No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dorchester Guest House

4Visit England Assessed Guest House Ratings explained
59 St Brannocks Rd, Ilfracombe, EX34 8EQ
Set in an impressively restored Victorian building, the 4-star Silver accredited Dorchester Guest House is a short walk from the pretty seafront Harbour and the historic Tunnels Beaches. It boasts free parking (reservation required) and free Wi-Fi.

The elegantly furnished rooms feature a flat-screen TV, DVD player, hairdryer, generous hospitality tray and a small fridge stocked daily with fresh milk, wines, beers and soft drinks. Guests may also use the free W-Fi and relaxing guest lounge.

An award-winning breakfast is freshly prepared using locally sourced produce served daily in the bright and airy dining room. The honesty bar offers a range of wines, beers and spirits.

The beautiful Exmoor National Park is 15 minutes' drive away, whilst Ilfracombe Golf Club is just a 5-minute drive. The pretty harbour, Blue Flag Tunnels Beaches, restaurants and shops are within walking distance. A bus stop directly outside the guest house can take you to Barnstaple, Bideford and the surrounding areas.
Picture of Dorchester Guest House, Ilfracombe at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We travelled to Ilfracombe for a wedding. The Dorchester was an excellent guest house. An extremely friendly establishment with lovely rooms and facilities in the rooms. The breakfast was one not too be missed with a full English breakfast along with home made preserves. We were made very welcome and even my guide dog was left a bowl of treats for after her dinner. I would highly recommend.

Reviewed by
Stephen D

From Torquay, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

delicious breakfast
Stayed at the Dorcester with my 13 year old daughter for 2 nights. Room was very clean, although rather small. There was tea making facility with milk in the fridge, as well as complimentary biscuits every day. TV was big and the beds were comfy. We had a good nights sleep, and did not hear any outside noises - which was great. The quality of the breakfast was fantastic and highly recommended - I especially loved the sausages which were meaty and tasty, and so was the bacon! The scrambled eggs were also deliciously prepared. Even the cereal was top quality. The owner was very friendly, helpful and accommodating.

Reviewed by
Kay M

From Barnet, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The whole of the accommodation was really clean, and beautifully decorated throughout, we'll be back
Perfect location to explore north Devon. We booked the family room which was really spacious, nicely decorated and a god send having a separate room for the kids to sleep In!

Reviewed by
Brendan C

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great B&B with a warm welcome.
Great welcome lovely clean rooms all you want to expect but so often you fall short of .
More like a quality boutique hotel really with very reasonable mini bar use of DVD,s and a fantastic quality breakfast ! Many thanks

Reviewed by
Simon T

From Evesham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place to stay
This is the second time I have stayed and it is excellent. I actually come from Ilfracombe and was visiting family so I am in a good position to compare it to what Ilfracombe as a whole has to offer and I cannot recommend it too highly. The breakfast is also absolutely excellent. Location is great - within walking distance of lovely Bicclescombe Park, a gentle stroll to the High Street or Wildersmouth Beach and if you don t feel like the exercise the bus stop is right there. Lots to see, great galleries in the town, a spot of fishing, wonderful walking, some really good restaurants and bistros - enjoy!!

Reviewed by
Angela C

From Corsham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A repeat visitor
We had stayed here 2 years ago and we're very happy with the quality of the room and service so when I had to come down to Bideford for a business meeting I thought it would be nice to treat the wife to an overnight stay in Ilfracombe. Fortunately, the Dorchester had a room available and we were not disappointed. We will definitely use this as our base for future holidays in Devon

Reviewed by
Anthony Smith

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Simply the Best.
From the warmest of welcomes to the friendly farewell our stay here was top class. Beautifully clean and fragrant, the rooms were well stocked with nibbles and drinks and priced well below most hotels, this is simply the best guest house(or Hotel)that we have stayed at. We will certainly and wholeheartedly recommend to everyone we know, and would not stay anywhere else in Ilfracombe. Thank you Julienne and Peter.

Reviewed by
patrick olliver

From Southsea, England
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely comfortable accomodation
Beautifully clean, wonderful breakfast and very friendly welcome - would definitely stay here again.

Reviewed by
J Woods

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous B & B
Cannot praise highly enough. Excellent all round. Ensuite room well appointed with normal teamaking facilities plus mini fridge with fresh milk! Comfortable bed and very large shower. Good choice of breakfasts, all freshly cooked. Julienne, the owner, is very friendly and helpful. In all, one of the best B & B's we have ever stayed in. Will definitely return.

Reviewed by
Janet R

From Sawbridgeworth, England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

best one we have stayed at for a very long time

Reviewed by
g richards

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next