No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dorchester Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
59 St Brannocks Road, , , Ilfracombe, EX34 8EQ

The Dorchester is a tastefully restored Guest House. We have been accredited with a 4 Star Silver Award and a Breakfast Award. We are a short walk from the historic Tunnels Beaches and seafront. We offer Free Parking and Free Wi-Fi throughout.
The elegant, stylishly furnished rooms at The Dorchester feature Flat Screen TV, DVD Player, hairdryer, generous hospitality tray and a small fridge stocked daily with fresh milk and a selection of wines, beers and soft drinks. Guests may also make use of free W-Fi and our new Guest Lounge.
Breakfasts are freshly prepared using locally sourced produce, and are served daily in the bright and airy dining room. Recently received a Breakfast Ward from Visit Britain.
Fully licensed, there is a range of wines , beers and spirits available.
The beautiful Exmoor National Park is 15 minutes drive away, whilst Ilfracombe Golf Club is just 5 minute drive. The pretty harbour, Blue Flag Tunnels Beaches, restaurants and shops are within walking distance. A bus stop directly outside the guest house can take guests to Barnstaple, Bideford and surrounding areas.
Picture of Dorchester Guest House, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
This is the second time I have stayed and it is excellent. I actually come from Ilfracombe and was visiting family so I am in a good position to compare it to what Ilfracombe as a whole has to offer and I cannot recommend it too highly. The breakfast is also absolutely excellent. Location is great - within walking distance of lovely Bicclescombe Park, a gentle stroll to the High Street or Wildersmouth Beach and if you don t feel like the exercise the bus stop is right there. Lots to see, great galleries in the town, a spot of fishing, wonderful walking, some really good restaurants and bistros - enjoy!!

Reviewed by
Angela C

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A repeat visitor
We had stayed here 2 years ago and we're very happy with the quality of the room and service so when I had to come down to Bideford for a business meeting I thought it would be nice to treat the wife to an overnight stay in Ilfracombe. Fortunately, the Dorchester had a room available and we were not disappointed. We will definitely use this as our base for future holidays in Devon

Reviewed by
Anthony Smith

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply the Best.
From the warmest of welcomes to the friendly farewell our stay here was top class. Beautifully clean and fragrant, the rooms were well stocked with nibbles and drinks and priced well below most hotels, this is simply the best guest house(or Hotel)that we have stayed at. We will certainly and wholeheartedly recommend to everyone we know, and would not stay anywhere else in Ilfracombe. Thank you Julienne and Peter.

Reviewed by
patrick olliver

From Southsea, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable accomodation
Beautifully clean, wonderful breakfast and very friendly welcome - would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Woods

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous B & B
Cannot praise highly enough. Excellent all round. Ensuite room well appointed with normal teamaking facilities plus mini fridge with fresh milk! Comfortable bed and very large shower. Good choice of breakfasts, all freshly cooked. Julienne, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. In all, one of the best B & B's we have ever stayed in. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Janet R

From Sawbridgeworth, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best one we have stayed at for a very long time

Reviewed by
g richards

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A fantastic guest house
We stayed a Saturday night in the family room, which was a single entry door leading to a double room with sofa and then into a twin room with en-suite. The room is a great size and we all found it very relaxing. It was very peaceful and we never heard any of the other guests even with it being fully booked. We would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends.

Reviewed by
Diane H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B
A great B&B close to Ilfracombe town and beaches. Owner was very friendly and helpful - allowing us to check in early to get ready for a wedding. Rooms were very nice, with modern fittings in the bathroom and a well supplied fridge in the room. The fridge was the only small downside - as it was quite noisy during the night, but only as we had one of the smaller rooms.
Breakfast was delicious, with a wide variety of choices available.
I would definitely recommend staying at the Dorchester to friends and family.

Reviewed by
J Payne

From Byfleet, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful!
Probably the nicest guest house we've stayed in. Lovely lady who runs it, couldn't do enough for us, room was beautiful with lots of thoughtful touches. Location a little out of town but we didn't mind the 15 min walk, it was worth it for the quality of the guest house. Will be recommending to family and friends

Reviewed by
Jade T

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely relaxing stay
Beautiful accommodation located a short walk from Ilfracombe. Pleasurable stay, warm welcome from hostess, comfortable room with flat screen tv (loved the Cath Kidston bedspread & mugs in the room), delicious breakfasts, very clean hotel. I liked the little touches such as fresh milk in the fridge daily, chocolate mints, selection of tea, coffee, hot choc, horlicks & biscuits. I'd definitely recommend this b&b to others. Thanks for a lovely stay. :)

Reviewed by
J Wilson

From Wednesbury, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next