No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Blorenge House

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
57 59, Staplegrove Road , Taunton, TA1 1DG
Blorenge House is an idyllic early Victorian Hotel that provides homely comforts in the heart of Taunton, Somerset. The residence hosts 20 pleasant bedrooms, including five four poster bedrooms and several family rooms. Each room is equipped with tea and coffee making amenities, a flat screen Freeview television, as well as free super fast fibre optic Wi-Fi. There is also an outdoor swimming pool located on the premises which can be used during the summer months.

Situated within a five minute walk from Taunton town centre, the Blorenge is also within walking distance from the railway and bus stations, as well as Somerset County Cricket Ground and Taunton school. The hotel is only a ten minute drive from Junction 25 on the M5, making it easily accessible by car, which can be parked in our large car park at the front of the building. Blorenge House is the ideal place to stay during your time in Taunton.

Picture of Blorenge House, Taunton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value for money
Great location, great value for money, great service
Entrance is at the side (not rear as stated by sign at front)
Reception bell is inside, to the left of the stairway, under the opaque window

Reviewed by
Simon T

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wont be returning
On arrival the front door was locked once a member of staff answered we were taken to the reception area if you can call it that it was a table with a card machine on it we were shown to a ground floor room thankfully it had a ensuite there was no restaurant or bar in the building and were not informed of anywhere locally to go and in the morning at 6am we were rudely awoke by the sound of doors slamming as we had been situated next to the kitchen which was incredibly noisey and could hear everything being said and all the pots and pans the breakfast was also not great I've never felt like i don't want to go back to somewhere but i was relieved when i left and went home will not recommend

Reviewed by
nicola s

From Bridgwater, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very comfortable stay

Reviewed by
c raidi

From London, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A delightful hotel with beautiful rooms
Pleasantly surprised by the four poster bed and the size of the en-suite bathroom. The best nights sleep I've had in some time. I shall return!

Reviewed by
C Innes

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

As there were major road works on Staplegrove Road it would have been helpful if Blorenge House had a sign to direct us to the house. We found it very confusing as we were not aware that the road was a 'one-way' due to the works.

Reviewed by
M Murray

From Newtownards, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value family room in a traditional small hotel
We stayed in the family room which was plenty big enough for two adults and two teenage children. Good value for money and the swimming pool after a days drive a bonus.

Reviewed by
D rogers

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient and satisfactory.
The hotel is adequate and is located centrally. Unfortunately, I could only book a room with a shared shower and toilet. I have stayed here before in better rooms.

Reviewed by
G Woolway

From Winscombe, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice room and breakfast - shame about the staff
Blorenge House is certainly an impressive building, and although the medieval style decor isn't my thing, it was immaculately clean and tidy.
What spoiled the experience for me slightly was the surliness of some of the staff. Others were more polite but not exactly warm in their welcome. Granted, I turned up late on a Sunday evening with little warning, but that's what the Late Rooms service is for!I was disappointed not to be shown where the buffet was at breakfast time, or asked what kind of eggs and toast I wanted. Their vegetarian sausages were good, and the portions generous, but my eggs were over-cooked.
I returned to the hotel late at night to find the main entrance still unlocked and no staff around, which would be disconcerting for some people, especially if staying on their own. A different latch system would help the door close more easily and be more secure. At least a sign politely asking guests to close the door behind them after 10pm or so!
Friendlier, more helpful & welcoming service would make this nice hotel really excellent.

Reviewed by
Catherine W

From Biggleswade, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for cricket fans
Myself and my friendd stayed in a twin room to visit Somerset CCC. The accomodation was very good, the staff were extremely helpful and polite but best of all the hotal was located perfectly for the cricket and allowed us to park at the hotel for the 2 days without question - excellent customer service.

Reviewed by
Ian S

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent B&B in a great location

Reviewed by
Ben Davis

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next