No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The George Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
High Street, Norton St Philip, , Bath, BA2 7LH
Fourteen minutes from Bath and set in rolling green, Somerset hills, this 700 year old inn has much to delight - it is a feast for the eyes and boasts every traditional comfort.
Character bedrooms with beams and antique furniture, cosy bars, an ancient galleried courtyard, and wonderful food (We strive to source our produce locally and endeavour to make everything here on site) served in a choice of beamed dining rooms.
The George, a grade one listed building is situated in an idyllic setting with beautiful views. Our garden overlooks the village church against a backdrop of un-spoilt rural scenery. In the adjoining field there is a children’s playground.
Norton St Philip village is a real find as it has come through the centuries remarkably undisturbed. Architecturally, you can see mullion windows, stone-tiled roofs and the local stone facings of the cottages. There are mediaeval buildings and a number of cottages built in 17th and 18th centuries.
For explorers the national Trust Village of Lacock and the historic town of Bradford Upon Avon are a short drive away and a visit to the nearby Longleat House, one of the most magnificent stately homes and gardens in Britain together with its safari park, is not to be missed.
The local country side is intersected by footpaths and bridleways which are great for walks and discovering our local wildlife.
We are also dog friendly, and there is a small charge of £10 for them to stay with you.
The George Inn, a stunning setting and a perfect location for a varied and interesting break.
Picture of The George Inn, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the george norton st philip
having to have breakfast in a dirty smelly bar on sticky bar furniture because the manager felt that they could not look after both the bar and the very nice dining room was for me poor. sharing my breakfast with a repairman attempting to fix the fridge was not very good, we felt quite uncomfortable.

Reviewed by
a tweedy

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Inn
Loved the George Inn. Very old and full of character, but great service and hospitality.
Not a huge choice on food, but good enough. Would recommend to anyone in the area.

Reviewed by
Judith M

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Midweek break
Stayed here for a couple nights as a short break near to Bath. Great old Inn with good friendly service and food.
Only two issues, the room we stayed in (King Charles) was very warm and the fan in the room didn't work and the staff were unable to find find a replacement. The other issue is although only a small village we were situated at the front of the Inn, and it was a very busy road with traffic noise throughout the night.

Reviewed by
Susan Mager

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The George Inn Norton St Philip
A beautiful, historic, magical place to stay.

Reviewed by
s lewis

From Totnes, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely, comfortable, atmospheric place to stay
We were in awe of the surrounding scenery of The George Inn when we arrived, it was just so beautiful. The room we stayed in was clean and had the oldie worldly ambience about it which we found to be relaxing. We had been eating at the bar, although we had a choice of eating in their dining room, the Dungeon, or another room next to the bar (lounge). The food was good, although I would have preferred one or two more options on the menu. The staff, I thought, were nice and very accommodating of their guests' needs. We will definitely stay there again in the future, to visit Bath, Longleat, or Haynes International Motor Museum which was an amazing experience. It was a very pleasant stay indeed at the beautiful George Inn...thank you!

Reviewed by
N Marchant

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect stay
Excellent all round - perfect room, comfortable and very clean. Friendly, warm welcome. Luxurious stay - worth every penny

Reviewed by
Philip S

From Reading, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

1 Night stay in July
I booked a room after spotting the George Inn on late rooms. My girlfriend and I were going to Bath for the day and needed somewhere to stay the night before.
Having once had a pint and a lunch in the pub a few years ago while driving from Bristol to Bournemouth I knew it would be a nice place to eat and drink. My girlfriend and I are interested in history so it was nice to stay in a beautiful, functioning historic building.
We were greeted by a nice girl as we arrived and felt thoroughly looked after throughout our stay - having dinner,a few beers and then breakfast the following morning.
The food was excellent as was the Wadworth beer. I would happily stay here again.
:)

Reviewed by
David B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay at the George
Fantastic two night stay. We will be returning for a repeat visit!

Reviewed by
Michael Davis

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded Expectations
A fabulous historic building and friendly service - the perfect combination.

Reviewed by
R Morriss

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Historical
Thoroughly enjoyed our 2 nights at this unique historical hotel.

Reviewed by
Robin m

From Luton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next