic.

Reviewed by
A Topp

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next