No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Moorland Garden Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Yelverton , Plymouth, PL20 6DA
Located on the edge of Dartmoor National Park, just minutes away from Plymouth city centre, Tavistock and close to border with Cornwall, we are the place to be for business, leisure, special occasions and fine dining.

Nestling in nine acres of stunning and tranquil moorland garden, our four suites are luxurious and tastefully decorated, our en-suite bedrooms are comfortable and well equipped and our hotel and event teams are friendly and helpful.

The Wildflower Restaurant has views across the garden onto Dartmoor, making it a popular place for Dinner, traditional Cream Teas and Sunday Lunches.

Leaving the untamed splendour of Dartmoor, the City of Plymouth is just a short drive away, with its magnificent natural harbour, overlooked by the famous Plymouth Hoe, where it is said Sir Francis Drake once played bowls and the Pilgrim Fathers set sail for America in the Mayflower almost 400 years ago.

There is complimentary Car Parking and free Wi-Fi for all guests.
Picture of Moorland Garden Hotel, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 16 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel - an extremely lucky find
Having struggled to find a hotel anywhere in Plymouth for last weekend due to graduation week (apparently), we managed to get the last available room at the Moorland Garden. Although they were hosting a wedding and reception that day, they were kind enough to move us to a quieter room. Food-wise, an excellent bar serving a very tasty club sandwich and chips and a delicious hot buffet breakfast.
Very well situated for exploring Dartmoor and it's not that far from Plymouth itself (about 8 miles).

Reviewed by
NICK S

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Short break
Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable and was made to feel very welcome and would definitely return to this hotel .

Reviewed by
a smith

From Dursley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful setting and a sense of luxury
We we treated with the utmost courtesy and attention at the Moorland Garden. The quality of the accommodation belied its three stars - I would certainly have given it four! The accommodation was luxurious; the restaurant was beautiful and the selection on the menu of a very high standard. The only minor point I would make is the lack of accompanying vegetables that were served with the various courses which our party took.
The surroundings are absolutely stunning. An idyllic garden gives out on to the untamed moors a synergy of style and nature. The hotel is well worth another visit - we hope to make one in the near future.

Reviewed by
Suzanne L

From Taunton, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel was a disappointment.
The corridors upstairs carpets were worn, room toilet bowl badly cracked, loo roll holder at 90 degrees. The cold water tank immediately above the room made sleep past 5.30 am impossible.
The food was good in the evening although the wrong starter came. In the morning at the breakfast the top two plates were dirty and the food cold. I cannot recommend this hotel. In fact I would avoid it.

Reviewed by
G Balme

From Pulborough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely stay in a lovely hotel
we went for a family party and had a really good time our room was lovely and the hotel staff were excellent the food was lovely too
some parts of the hotel were in need of attention but I believe they are doing this over time

Reviewed by
lesley lane

From Telford, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff are brilliant always responding to client needs. The food is excellent and the hotel is very quiet.
Thank you

Reviewed by
G Cavill

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I'll be back
We attended a wedding reception and stayed over for the night as did quite a few of the guests. It was a pleasant stay and the gardens are lovely. They also had dog friendly rooms, which I found quite nice to know, not that mine would have been a good guest at the wedding. Lovely size rooms and modern bathrooms.

Reviewed by
Deborah J

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Modern Rural Hotel
This was booked very last minute as a transfer from another local hotel, and arriving late, after a long day at a wedding, I was very pleasantly surprised. Such a lovely bedroom, bathroom and balcony. The bed was so soft, I fell straight asleep. The breakfast was very nice too. Even the balcony was lovely and it was rainy. I would most definitely return.

Reviewed by
Melissa Watt

From Ivybridge, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated Dartmoor Hotel
We stayed at this hotel a number of years ago when it was part of the Forestdale chain so we knew it was in a lovely setting and convenient for Plymouth. The present owners have obviously spent a lot of money updating the hotel and we enjoyed our stay very much.
The "Wow" factor of the ensuite was diminished when in use by the positioning of the toilet, which had little leg room between it and the shower, and the positioning of toilet roll and towel rail.There was plenty of hot water and the shower very good.
We dined in both the restaurant and the bar and both were good.

Reviewed by
Caryl S

From Worthing, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely peaceful stay
We stayed for a naval pass out parade in Plymouth and enjoyed every second of our stay. Although a wedding was on, our room was made to be on the other side of the hotel and we weren't disturbed at all. Our room was lovely and very comfortable and the food in the restraunt was lovely. Would defiantly stay again just to view the beautiful gardens

Reviewed by
L O'Neil

From Fife, UK
Who stayed in April 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next