No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Dartington Hall

4Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Dartington Hall Dartington, Totnes, TQ9 6EL
Dartington Hall sits on a 1200 acre private estate surrounded by Grade 2 listed gardens. The setting is both tranquil and serene, and is the perfect get away. Rooms at Dartington Hall are set around the medieval courtyard, with a mix of Doubles, Twins, Singles and Suites, furnished for ultimate comfort and relaxation. Dartington Hall itself is a Grade 1 listed building, steeped in rich heritage and history.

There is plenty to do at Dartington, including a visit to the Barn Cinema which offers a selection of films and live opera streams and the Haven Spa (a 20 minute walk through the beautiful gardens) where guests of Dartington Hall will receive a discount on treatments. The newly refurbished White Hart Bar & Restaurant now offers a British Tapas menu celebrating the very best of local and seasonal produce. During your stay, why not visit The Shops at Dartington, a collection of boutique shops or High Cross House, one of Britain’s most celebrated Modern residences both located on the Dartington estate.

Dartington Hall boasts first class conference facilities and offers activities on the estate for groups including teambuilding, orienteering, archery, fishing, canoeing, kayaking, rock climbing, mountain biking and more.
Picture of Dartington Hall, Totnes at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a stay
I stayed at Dartington Hall as it looked appealing. I was not disappointed! Staff were really friendly and helpful, room was comfortable and clean and the food was fresh and appetising! Where else can you stay and watch a film in a cinema at the same venue?

Reviewed by
Tom Rogers

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent all round
We had a double room in the West Wing. To stay in such a beautiful building and in such beautiful surroundings was a joy. Our room was quiet and clean, lovely, comfortable bed, nice to have a kettle and tea and coffee making facilities. We enjoyed the breakfast but we do prefer to have fruit and yoghurt and then toast available. The hot breakfast looked fine. The coffee was out of this world and the local jam selection was great. Good service.
The estate is wonderful with walks in all directions, beautiful gardens, cafés and ice cream on offer, Dartington Village a walk away if you're a shopaholic. Totnes town only a short drive away.

Reviewed by
Ann F

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room for improvement.
A beautiful estate and buildings with a fabulous vista. The twin room was very small but ok for a short stay. The beds were comfortable and the facilities adequate. The most dissapointing element of the stay was the breakfast, which was buffet style on the Friday and served on the Saturday. Only one very sugary yoghurt available on the Friday and no others available at all. (menu states yoghurts available.) No yoghurts allegedly delivered on the Saturday. The mushrooms and tomatoes were cold despite being in a Chaffing dish. Toast arriived burnt around the edges (Fri). Breakfast served between 7.30am - 9.30am; by 9.00pm there was very little choice and juices not topped up. What concerned me the most, was that there seemed to be no one overseeing the service quality. In contrast the evening meals were excellent as was the service. There also needs to be some decent wholesome cereals - Granola/Muesli etc as well as the high st varieties. Overall the breakfast experience was dissapointing.

Reviewed by
L Webb

From Leigh on Sea, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Basic but excellent meal
Room very much like a dormitory, but very clean and well kept. Evening meal was superb as was the breakfast

Reviewed by
David Allan W

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why?
An interesting place to stay, BUT:
Breakfast finishes at 0900 on weekdays!! Should be 0930 as in other hotels.
Checkout is at 1000!! Why not 1100 as in other hotels?
Bathwater came in "grey" and left a substantial black deposit when it ran out. Hotel could give no explanation.

Reviewed by
Raymond T

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

food was awful; very overpriced and minimal. Breakfast fine though.
Could have done with a bath in the room; just showers.

Reviewed by
Sally C

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A quiet and comfortable stay
The rooms are in the East Wing block of the central area of Dartington Hall. My single room was like a study bedroom, plenty big enough for one, with good quality bedding and furniture. Everything worked as expected and it was very quiet. Downstairs is a beautiful residents lounge, with lovely wood furniture, books to read and a calm atmosphere that was perfect for relaxing or for working.

Reviewed by
Chris W

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location lacking final polish
Perfectly acceptable stay, the location is great, fantastic history and friendly helpful staff.
The room was comfy and quiet, if a little small - it felt like being back at uni! The reception sign was a piece of A4 stuck to a post, I expect as the hotel develops this will change - not an issue at all, but it detracts from the overall experience and at a 'discounted' rate of £103 for a single room, I expected slightly more polish. I don't know how much a full priced room would be.
The food was great, but all three plates of tapas arrived at once and by the time I got to the third plate, it was cold, but that might be more down to me eating slowly!
All in all, I would say this place is 80% there, my stay was perfectly adequate, but I think it lacked the finesse to make it perfect.

Reviewed by
Andy H

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location
setting amazing. room tiny, but very comfortable bed and excellent shower. Breakfast just about ok but lots of dishes had run out and staff were not replenishing them. Probably not helped with the large wedding party that were staying that seemed to take presedent.

Reviewed by
R Curry

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful retreat - but look out for wedding discos!
This is a gorgeous peaceful retreat - comfortable rooms and stunning gardens to walk round. We only stayed for one night but plan to return. The only negative point was a wedding was taking place during our stay and they had a disco on til the early hours which we could hear from our room taking the edge of the peacefulness. Worth checking ahead to see if there are wedding or discos planned during your stay if it is peace and quiet you are after.

Reviewed by
Odette McHenry

From Morden, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next