Moorland Garden Hotel

3

Yelverton, Plymouth, PL20 6DA

Price From 174.65 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (16)

94% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Dan W

  • March 2015

Excellent post wedding hotel

Loved our sleep.

friendly staff. comfy bed. clean and tidy. very nice, thank you.

  • A Goodman

  • December 2014

super place

Lovely stay.

Beautiful accommodation, lovely staff, nice food.

  • R Martin

  • November 2014

Very enjoyable stay Staff very friendly

We enjoyed our stay very much Food was excellent Could not fault it Will stay again

  • Trevor Evans

  • October 2014

rest break

just what we were looking for

  • M Jones

  • September 2014

Friendly welcome at hotel retreat hidden on the moors

I was pleasantly surprised to go through the gate and arrive on the moors to find sheep and ponies wondering around on either side of the path leading to the hotel.

The gardens are definitely the stand out feature of the hotel. The reception was warm friendly and very helpful. Was very pleased to discover that we had been given a room with a garden view. The only slight disappointment was that although the bathroom was very modern and clean the room itself was a bit dated. If I ever return I would request a newly refurbished room with a balcony which would be perfect for the summer. All the staff were extremely friendly polite and helpful. The evening bar meal was very tasty, well cooked and hot. Just a shame we had to wait so long for it. Breakfast was good and we had a lovely view of the garden. Very relaxing and restaurant tastefully decorated. Would definitely return now that we know there is a bus stop right next to the hotel sign on the road which we unfortunately missed!. lol. Highly recommended for a relaxing break in lovely surroundings and convieniently close to Plymouth. And can even bring your dog with you.

  • Howard Dean

  • September 2014

As always a fantastic stay.

I was recognised from my previous stays and made to feel very special.

From booking in to leaving everything was of a very high standard as it always is. Super room, very comfortable, every need catered for. Most sincere thanks to the hotel staff.

  • NICK S

  • August 2014

Lovely hotel - an extremely lucky find

Having struggled to find a hotel anywhere in Plymouth for last weekend due to graduation week (apparently), we managed to get the last available room at the Moorland Garden.

Although they were hosting a wedding and reception that day, they were kind enough to move us to a quieter room. Food-wise, an excellent bar serving a very tasty club sandwich and chips and a delicious hot buffet breakfast. Very well situated for exploring Dartmoor and it's not that far from Plymouth itself (about 8 miles).

  • a smith

  • February 2014

Short break

Our stay at this hotel was very enjoyable and was made to feel very welcome and would definitely return to this hotel .

  • Suzanne L

  • January 2014

A beautiful setting and a sense of luxury

We we treated with the utmost courtesy and attention at the Moorland Garden.

The quality of the accommodation belied its three stars - I would certainly have given it four. The accommodation was luxurious; the restaurant was beautiful and the selection on the menu of a very high standard. The only minor point I would make is the lack of accompanying vegetables that were served with the various courses which our party took.

The surroundings are absolutely stunning. An idyllic garden gives out on to the untamed moors a synergy of style and nature. The hotel is well worth another visit - we hope to make one in the near future.

  • G Balme

  • January 2014

This hotel was a disappointment.

The corridors upstairs carpets were worn, room toilet bowl badly cracked, loo roll holder at 90 degrees.

The cold water tank immediately above the room made sleep past 5.30 am impossible.

The food was good in the evening although the wrong starter came. In the morning at the breakfast the top two plates were dirty and the food cold. I cannot recommend this hotel. In fact I would avoid it.