No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Devoncourt Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
16 DOUGLAS AVENUE , EXMOUTH, EX8 2EX
The Devoncourt Hotel & Apartments comprises 49 hotel rooms and suites with one and two bedroom apartments accommodating four or six people respectively, many with sea views, balconies, double bathrooms and kitchenettes. There is complimentary wi-fi throughout the building and available in all rooms and apartments. There is also a free car park on site available for all guests.

There is an on-site restaurant called Brasserie 16 who are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner, booking is advised. The Restaurant is extremely popular and is renowned for its high quality of food and service. It is run by the Townsend family who have a wealth of experience within the catering and hospitality industry. A Friendly Welcome, Good Food and Good Service are their Priority.

Picture of Devoncourt Hotel, EXMOUTH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 179 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious accommodation and very welcoming staff
We only stayed one night but were most impressed by the Devoncourt Hotel. Desk staff are super friendly, warm and welcoming. We had an apartment with large rooms, a balcony and a view over the lovely gardens. Decor is a touch passé but still comfortable and reminds one of a more solid and generous era when hotel guests were not crammed into small purpose built spaces. The rooms were excellent value for the price and we were sorry we were only staying one night.

Reviewed by
Claire M

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In Need of Updating
Lovely white linens, very clean but bathroom let it down, clean but very old.
Unfortuately the bed was a little hard, pillows were nice and fluffy, nice room just for me.

Reviewed by
Shelly Hills

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could do with a refurb
We stayed at the Devoncourt for 2 nights and we were thinking 4* hotel, its going to be great! Unfortunately this was not the case.
The positives: The staff were excellent, very helpful and friendly. The grounds at the back are very nice with good views. The bed and rooms were clean. Good location.
The Negatives: The room we stayed in was very dated and the sofa and chairs were old and stained. The room felt like an old bedsit. To use the kitchen in the room would cost another £25 even though it was very very basic. There was no air con, so had to keep the windows open at night in turn being kept up by the seagulls all night. Did not feel like you were staying in a 4* hotel apart from the service.

Reviewed by
Andrew R

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
Nice resort. Beautiful garden and lovely facilities. Friendly staff.
The flat was a bit worn but nice and spacious.

Reviewed by
L Adamsen

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect in every way

Reviewed by
K GAYLE

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A step back in time
I like this hotel, I have stayed more than once. But mostly because it is like you're stepping back in time! When new, I am sure this hotel was breath-taking. Its grounds are beautiful, its leisure facilities are good (this is primarily why I stay here), its staff are great. But the décor is a more than a little out-dated, and its not spotlessly clean, although not dirty per-say.

Reviewed by
ruth b

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I Could Do This Again!
The front view of the hotel does not do the inside & rear views much justice. Parking was difficult to find a space. But the room was spacious and well furnished, if a little worn. Tea, coffee etc were a godsend after a long journey.The beds were clean and comfortable with the added bonus of a large TV for my husband to catch up on the World Cup. Sea view & gardens were breath taking! Breakfast was relaxed, offering part self-service and waitress service that was efficient, polite and friendly. Delicious! Thank you

Reviewed by
Gillian R

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant size and priced accomodation for 6 adults, lovely outdoor pool very impressed

Reviewed by
Emma B

From High Bickington , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reviewed by
James Mackay

From England
Who stayed in June 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised and very impressed with this hotel.
Was informed that this hotel was a little dated which is true but everything is so clean! Great facilities - indoor and outdoor pools - lovely and warm, croquet, putting, tennis in lovely gardens. Rooms spacious with large TV. Staff very helpful and friendly. Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
Valerie I

From Hampton, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next