No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - YHA Bristol

4Visit England Assessed Hostel Ratings explained
14 NARROW QUAY , BRISTOL, BS1 4QA
A high quality, four star hostel providing a relaxed oasis in the heart of Bristol. This friendly, vibrant and culturally rich and diverse city, boasts many world famous attractions.

A great city centre location makes this a perfect base. Explore the harbourside and old city areas, and visit the magnificent Avon Gorge, Brunel’s suspension bridge or enjoy Bristol’s cultural base of theatres, museums, art galleries and thriving live music and club scene. A former waterfront grain house, this hostel has been sympathetically restored to offer relaxed cosmopolitan surroundings.

We are now offering free Wi-Fi to everyone!

***Please note, we do not charge an additional temporary membership fee. Discounts are not available for members of YHA (England & Wales) or IYHF as part of this booking.***

***IMPORTANT - All bookings made via Laterooms for more than 16 people will be cancelled. Bookings can be made for up to 14 nights only. Any booking made for over 14 nights will be cancelled.***
Picture of YHA Bristol, BRISTOL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 78% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Super Location
I needed a cheap and last minute place to stay after being called for an interview. I paid more for a private room that slept two. The room was basic, as was expected, but not in especially good condition and a little grubby around the edges. It was also absolutely freezing. However, it's a youth hostel and I was certainly not expecting the ritz. The location was superb being right on the waterfront in the centre of Bristol and therefore it was excellent value for money. I was also very impressed with the communal areas and the fact that reception was open 24hrs and you could buy snacks and drinks until very late. The lady on reception was a bit glum but helpfully provided me with the number of a cab firm.

Reviewed by
V Hinde-Taylor

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not quite what we expected
5 storey building but lift not working - doubt it ever does - so was a struggle to walk up to 3rd floor, especially when arriving with luggage. Booked private room with en-suite but toilet was not working, but did get slight price reduction. Also one of 2 other toilets on 3rd floor not working. Extremely noisy hostel every night and all night, such inconsiderate guests. Location of hostel excellent. Staff very friendly.

Reviewed by
Carole S

From Guildford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room
Very basic for price, but great location!

Reviewed by
B Courtney

From Amersham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good place to stay, but make sure you didn't leave anything behind
I left my Ipad charger accidentally, I did come back to check it but its gone. o well ..

Reviewed by
lorencia t

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic location
Excellent value for accommodation in such good location. No frills accommodation but clean comfortable beds and good shower in our en-suite room. We were able to make own drinks in self-catering kitchen but also good value bar and snack menu. Several lounge areas made up for lack of space in room. Only downside was rooms so hot with small window that only opened a bit for safety, however it was exceptionally hot weather when we stayed. If there had been an option to hire a fan we would have used it.

Reviewed by
wendy C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Location
The hostel is steps from the M Shed museum and right on the water, with lots going on--small parties on boats, street performers. The kitchen was immaculate, the place well run, and there were interesting people there of all ages, so if you cook, you may meet some. I wish they and other hostels tended to offer more private rooms for two. We had to pay for a quad.

Reviewed by
Caroly Jones

From Ramah, USA
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

yha bristol
Great value for money in nice location. Shame about breakfast leaves a bit to be desired

Reviewed by
P Calvert

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good value the location was fantastic. A good time was had by all.
The only downfall was that the rooms were so hot it was unbearable! i did ask if we could rent a fan but this wasn't available, maybe they should try this out!

Reviewed by
susan blundell

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place to stay very friendly staff
The YHA was in a lovely location right on the river,plently of places to eat and drink near by!
Staff were lovely and helped us book a taxi as we weren't from the area which was very kind.
The room was nice and clean small but it was fine for us. The toilets and shower room was clean everytime we used them!
I would stay here again and recommend to my friends!

Reviewed by
Emma H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed after a night out clubbing
Once we finally found the hostel and its parking area, we were in the hostel and settled in our room very quickly. We were very impressed by the cleanliness of the room. It was cheap & cheerful and fantastic value for money, I would stay again next time in a heartbeat.

Reviewed by
Matt Ganfield

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next