No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Number 17

4Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
17 Pulteney Road , Bath, BA2 4EZ
Number 17 in Bath is home to some of the most original, enchanting, and beautifully styled, boutique holiday apartments in Bath. Our double en-suite studio apartments are perfect for couples while our two-bedroom garden apartment sleeps up to six. These can be booked individually, or as a whole house, which sleep up to fourteen. Inside we’re a wonderful mixture of ornate Victorian features - double gold and black chandeliers, pink and white marble fireplaces, and floor to ceiling bay windows - and elegant interiors - original art, gold leaf beds, and soft cashmere throws.

With gorgeous king sized beds, large sofas, galley kitchens, breakfast tables and each fully en-suite. There’s even a two bed garden apartment with a large garden for the kids to run around in. You’ll find us in the city centre, quietly tucked alongside Great Pulteney Street. Discreet and unusual we're the city's best kept secret! Nothing’s too much trouble to make your stay more special. We can provide BBQ equipment, garden furniture, free WI-FI, and phone adaptors. Free parking is available on a 1 car per room basis.

The eclectic style of our apartments reflects Bath’s own quirky combination; A UNESCO heritage city of awe-inspiring architecture dotted with beautiful boutique shops. Located just a short stroll from the Roman Baths and the new Therme Spa, our apartments look back over across this spectacular city-scape to Bath Abbey, Pulteney Bridge, The Weir and beyond.
Picture of Number 17, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 78 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
99% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent venue
No 17 provided superb accommodation within a shirt walk to the city centre.

Reviewed by
J Marshall

From Wellington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Characterful hotel, well appointed, great views from rear
If you want to stay in a (not overly) grand old Bathonian town house, then this is the hotel for you. The soft furnishings, beds and sofas are sumptuously comfortable, the carpets are deep and the decor is in keeping with a property of this substance. The en-suite facilities are similarly tasteful, although just a little tight for a slightly clumsy middle-aged gent (in one of the rooms). The kitchen areas are functional rather than attractive, but are cleverly part-screened from the living/sleeping areas.
Views from the rear bedrooms are fabulous, overlooking the cricket ground and Bath Abbey, with a wealth of Bathstone buildings all around. Morning coffee at the window table is a real treat. Front-facing rooms look on to the grand old road. If you're a very light sleeper who likes an open window, be prepared for a surprising amount of traffic noise through the night.
This was a family home and it's now run by one of the (grown up) children who lived here. You can tell the place is loved and it feels like you're staying in a hospitable person's home, rather than an anonymous hotel.
Town is just a short walk away. Take your pick of beautiful old town avenues and enjoy the ten minute stroll in to one of the world's finest cities.

Reviewed by
Tim K

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small, but comfortable. Shower/bathroom very small and if you are on the large size you may struggle to fit in! We had a warm welcome on arrival. Stunning views of the Abbey and the Rec. I would stay there again.

Reviewed by
Ken B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location for Bath
The welcome, facilities and location made this a great place to stay for visiting Bath. Would recommend and would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
D Dodd

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just Right!
We booked a room here for the weekend. What a find! Classic Georgian building within a ten minute pleasant walk to the city centre. The location was perfect, no noise from the traffic, though our room was at the back. The church bells peal a bit on a Sunday morning but we could have been woken by worse things. There is a driveway where you can park your car, which again is a real bonus in Bath. The little kitchen corner was very well equipped even though we only made coffee. No need to cook when you are a stone's throw from some nice cafés on Poulteney bridge. We would definitely stay here again because of the character and homely feel of the place.

Reviewed by
Maria C

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Bath experience
Our Bath experience was made all the better by the wonderful apartment at Number 17. We were made very welcome by both the owner and his representative who showed us to our room. The room was extremely comfortable, beautifully furnished in keeping with the Georgian surroundings and had everything we needed for our 4 day stay. The bed was very comfortable, the compact kitchenette was clean, with a full sized fridge and cooker/hob, and the bathroom had a huge shower - wonderful. The parking was a very good bonus and it was a lovely, short walk into town. We would definitely book again.

Reviewed by
Mike T

From Haywards Heath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but shame about the noise!
We were given the ground floor room closest to the road which was noisy, in addition the fridge was noisy too so we unplugged it. Otherwise good location at reasonable rate.


Reviewed by
Heather F

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mixed Bag
On arrival we were upgraded to the two bedroomed basement apartment while the shower in our booked room was being repaired. This was a spacious well appointed apartment with use of the attractive garden. No complaints there. Unfortunately the accommodation we moved into on the second day was well appointed if a little dark and cold. The shower room was tiny and I can quite understand why the glass shower surround had been broken because there was no room to move around. Any larger person would have found difficulty in negotiating the limited space. I certainly found it cramped. Apart from that, the kitchen area was adequate but the additional sun lounge area was exposed to people walking by. The beds were too soft for my taste, but that is a personal preference. I realise that bath is an expensive place to stay but I still think that this apartment was over priced. looking forward to my autumn break on the Algarve where a three bedroomed luxury apartment with roof terrace costs a mere £58 per night! The two factors in its favour were that it provided free parking and was within a ten minute walk of the city centre.

Reviewed by
Laurence B

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great mini-apartment room just 5 minutes' walk from Bath centre
Really enjoyed our stay at Number 17. Good size room, fantastic view of the cricket ground, stadium, Cathedral and more. Just 5-10 minutes' walk from the centre of Bath and all the shops, market, spa etc. There's a mini supermarket just 2 minutes' walk up the hill so you can make the most of the kitchen area of the room near the top floor. The bathroom was a little cramped but this allows space for a little dining table and room to manoeuvre in the kitchen. Clean and tidy. Very polite and friendly meet & greet from the owner.

Reviewed by
David H

From Cardiff, Wales
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good
We enjoyed our stay (two nights). The location is excellent. The room was large and characterful - an old house so high ceilings and decorative cornices etc. Well presented and decorated. Tiny shower room en suite with a poor shower, and a useful kitchenette in the room. I would have given it a higher review if we had been provided with cleaning materials like washing up liquid, and been given a spare toilet roll (there just a small amount on the roll in the bathroom). For the price I would have expected that. Surely it is better for the owners too if the guests can clean up and do the washing up?!

Reviewed by
Deborah C

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 Next