No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Ackmans Cottage B&B

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Ackmans Cottage South Huish, Kingsbridge, TQ7 3EH
Newly opened for business, Ackmans Cottage is a 17th Century Devon 'chocolate box' thatched cottage full of old world charm, set in a completely rural setting. With country walks that start straight outside the gate and Thurlestone beach, one of South Devon's most stunning beaches just a mile away, Ackmans Cottage is ideally located for that 'get away from it all' Devon break.
The beautiful seaside resort and yachting centre of Salcombe with it's stunning estuary views and high quality restaurants is just 3 miles away, as is the equally delightful town of Kingsbridge with it's local amenities and supermarkets. Please note, no pets.
Picture of Ackmans Cottage B&B, Kingsbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful house in rural setting
Beautiful 17th century house own by friendly couple a mile from the beach. Be ready to drive on narrow single lane roads.

Reviewed by
Neil Fitzgerald

From Poughkeepsie , USA
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Place to Stay
Nice place, off the beaten track. The owners were very friendly. Only criticism is they do not leave the wi-fi running,although they are happy to switch it on if you ask.
(No cell coverage for 3 mobile subscribers.)

Reviewed by
Robert J

From Berkshire, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to relax and get away.
My husband, daughter and I stayed at the cottage for a long weekend to have a change of scenery and a well deserved break. We live in Paignton so the location of the cottage was only 45 minutes from where we live. The cottage is really easy to find, the sat nav will guide you there easily. Our welcome was wonderful from Daryl, Julliette was at work. Our room was beautiful and clean and max the dog was really friendly (and I'm not a fan of dogs), the bathroom has a roll top bath and the cottage really does look like a a it does on the website, picture perfect! The gardens surrounding the cottage are beautiful and well maintained with a trampoline for children (and adults too).
The cottage is situated approx a 20 minute walk from Thurlestone beach which is beautiful and sandy, and you can swim there and go rock pooling . There are a variety of restaurants and pubs near by that sell really fresh home cooked food. Ask Daryl and Julliette for recommendations!
The breakfast at the cottage was delicious and Taylor made to whatever you like. We had two good days of weather but if it is raining there is a DVD player in the room and a variety of DVDs to watch, which made a rainy Sunday a real treat, lying on our beds eating biscuits watching "Up".
Daryl and Juliette are the loveliest people and I spent a good deal of time chatting to them both. I would highly recommend this cottage for a complete break away from everything and everyone. You will struggle to get any phone reception on a mobile phone but that turned out to be a blessing in disguise as you really do relax and enjoy the beautiful surroundings and wonderful hospitality of this lovely couple and their 17th century cottage.

Reviewed by
Lee Ballinger

From Paignton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cosy family friendly
lovely cottage, with homely feeling, beautiful shabby chic bedroom and bathroom and a lovely breakfast, very friendly and accomodating

Reviewed by
M Norman

From Crediton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Daryl and Juliet welcomed us warmly and could not have been more friendly. They were informative about the area and booked our restaurants. The dog was lovely and the cottage was so perfect we didn't want to leave. A fantastic short break. The cottage is off the beaten track so quiet and privacy are ensured but it is only a short hop back to civilisation. A lovely beach is a 2 minute drive down the lane.

Reviewed by
stuart thackrah

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

South Huish was not easy to find and the B&B was tucked away even further.We left home on 18 May so Late Rooms email with maps arrived too late to be of use! The house was a private home and the owners cooked us a fine breakfast each morning. The accommodation was inferior and at £40 pppn was overpriced and we would not return for that reason. We had decent pub meals at Hope Cove and Marlborough.

Reviewed by
Albert Adams

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a real country cottage
after an interesting drive to find the cottage!!!! we loved it, as did our five year old son. our hosts were very friendly and helpful. would stop there again in the future

Reviewed by
elizabeth w

From Burton on Trent, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ackmans.
Enjoyed a two night stay , in quiet location owners very friendly , would consider staying here again if in the area.

Reviewed by
s lane

From sunbury on thames, England
Who stayed in August 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.