No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Caledonia Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
27 Athenaeum Street, The Hoe, , Plymouth, PL1 2RQ
The Caledonia is a Grade II listed Victorian guest house with an emphasis on excellent service and an enjoyable stay. It provides comfortable accommodation in a convenient, central location. All rooms in the guest house have a Freeview TV, tea and coffee making facilities plus biscuits, hair dryer, towels and toiletries and free WiFi access. Available on request is an iron and ironing board. A ground floor en-suite room is available, which is easily accessible from main entrance. Private parking is available at the rear of the house. It is advised to unload luggage at the front door and then park at the rear. The Caledonia is situated only two minutes walk from the famous Plymouth Hoe, which offers splendid sea views across the Plymouth Sound. It is also convenient for the National Marine Aquarium, Barbican and the city centre’s shops and pavement cafes. We are only a 10 minute drive from the new Plymouth Life Centre which has adequate parking adjacent to Home Park. Please note we operate a 48 HOUR CANCELLATION POLICY and in the event of an online booking cancellation outside of this period of time, an administration fee will be administered. Also at our busier times of the year any deposits paid will be non-refundable.This will be stated at the time of booking by telephone or email reply online booking. For ALL bookings a Credit/Debit card must be shown on arrival.ALL credit/debit card payments will incur a 3% surcharge on settling the payment for the stay. We do not accept people who work a night shift without prior notice! Children under the age of 11 will not be allowed to stay without the owner's permission prior to booking.
Picture of Caledonia Guest House, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Guest House, Excellent Food, Great Hosts
This is a great Guest House for exploring Plymouth, everything is in walking distance.

Reviewed by
Vicki Billington

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding
The welcome at the Caledonia was friendly the customer service was excellent.
The breakfast was cooked fresh and was the perfect start for the day.
The B&B is in an ideal location for the town centre, Barbican and the Hoe all within walking distance. Royal William Yard was only a short taxi ride away. The hotel had limited off street parking facilities on a first come first served basis. I left the car here all weekend.
I would definitely book to stay here again.

Reviewed by
Ian Sim

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent guest house
Room spotlessly clean . Food was good . We'll situated with Plymouth hoe , the barbican and city centre all with in 10mins walk .

Reviewed by
A Cox

From Frome, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was clean, tidy and had everything we required. It was a bit on the small side, as was the bathroom. The owners were polite and happily changed the feather pillows out for synthetic ones when requested.
An option to have a later breakfast would have been appreciated as we could have done with a lie in and 8am is quite early for a weekend. The food was nice though - good quality meat and well cooked.
My only real complaint would be that the main front door was very difficult to close unless slammed. As we were at the front of the house and right above the door, we were woken up every time someone came back to the guest house (into the early hours of the first night of our stay).

Reviewed by
K Francis

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best in Plymouth
Great place ,great people make you feel very welcome will defo stay here again . Thank you

Reviewed by
k reeves

From Rochester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just really great!
We only stayed one night at the Caledonia but would certainly recommend it from our experience. The location is fantastic being just a 5 minute walk to the city centre. There is private parking available and if those spaces are full you can purchase a token from the owners to park on the street- a really nice touch. The bed was extremely comfortable and the breakfast really scrummy. We would definitely look to stay again.

Reviewed by
B Dalton

From Falmouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place for a few nights away
We stayed in a double ensuite which was fresh and immaculately clean, although very compact (which necessitated a certain amount of planning when moving around the room!). The guest house is on a street with many other similar properties and our stay was for 3 nights over a weekend. Our room was at the front of the guest house and there was quite a bit of street noise on the Friday and Saturday nights, with passers-by and vehicles but otherwise it was fine. The owners were very hospitable and the breakfast offered plenty of choice, including a vegetarian cooked option. We would definitely stay there again and would recommend.

Reviewed by
Demetrius B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Caledonia guest house
Very friendly,good value in all excellent 9/10

Reviewed by
Darrell Davis

From Droitwich, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The guest house was clean , the owners very friendly and helpful and was close.by to all the main attractions,,would defiantly stay there again

Reviewed by
rachel r

From St Ives, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very helpful and extremely nice couple who run it would stay again close to town center

Reviewed by
j hobbs

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next