No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonia Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
27 Athenaeum Street, The Hoe, , Plymouth, PL1 2RQ
The Caledonia is a Grade II listed Victorian guest house with an emphasis on excellent service and an enjoyable stay. It provides comfortable accommodation in a convenient, central location. All rooms in the guest house have a Freeview TV, tea and coffee making facilities plus biscuits, hair dryer, towels and toiletries and free WiFi access. Available on request is an iron and ironing board. A ground floor en-suite room is available, which is easily accessible from main entrance. Private parking is available for cars ONLY at the rear of the house. A £5 charge will be added should you wish to park in our car park. Alternatively on street parking is available payable to Plymouth City Council, charges vary.It is advised to unload luggage at the front door and then park at the rear. The Caledonia is situated only two minutes walk from the famous Plymouth Hoe, which offers splendid sea views across the Plymouth Sound. It is also convenient for the National Marine Aquarium, Barbican and the city centre’s shops and pavement cafes. We are only a 10 minute drive from the new Plymouth Life Centre which has adequate parking adjacent to Home Park. Please note we operate a 48 HOUR CANCELLATION POLICY and in the event of an online booking cancellation outside of this period of time, an administration fee will be administered. Also at our busier times of the year any deposits paid will be non-refundable.This will be stated at the time of booking by telephone or email reply online booking. For ALL bookings a Credit/Debit card must be shown on arrival.ALL credit/debit card payments will incur a 3% surcharge on settling the payment for the stay. We do not accept people who work a night shift without prior notice! Children under the age of 11 will not be allowed to stay without the owner's permission prior to booking. Prior to booking should you have a food allergy or intolerance please inform us so that we may be able to purchase suitable products.
Picture of Caledonia Guest House, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 34 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small but perfectly formed!
My room had everything I needed and the gentleman on reception was polite and helpful. This was all I needed for my stay in every way. If you need a large room for some reason it might not be for you.

Reviewed by
R Page

From UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we would recommend this B&B to anyone .Everything absolutely excellent
As above 100%

Reviewed by
john boucher

From Penzance, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable b&b. good location and parking
very clean and comfortable b&b. handy for the Hoe and shops.

Reviewed by
b owens

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cosy beautiful guest house
I spent an amazing time in one of the beautifully furnished rooms. The owners were very kind and friendly. They had even offer to us to check in 3 hrs before the proper check in time. Hotel is placed in a lovely plymouth hoe area. Room was cos, warm and clean. Will definately go back and recommend it.

Reviewed by
joanna r

From UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely room, great location, friendly service.
For the first time EVER anywhere, and I always check, there was no dust on top of the wardrobe, which is where I usually keep my bag, so I had to mention that - attention detail.
The room was nicely decorated and I could control the heating to suit.
The B&B is very well located for the middle of town or walking the sea front. Some dedicated parking out the back, or a day ticket to park out the front on the road is only £2.50 which you can get from the landlord.

Reviewed by
R Williams

From London, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful

Reviewed by
Sophie W

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent accommodation,centrally situateted,

Reviewed by
Colin M

From Stretford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location
By chance I found the hotel, and I was not let down. I travelled with my son and although the room was on the top floor you didn't have to go far for the bathroom and shower facilities ( booking was literally last minute). breakfast was superb with everyone catered for and enough cereals to sink a battleship. (well done on choice). Beds comfortable and this is a hotel within easy walking distance to town or the seafront (ask owner how to get there). Thank you so much for the stay.

Reviewed by
Charley L

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at Caledonia
I was thoroughly impressed with the quality of the room and the lovely welcoming service by the couple who own the B&B. Very comfy room and was like at home in Plymouth for the night. Wifi was useful during my stay and english breakfast the following morning was cooked well! Will come again soon as a happy customer, thank you for your service Caledonia!

Reviewed by
J Ho

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint quirky great find
We loved this quaint quirky bed and breakfast, the rooms were light and airy, with everything you needed, bed and pillows very comfy and extremely clean.
Dining room again very welcoming and the breakfast was just the ticket.
This is our second time here and we would definitely recommend to friends and family to stay.
Location was perfect for us, just a very short walk away from the Hoe and Barbican.

Reviewed by
S Mctaggart

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next