No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Chillington House

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Chillington, Kingsbridge, TQ7 2JX
Chillington House a friendly Bed & Breakfast Hotel, Situated on the coastal road between Kingsbridge and Dartmouth at the top of the Salcombe estuary in South Devon, in the picturesque village of Chillington. The perfect location for exploring the South hams, an idylic spot for walking, sailing, fishing and many other activties.
Our delicious breakfasts include a large buffet including organic yoghurt's, fresh seasonal fruit, house recipe muesli, cereal, freshly baked bread with Jeannie's home-made jams and home-made fruit compote. Cooked breakfasts are freshly prepared to order by chef Adam with locally sourced ingredients served in the conservatory or by the log fire.
Our comfortable ensuite rooms are spacious and decorated in a relaxed style.
Picture of Chillington House, Kingsbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 18 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight February stay
What a jewel Chillington House Hotel is. I received a really warm welcome. I was a bit of an unusual visitor with some curious requests. I needed to leave really early and I was provided with a packed lunch as opposed to a breakfast, great flexibility. Additionally, I arranged for my bags to be collected the morning after I had left, (I was hiking and had the bag forwarded). Again no problem, just a positive approach. I also arranged for my bags to be shipped back at the end of my hike, even though I would not be staying again. All these curious requests were tackled really positively. I had a great short stay in a really well-equipped comfy room. I was also given great information about local places to eat, cash machines etc. Thank you. It was great!

Reviewed by
Kevin Gladwin

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Salcombe location
Great hosts, very clean, great breakfast

Reviewed by
Mark Oldfield

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Chillington House
Having just spent our 3rd stay at Chillington House it is as good today as it was 3 years ago when we first dicovered this B & B gem. Adam and Jeanie are a delightful couple, always very helpful, friendly and accommodating. Their young staff also the same. Their plum compote is a yearly treat to take home. Always a pleasure to come back. Thank you!

Reviewed by
A Davenport

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptional b&b
Only stayed one night, wished it was longer. Lovely room and en suite. Breakfast just perfect and friendly owners, that were polite but not too 'present'.
Best b&b we have stayed in, others of a similar price have not compared.

Reviewed by
Tanya C

From Petersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, clean & very welcoming. Very family orientated & lovely garden. Would definitely recommend
It was a very welcoming B&B. On arrival we had coffee brought to us in their lovely garden. It is very familary orientated with a lovely family lounge where everyone feels welcome. Breakfasts were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very large and lovely and clean. I would definitely recommend Chillington House.

Reviewed by
Fiona S

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B & B hotel
Lovely place to stay - very clean and comfortable. Short distance to Slapton sands by car. Good food at the Tradesmans Arms in the next village.

Reviewed by
J Stirk

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Creme de la creme B and B
I cannot fault this B and B, it really was a home from home. I was made very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. I had a lovely big room which was spotlessly clean. The bed was blissfully comfortable and there was plenty of choice for breakfast - all beautifully presented and delicious. I would recommend it to anyone and hope to go back.

Reviewed by
Christine Mason

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High Quality Accommodation
Stayed with my wife as we went to a wedding locally. Very flexible re the time of dropping off our bags and we were offered refreshments on arrival. Extremely comfortable and spacious room, superb breakfast and very helpful hosts. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Phil Grimes

From Newton Abbot, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Accommodation was very clean and comfortable although the room was quite small. Although there was a stool, a small chair would have been useful. We did not actually use the TV but noted that it was flat on the wall and did not swivel which made it more awkward for viewing from far bed. We would not hesitate to use the hotel again.

Reviewed by
Norma L

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a visit, Excellent facility!!!
Our experience at Chillington House was excellent in all respects. First class facility, welcome, service and breakfast. We will definitely return when next in the area.

Reviewed by
Ian Phillip

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next